Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

New Classpad 330 Plus Does Not Have A Color Display


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 noname11

noname11

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 314 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 29 January 2012 - 02:13 PM

I have first read about this device on an online retailer's website as it is now available - there has not been any announcement by Casio!

What's new compared to the ClassPad 330?
- Comes with OS 3.06 preinstalled instead of OS 3.02
- Comes with a new processor (most likely the Prizm SH7305) and is about 1.3 times faster
- Supports USB 2.0 and is treated like a USB mass storage device

It has a monochrome display with the same 160×240 resolution and only 5.4 MB of user flash memory like on the previous models!

Absolutely disappointing...

Edited by cfxm, 29 January 2012 - 03:34 PM.


#2 amin_heidari

amin_heidari

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 73 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Persia
  • Interests:Computer
    Programing
    Electrical Engineering

  • Calculators:
    CASIO FX-9860G SD hacked to G|| OS Version 2.01

Posted 29 January 2012 - 05:42 PM

I completely agree with you.
that is completely disappointing... :nonono:

#3 flyingfisch

flyingfisch

    Casio Maniac

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1891 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:OH,USA
  • Interests:Aviation, Skiing, Programming, Mountain Biking.

  • Calculators:
    fx-9860GII
    fx-CG10 PRIZM

Posted 29 January 2012 - 06:41 PM

I was looking forward to a color classpad... I think casio is making a mistake :P

#4 MicroPro

MicroPro

    Casio Overlord

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iran

  • Calculators:
    Casio ClassPad 300

Posted 29 January 2012 - 07:52 PM

Either I'm wrong or its cheaper than the normal 330. It also says it has a direct projector port (can it be an HDMI output? :P ) Currently ClassPad runs at 12 MHz, so 1.3 times faster probably means it will run at 16 MHz. Is this the same as Prizm processor?

Yes the 5.4 MiB Flash is really little (I once found a 16MiB rom chip on a Chinese toy which played music!)

This is also bringing bad news, are they breaking OS compatibility with previous ClassPad models?

Overall improvement over the previous models: 0 % :angry:

I personally don't mind about the color display; ClassPad's touch screen is astonishing enough so that some professors in universities don't let students use it. Now think what happens if it's got a color screen? They'll not be able to distinguish it with an iPod!

#5 noname11

noname11

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 314 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 29 January 2012 - 08:14 PM

Is this the same as Prizm processor?

Most likely. They have updated their pre-Prizm calculators to use the same CPU. This appears to be a cost-cutting factor.

This is also bringing bad news, are they breaking OS compatibility with previous ClassPad models?

As far as I know, the ClassPad SDK is quite comprehensive. So I guess, most people didn't access hardware directly.

Edited by cfxm, 29 January 2012 - 08:21 PM.


#6 MicroPro

MicroPro

    Casio Overlord

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iran

  • Calculators:
    Casio ClassPad 300

Posted 30 January 2012 - 08:57 AM

the ClassPad SDK is quite comprehensive. So I guess, most people didn't access hardware directly.

But SH3 and SH4 are not ABI compatible right? And all addins must be recompiled to work. And if they compile the OS for SH4, it can't be installed on the previous ClassPads, like what they did on the Power Graphic 2 series; and we don't know if they release OS updates for the former models.

There is also another note about the CPSDK that makes me think CASIO is not going to update it. When Saltire was developing it and owned the cpsdk.com website, they released up to the version 3.34. After this site was closed, CASIO put the SDK on their own download site, but their version is 3.08! The difference between versions was not anything about code and functionality, but solely installation bug fixes and updated Dev-C++ environment.

They have updated their pre-Prizm calculators to use the same CPU. This appears to be a cost-cutting factor.

Should I be surprised if ClassPad uses the same board as fx'es in the future?

Some note about the screen: They should've added backlight at least.

#7 noname11

noname11

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 314 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 30 January 2012 - 02:35 PM

But SH3 and SH4 are not ABI compatible right? And all addins must be recompiled to work.

As long as programs do not use hard-coded hardware addresses, everything will be fine. The SDK functions normally map to syscalls and these had to be updated on the new ClassPad.

And if they compile the OS for SH4, it can't be installed on the previous ClassPads, like what they did on the Power Graphic 2 series; and we don't know if they release OS updates for the former models.

