Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Text & pic together


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 mikrogen

mikrogen

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 18 January 2003 - 03:10 PM

Is any program or addin what allows display the text and pictures together? For Algebra FX2.0.

#2 rstweb

rstweb

    Casio Hack

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 274 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 18 January 2003 - 03:45 PM

do you mean pictures from the picture memory? if yes, than you could do it in BASIC:
RclPic 1:Text 1,1,"Your text in the picture"


#3 mikrogen

mikrogen

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 18 January 2003 - 03:55 PM

nope.

I think somethink like CALiPSO TextReader. It simply shows program files as small text using bitmap font, thus it uses per pixel displaying.
My idea is to display picture of fixed dimensions stored in this text (maybe in some tags). It couldnt be so difficult to do it, but Im totally lost in asm.

#4 BiTwhise

BiTwhise

    Casio Overgod

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 627 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guildford, Surry, UK
  • Interests:Programming, games, consoles, martial arts

  • Calculators:
    FX9700WE, CFX9970G, AFX2.0, Classpad 300

Posted 18 January 2003 - 04:37 PM

I think somethink like CALiPSO TextReader. It simply shows program files as small text using bitmap font, thus it uses per pixel displaying.

Text and Picture is the same thing: graphics
I don't think TextReader puts the text pixel by pixel, but rather line by line (like you would do with a sprite).. at least, that's how I did it with some of my text routines (only public release, 3d-test, you can see it in the fps display)

My idea is to display picture of fixed dimensions stored in this text (maybe in some tags). It couldnt be so difficult to do it, but Im totally lost in asm.

I'm not sure I follow you here.. You mean you want to change the font with graphics.. sort of like Windings font or something? Can just as well put sprites then..

#5 huhn_m

huhn_m

    Casio Maniac

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1957 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany / Dresden
  • Interests:Assembler(!!!)
    Computers and Programming
    Operating Systems
    Programmable Calculators
    Maths and everything arround it

  • Calculators:
    FX-82SX / AFX 2.0+ (ROM 1.03) / FX 1.0+ (ROM 1.03)

Posted 18 January 2003 - 04:49 PM

He ment that you can create sth. like a word document with
images illustrating the text.

I'm currently working on a Wordpad for the AFX but i'm not sure when it
will be finished. There is still some work to do.

You can now: wirte italics and / or underlined but I don't know how to rename
a basic file using c (I don't want to copy the contents.). I'm currently also
busy with school (tests / courses ...)

I think I'll do the mayor work in the winter holidays.

#6 mikrogen

mikrogen

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 18 January 2003 - 05:05 PM

I meant what huhn_m says. But Im interested only in images. (italic, underline and so is useless for me now;))

My suggestions are, for example:

a] to write <i>ABCDF</i>, where each character in tags is 1 byte, what is ussually 8 bits. If we say, that Casio screen resolution is 8x5, it will display 40 bits as 8x5 mono image from binary codes of "ABCDF".

b] to write <i>1</i>. That will simply show picture 1 stored in memory.

#7 BiTwhise

BiTwhise

    Casio Overgod

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 627 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guildford, Surry, UK
  • Interests:Programming, games, consoles, martial arts

  • Calculators:
    FX9700WE, CFX9970G, AFX2.0, Classpad 300

Posted 18 January 2003 - 05:50 PM

Ok, I see :)

Suggestion:
-Include the picture outside the main body of the document.
-You don't need to tag the picture, you could simply use a normal extended ascii character to initialize it.. taggin takes more space
-Include dimensions and formating in the declaration, so that the rest of the document can be processed before the image is loaded.. makes it eaiser to disable graphics.. say for scrolling

Anyway, that's just my suggestions for such an implementation.

Currently I don't have time enough on my hands to make such a program.. but as huhn_m said, he is working on a "wordpad"

:)

#8 2072

2072

    Casio over god

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1550 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewherebourg
  • Interests:Cinema, Programming, Music and a lot of thing...

