Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Disappearing Trick


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 genesis

genesis

    UCF BASIC Programming Runner Up

  • Super Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 281 posts
  • Location:Perth, Australia
  • Interests:Speaking German, computers, defending CFX calculators...

  • Calculators:
    CFX 9850 GB+

Posted 09 April 2004 - 10:11 AM

I was typing up a post in the Free Discussion forum and just as I clicked Submit Post, the browser just disappeared! I went back to check and the post wasn't there, hell weird!!! :crazy: (BTW, who here uses the word hell for very sometimes?)

#2 Andy.Davies

Andy.Davies

    Forum Ghost

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1547 posts
  • Location:Dorset, England
  • Interests:Age: 18<br />Studying: MEng in cybernetics at Reading uni<br />Interests: Progaming (VB, VB.Net, C#, Casio Basic)<br />Computers UBBD (Using, Building, Breaking &amp; Destroying)<br />Gaming (FPS, RTS, RPG)<br />Electronics<br />Rock Music (Preferably Loud)<br />Riley's (Pool &amp; Snooker Bar)<br />Driving (Preferably fast)<br />Aikedo (Martial Art)

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX 2.0 ROM 1.01, FX9750G

Posted 09 April 2004 - 11:33 AM

what browser were you using? did the browser just crash and not tell you?

#3 [neo]f4kill

[neo]f4kill

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 60 posts
  • Location:Montauban, France
  • Interests:programming

  • Calculators:
    G65, G100+, ClassPad 300

Posted 17 April 2004 - 03:44 PM

I had the same problem with IE 6

#4 huhn_m

huhn_m

    Casio Maniac

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1957 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany / Dresden
  • Interests:Assembler(!!!)
    Computers and Programming
    Operating Systems
    Programmable Calculators
    Maths and everything arround it

  • Calculators:
    FX-82SX / AFX 2.0+ (ROM 1.03) / FX 1.0+ (ROM 1.03)

Posted 17 April 2004 - 04:05 PM

:D IE sucks. What did you expect? It's M$. Use Mozilla/Opera/Netscape/Konqueror
or such a thing.

#5 [neo]f4kill

[neo]f4kill

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 60 posts
  • Location:Montauban, France
  • Interests:programming

  • Calculators:
    G65, G100+, ClassPad 300

Posted 17 April 2004 - 04:19 PM

lol I agree with you...
i had netscape and mozilla for a long time but I have IE since I did : format C: !!! lolnow it works ... and I can't be bothered to install an other navigator now ... ;)

#6 2072

2072

    Casio over god

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1550 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewherebourg
  • Interests:Cinema, Programming, Music and a lot of thing...

  • Calculators:
    AFX2 ROM 1.02, CFX-9940GT+, FX-180P-Plus

Posted 17 April 2004 - 05:21 PM

What do you mean by "the browser just disappeared"?

Personnally I use Avantbrowser that uses IE rendering engine (that is far much better that others).

Btw I have done a statistic page where you can see what the visitors of my websites use (country, screen resolutions, color depth, browser, OS etc...): http://www.2072produ...o=readstats.php

#7 Andy.Davies

Andy.Davies

    Forum Ghost

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1547 posts
  • Location:Dorset, England
  • Interests:Age: 18<br />Studying: MEng in cybernetics at Reading uni<br />Interests: Progaming (VB, VB.Net, C#, Casio Basic)<br />Computers UBBD (Using, Building, Breaking &amp; Destroying)<br />Gaming (FPS, RTS, RPG)<br />Electronics<br />Rock Music (Preferably Loud)<br />Riley's (Pool &amp; Snooker Bar)<br />Driving (Preferably fast)<br />Aikedo (Martial Art)

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX 2.0 ROM 1.01, FX9750G

Posted 17 April 2004 - 06:39 PM

yeah, avant browser rules, here is their url: http://www.avantbrowser.com

#8 casiokingdom

casiokingdom

    UCF BASIC Programming 2nd Place

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 782 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perth, WA, Australia

  • Calculators:
    CFX-9850GB PLUS WE, fx-9860G AU

Posted 18 April 2004 - 08:28 AM

i use avant too

#9 BiTwhise

BiTwhise

    Casio Overgod

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 627 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guildford, Surry, UK
  • Interests:Programming, games, consoles, martial arts

