TZ250

• Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

• Calculators:
    Classpad 330 and a few basic Casio's

Posted 30 April 2009 - 04:24 PM

Everyone,
This is my first post. I'm studying electrical engineering.

My Classpad 330 is a giant step up from my old FX-115! :greengrin:

Please help me to understand the order of entry: I'm trying to input an equation with a variable. I'd like to change the variable and get a new output. Unfortunately, I'm doing something wrong.

Ex. (2X^2-8)/(x^2-1)

Can I just change the variable, then re-execute the equation for a different output? I also have to remember to input a negative number in parenthesis before squaring it. (-3)^2 is not -3^2.

If you have any other helpful advice, please tell me.

Thanks in advance,
Rob in Ohio

#2 Debb

Debb

• Validating
  • Pip
  • 23 posts

• Calculators:
    ClassPad 300
    ClassPad 300+

Posted 30 April 2009 - 05:16 PM

Hi Rob,

Yes, you can change the value assigned to the variable and then recalculate by highlighting the first value, changing the value, and then pressing EXE. The ClassPad will recalculate all expressions until it reaches the end. Or, you can press the icon of one finger and calculate only the row the cursor is in.

In your example, you have an upper case x and lower case x. Those are considered different variables in the ClassPad. If that was just a typo, the order looks fine.

When I enter equations, I use the keyboard's 2D tab and enter them the same as how they are in a textbook, especially if they are complicated. If you have ClassPad Manager, you can enter the equation with 2D, highlight the equation, copy, and then use Paste Special from the right click menu. When the equation is pasted into the window, it is in single line form with the parenthesis where they should be. With the handheld, you could open the Graph application within Main or eActivity, drag and drop the 2D equation into the Graph applications text box and also see the equation in single line form.

3⇒x 3