Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

MSR


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 BiTwhise

BiTwhise

    Casio Overgod

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 627 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guildford, Surry, UK
  • Interests:Programming, games, consoles, martial arts

  • Calculators:
    FX9700WE, CFX9970G, AFX2.0, Classpad 300

Posted 29 November 2002 - 02:58 PM

Are there any MSRs (machine specific register) on the Nec V30Mx?

#2 Thunderhead

Thunderhead

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 159 posts

Posted 29 November 2002 - 03:39 PM

It's to have a password when you turn your caltos on ?

#3 BiTwhise

BiTwhise

    Casio Overgod

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 627 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guildford, Surry, UK
  • Interests:Programming, games, consoles, martial arts

  • Calculators:
    FX9700WE, CFX9970G, AFX2.0, Classpad 300

Posted 29 November 2002 - 07:59 PM

.... no

just wondering if the Nec V30Mx CPU has any Machine Specific Registers..

like with the pentium you special registers that i.e works as a timer or a tick counter...

don't thing V30 has that.. but I was wondering if anyone might know something about it

#4 Killer83Z

Killer83Z

    Casio CEO

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 427 posts
  • Location:I'm near to the place where I study
  • Interests:Guitar, Piano, Music, UCN<br />

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0, CFX-9850G, fx-7000G, fx-7500G, TI-83, HP100lx

Posted 29 November 2002 - 08:21 PM

I don't know. But I remember there were some specific instructions...where is brad if you need him :P

#5 BiTwhise

BiTwhise

    Casio Overgod

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 627 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guildford, Surry, UK
  • Interests:Programming, games, consoles, martial arts

  • Calculators:
    FX9700WE, CFX9970G, AFX2.0, Classpad 300

Posted 29 November 2002 - 10:02 PM

yeah... there are some instructions for bitwhise manipulation :)

#6 2072

2072

    Casio over god

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1550 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewherebourg
  • Interests:Cinema, Programming, Music and a lot of thing...

  • Calculators:
    AFX2 ROM 1.02, CFX-9940GT+, FX-180P-Plus

Posted 29 November 2002 - 11:01 PM

I don't think so, I can send you the doc on the NECV30 if you want ? (it's a pdf file that I found on the net)

#7 BiTwhise

BiTwhise

    Casio Overgod

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 627 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guildford, Surry, UK
  • Interests:Programming, games, consoles, martial arts

  • Calculators:
    FX9700WE, CFX9970G, AFX2.0, Classpad 300

Posted 29 November 2002 - 11:13 PM

thanks, but I already have that (those) docs..

I thought there might be some undocumented registers on it..

well, probably not anyway :)

#8 rstweb

rstweb

    Casio Hack

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 274 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 06 December 2002 - 04:27 PM

2072: could you send me the datasheet, please?

thanks!

bye

rstweb

#9 2072

2072

    Casio over god

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1550 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewherebourg
  • Interests:Cinema, Programming, Music and a lot of thing...

  • Calculators:
    AFX2 ROM 1.02, CFX-9940GT+, FX-180P-Plus

Posted 07 December 2002 - 11:30 PM

Well I prefer put a download link because it is a 600 Kbytes file:

http://www.2072produ...oad/v30inst.pdf

#10 rstweb

rstweb

    Casio Hack

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 274 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 08 December 2002 - 08:14 PM

thanks a lot!

bye

rstweb

#11 BradN

BradN

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 69 posts

Posted 09 December 2002 - 03:29 AM

I don't know if it has any timers or such like that, but I've got some conspiracy theories that there's another 4k of ROM in the chip that's not visible after it's running... perhaps it configures some aspects of the chip before control transfers to the casio BIOS. I'd really like that hardware datasheet that NEC has locked away somewhere...

#12 rstweb

rstweb

    Casio Hack

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 274 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 09 December 2002 - 05:10 PM

i think i would publish it on my website. at the moment i have to work many for school, but in 2 weeks i have many freetime.

bye

rstweb

#13 superna

superna

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 88 posts

Posted 10 December 2002 - 02:48 PM

another thing
where is the Bios data ?
the bios is on the last 64k segment but isn't on the ROM
i think there is a component which contains this Bios



another think
I've now myAlegebra Fx2+ !!!!

(rom 1.03)
so i have 2 afx/2 rom 1.02 and 1.03
i can start comunication between 2 afx

#14 BradN

BradN

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 69 posts

Posted 10 December 2002 - 06:52 PM

All the bios functions are contained in the first 64KB of the ROM chip, but there is at least 4KB at the end of the address space (F000:F000, contained inside the CPU chip) that can do some simple low level diagnostics and then transfers control to the BIOS section when rebooting.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users