  • Calculators:
    FX9700WE, CFX9970G, AFX2.0, Classpad 300

Posted 18 April 2004 - 05:05 PM

me too :)

#10 qwerty841

qwerty841

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 198 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:vernal

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300,TI 83 PSE,TI Voyage 200,Windows Calculator

Posted 19 April 2004 - 08:29 PM

i use mozilla (netscape) i don't like ie

#11 Bob Vila

Bob Vila

    Casio Overlord

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 768 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

  • Calculators:
    FX 1.0+ : CFX-9850 GB Plus : TI-81

Posted 19 April 2004 - 10:16 PM

i use mozilla (netscape) i don't like ie

i use ie cause we have an old version of netscape and it sucks :lol:

#12 huhn_m

huhn_m

    Casio Maniac

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1957 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany / Dresden
  • Interests:Assembler(!!!)
    Computers and Programming
    Operating Systems
    Programmable Calculators
    Maths and everything arround it

  • Calculators:
    FX-82SX / AFX 2.0+ (ROM 1.03) / FX 1.0+ (ROM 1.03)

Posted 20 April 2004 - 05:38 AM

I use Mozilla since the tabbed browsing rules and IE (M$) sucks

#13 CrimsonCasio

CrimsonCasio

    UCF Ambassador

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3579 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Claculators, Stephen King, Video Games, Calculators, Programming, Calculators, Reading, Calculators... hmm, what else... Ah! Calculators!

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0, CFX 9850Ga+, Classpad 300

Posted 20 April 2004 - 05:49 AM

I like IE and I confess to liking and using many MS products :D I also may be the only nerd that has never even seen <{GNULINUX}> on a computer... :blush:

hey huhn, if I got a job at microsoft would you stop talking to me? ;)

#14 betoe

betoe

    UCF Spanish Translator

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 846 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guadalajara/Mazatlan, Mexico.
  • Interests:Electronics, SW development, automotive. Swim->bike->run

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0 (R.I.P.), Classpad 300

Posted 20 April 2004 - 06:12 AM

I use avant browser coz i remember one time crimson post on a topic about it, then i download it and i had used it by some months. I like to have more than 1 OS, right now i have 2 microsoft OS but i want <{GNULINUX}> version; and maybe another microsoft OS (i dont know how to add it).

#15 huhn_m

huhn_m

    Casio Maniac

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1957 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany / Dresden
  • Interests:Assembler(!!!)
    Computers and Programming
    Operating Systems
    Programmable Calculators
    Maths and everything arround it

  • Calculators:
    FX-82SX / AFX 2.0+ (ROM 1.03) / FX 1.0+ (ROM 1.03)

Posted 20 April 2004 - 07:06 AM

hey huhn, if I got a job at microsoft would you stop talking to me? ;)

No because I don't say I don't like the people and programmers @ MS
(they surely ave some brilliant programmers) but the philosophy with
what they distribute & create their software (instable / insecure / user = betatester
...)

I'd still talk to you (though I'd feel pitty that you wasted your tallent to them
and have not gone to IBM or such a more renomated company

#16 Andy.Davies

Andy.Davies

    Forum Ghost

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1547 posts
  • Location:Dorset, England
  • Interests:Age: 18<br />Studying: MEng in cybernetics at Reading uni<br />Interests: Progaming (VB, VB.Net, C#, Casio Basic)<br />Computers UBBD (Using, Building, Breaking &amp; Destroying)<br />Gaming (FPS, RTS, RPG)<br />Electronics<br />Rock Music (Preferably Loud)<br />Riley's (Pool &amp; Snooker Bar)<br />Driving (Preferably fast)<br />Aikedo (Martial Art)

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX 2.0 ROM 1.01, FX9750G

Posted 20 April 2004 - 09:31 AM

use Avant! it has the IE rendering engin (the best) and all the stability you want.

#17 huhn_m

huhn_m

    Casio Maniac

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1957 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany / Dresden
  • Interests:Assembler(!!!)
    Computers and Programming
    Operating Systems
    Programmable Calculators
    Maths and everything arround it

  • Calculators:
    FX-82SX / AFX 2.0+ (ROM 1.03) / FX 1.0+ (ROM 1.03)

Posted 20 April 2004 - 10:43 AM

Why is the IE rendering better then the one Mozilla does?