  • Calculators:
    AFX2 ROM 1.02, CFX-9940GT+, FX-180P-Plus

Posted 19 January 2003 - 07:06 PM

You can now: wirte italics and / or  underlined but I don't know how to rename
a basic file using c (I don't want to copy the contents.).

In fact to do it you have to move the file into the memory because they must be in alphabetical (or ASCII) order else the calc will reset the memory and some 'files'would be unfindable.

So, create a new file copy the content of the source file and delete the source file is the fatest way to rename a file else if you don't want to use extra memory to rename a file you would have to move everything each time a single byte of the source file is moved it would be very slow.

#9 Brazzucko

Brazzucko

    UCF BASIC Programming Champion

  • Super Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 412 posts

  • Calculators:
    FX 1.0, CFX 9850 GB Plus and FX 9750G

Posted 23 January 2003 - 08:00 PM

:blink: Let?s see if I understand this:

Can we make a basic file whit different fonts?

#10 huhn_m

huhn_m

    Casio Maniac

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1957 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany / Dresden
  • Interests:Assembler(!!!)
    Computers and Programming
    Operating Systems
    Programmable Calculators
    Maths and everything arround it

  • Calculators:
    FX-82SX / AFX 2.0+ (ROM 1.03) / FX 1.0+ (ROM 1.03)

Posted 24 January 2003 - 03:34 PM

Not really!

But my plan is:

You can create Fonts using the AFX AND the Pc as well. They'll be stored
in basic files and can contain up to 512 Characters (depending on the
Size of a character wich will be betwen 4x4 and 8x8). Each font will be
1 KB (So you can theoretical store up to 144 Fonts!)
This Fonts will be loaded by the word processor. Now you can choose the font and if you choose one there will be a simple Tag inserted (like [F=1]) and if you choose another font another. The problem is that every font ca be replaced by another so I need to release a charset table defining what each character code means.
The text files are also stored in Basic files but may also be uploaded to Flash memory. (I'm currently working on a editing the flash but I can't say if I'll be successfull.)
But be aware that the first real stable release will come in the end of February.

I'll post again as soon as the first screenshots and Beta Versions are ready
to be tested/seen.

#11 BradN

BradN

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 69 posts

Posted 30 January 2003 - 06:08 AM

Just a technical note... MiniFont (used by textreader) technically displays pixel by pixel, a column at a time, using this big unrolled loop...

es lodsb
rol al,cl
and al,ch
and [di],ah
or [di],al
dec di
es lodsb
rol al,cl
and al,ch
and [di],ah
or [di],al
dec di
es lodsb
rol al,cl
and al,ch
and [di],ah
or [di],al
dec di
es lodsb
rol al,cl
and al,ch
and [di],ah
or [di],al
dec di
es lodsb
rol al,cl
and al,ch
and [di],ah
or [di],al

And, I'm feeling particularly explanatory today, so you get the bonus of a detailed explanation :)


for each pixel displayed...

es lodsb - loads a byte from the bitmap font image and moves to the next byte (the bitmap is organized with the next row in the next byte)

rol al,cl - rotates the byte so the desired bit lines up

and al,ch - mask out the loaded byte so only one bit is there

and [di],ah - clear the bit on the screen

or [di],al - 'or' the bit from the font onto the screen

dec di - moves to the next row on the screen


Now, as to what mikrogen is trying to do, it may be possible to do this from within the textreader code, but you would have to do a little modification. Graphics display should probably be kept out of the minifont section, unless you were to make it as simple as 32 (easy, you can just change the character table and the bitmap) or 64 (need to modify minifont to display) extra characters that just represent a single column of bits. I've thought about doing this, but I'm lazy.

Or, you could change the textreader code to treat graphics as a seperate type of "character" and not run it through minifont at all. After thinking about this for a little while, it might not be too hard to do actually. Message me if you want help or ideas - aim:VampireGCPN

If you want to do this from within casio basic, well, simply put, you're insane :)

good luck




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users