#18 Andy.Davies

Andy.Davies

    Forum Ghost

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1547 posts
  • Location:Dorset, England
  • Interests:Age: 18<br />Studying: MEng in cybernetics at Reading uni<br />Interests: Progaming (VB, VB.Net, C#, Casio Basic)<br />Computers UBBD (Using, Building, Breaking &amp; Destroying)<br />Gaming (FPS, RTS, RPG)<br />Electronics<br />Rock Music (Preferably Loud)<br />Riley's (Pool &amp; Snooker Bar)<br />Driving (Preferably fast)<br />Aikedo (Martial Art)

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX 2.0 ROM 1.01, FX9750G

Posted 20 April 2004 - 02:00 PM

it just seems to be more compatable, most people just make their sites IE compatable and dont bother with mozilla testing, but the newer versions of mozilla and netsacpe are nearly 100% compatable

#19 CrimsonCasio

CrimsonCasio

    UCF Ambassador

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3579 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Claculators, Stephen King, Video Games, Calculators, Programming, Calculators, Reading, Calculators... hmm, what else... Ah! Calculators!

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0, CFX 9850Ga+, Classpad 300

Posted 20 April 2004 - 04:48 PM

lol, i dont plan on working at microsoft anyway... theres a chance that EA Games is going to be funding a game design school at the college im going to go to. if it happens thats where I'll be :D

#20 huhn_m

huhn_m

    Casio Maniac

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1957 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany / Dresden
  • Interests:Assembler(!!!)
    Computers and Programming
    Operating Systems
    Programmable Calculators
    Maths and everything arround it

  • Calculators:
    FX-82SX / AFX 2.0+ (ROM 1.03) / FX 1.0+ (ROM 1.03)

Posted 20 April 2004 - 04:53 PM

no it is not. People are too silly to recognice standards.

MS included many "proprietary" tags that are NOT confirmed
by the W3 consortium. And ActiveX opens the door to your PC for EVERY
one in the net.

Because MS doesn't hold to standards it doesn't mean that it is more compatible.
And people who code websites should use either cross-browser scripts or
check their sites with a checker that verifys wether they are conform to the standard.

Only because your site is viewed the right way in IE doesn't mean you
have coded it correctly or that it will work on ANY other browser.

#21 BiTwhise

BiTwhise

    Casio Overgod

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 627 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guildford, Surry, UK
  • Interests:Programming, games, consoles, martial arts

  • Calculators:
    FX9700WE, CFX9970G, AFX2.0, Classpad 300

Posted 20 April 2004 - 05:52 PM

I'd still talk to you (though I'd feel pitty that you wasted your tallent to them
and have not gone to IBM or such a more renomated company

LoL,

<Sarcasm>
Ye, IBM is much less of a "corporate bastard" than MS :P
</Sarcasm>

If you remember back in the days, IBM was the ones wanting to rip ppl off with the hardware and special software.. MS brought computing to the masses, and bless them for that (what happened later is a different story, but you get the point)

#22 Andy.Davies

Andy.Davies

    Forum Ghost

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1547 posts
  • Location:Dorset, England
  • Interests:Age: 18<br />Studying: MEng in cybernetics at Reading uni<br />Interests: Progaming (VB, VB.Net, C#, Casio Basic)<br />Computers UBBD (Using, Building, Breaking &amp; Destroying)<br />Gaming (FPS, RTS, RPG)<br />Electronics<br />Rock Music (Preferably Loud)<br />Riley's (Pool &amp; Snooker Bar)<br />Driving (Preferably fast)<br />Aikedo (Martial Art)

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX 2.0 ROM 1.01, FX9750G

Posted 20 April 2004 - 08:47 PM

Only because your site is viewed the right way in IE doesn't mean you
have coded it correctly or that it will work on ANY other browser.


i know, i use the W3C cheker on my pages

#23 2072

2072

    Casio over god

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1550 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewherebourg
  • Interests:Cinema, Programming, Music and a lot of thing...

  • Calculators:
    AFX2 ROM 1.02, CFX-9940GT+, FX-180P-Plus

Posted 21 April 2004 - 01:33 AM

Why is the IE rendering better then the one Mozilla does?

Because it's more stable, have less bugs, and have a lot of good features that should be included in W3C "standards"...




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users