Well, OS 3.06 is already here. ;)

#8 ASTRO491K

ASTRO491K

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 94 posts

Posted 02 February 2012 - 04:50 PM

I totally agree. This is absolutely disappointing! It's the kind of thing I would expect from TI but I thought Casio was a better company and would produce better products. What in the hell is wrong with the calculator companies? Cell phone technology has used quality color touch screens that do NOT require the use of a stylus for years and Casio expects us to buy this ancient technology. That is beyond insane. IT'S AN INSULT! Casio, you don't deserve my business nor any one else's either. Your insulting new class pad is outdated junk so I give you an insult in return - obviously your new product is a TI reject that you stole from ti's trash! :nonono:

#9 ASTRO491K

ASTRO491K

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 94 posts

Posted 02 February 2012 - 08:28 PM

I totally agree. This is absolutely disappointing! It's the kind of thing I would expect from TI but I thought Casio was a better company and would produce better products. What in the hell is wrong with the calculator companies? Cell phone technology has used quality color touch screens that do NOT require the use of a stylus for years and Casio expects us to buy this ancient technology. That is beyond insane. IT'S AN INSULT! Casio, you don't deserve my business nor any one else's either. Your insulting new class pad is outdated junk so I give you an insult in return - obviously your new product is a TI reject that you stole from ti's trash! :nonono:

Correction: What I meant to say was "obviously your new product is a casio reject that you got from Casio trash." Sorry about the mistake, I obviously had the wrong maker in mind.

#10 flyingfisch

flyingfisch

    Casio Maniac

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1891 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:OH,USA
  • Interests:Aviation, Skiing, Programming, Mountain Biking.

  • Calculators:
    fx-9860GII
    fx-CG10 PRIZM

Posted 02 February 2012 - 08:29 PM

I think people might be being just a little too harsh.

I do agree that the new classpad is a major disappointment.

However, I think Casio may be focusing more on the prizm for now, and have another update on the classpad later. So it has a market.

Just speculation...

#11 ASTRO491K

ASTRO491K

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 94 posts

Posted 02 February 2012 - 08:50 PM

I hope you are right. The class pad just isn't competitive without a color screen but with a color screen I would have bought one in a heart beat. I already have 3calc's with gray screens and don't want another.

#12 flyingfisch

flyingfisch

    Casio Maniac

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1891 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:OH,USA
  • Interests:Aviation, Skiing, Programming, Mountain Biking.

  • Calculators:
    fx-9860GII
    fx-CG10 PRIZM

Posted 02 February 2012 - 08:53 PM

I agree.

The stylus is necessary on that small of a screen though. I've heard some people bashing the CP because of that.

#13 ASTRO491K

ASTRO491K

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 94 posts

Posted 03 February 2012 - 01:06 AM

I agree.

The stylus is necessary on that small of a screen though. I've heard some people bashing the CP because of that.

With a quality touch screen you can use a stylus or your finger. From my experience with the iPad, I definitely prefer a touch screen as being more convenient and reliable compared to a mechanical keyboard like that used by the nspire.

#14 flyingfisch

flyingfisch

    Casio Maniac

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1891 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:OH,USA
  • Interests:Aviation, Skiing, Programming, Mountain Biking.

  • Calculators:
    fx-9860GII
    fx-CG10 PRIZM

Posted 03 February 2012 - 07:58 PM

Yes, but an iPad is much larger than a classpad. I think the stylus is necessary.

#15 ASTRO491K

ASTRO491K

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 94 posts

Posted 03 February 2012 - 11:43 PM

Yes, but an iPad is much larger than a classpad. I think the stylus is necessary.


If the design is any good you will be able to expand any area of the screen by touching with two fingers and moving the fingers apart in addition to centering any area of the screen with a quick wipe o f the screen, in a manner similar to the way the iPad works. Of course if it is a typical piece of crap calculator design that won't be possible and yes, you will need a stylus. If you don't understand what I am describing get some one to show you how the iPad screen works. It's amazing what a good design can do for a product and truly depressing when some greedy cost cutting MBA has some authority to change a products design.

#16 flyingfisch

flyingfisch

    Casio Maniac

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1891 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:OH,USA
  • Interests:Aviation, Skiing, Programming, Mountain Biking.

  • Calculators:
    fx-9860GII
    fx-CG10 PRIZM

Posted 04 February 2012 - 03:58 PM

I understand what you mean... I don't know, that would be an awful expensive calc if it had all that ;)

#17 ASTRO491K

ASTRO491K

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 94 posts

Posted 04 February 2012 - 05:18 PM

I understand what you mean... I don't know, that would be an awful expensive calc if it had all that ;)

Aside from the cost for the touch screen, the maker has a one time cost for developing the software and after that its free because the software is part of the os which has to be installed any way.
BTW, do you read the TI nspire site? A recent post there pointed out that their csolve function provides real number answers but only some of the time. To make things worse, TI has known about the problem for years and instead of fixing the problem, TI just warns about it in their manual. That is an insult to the customer and I for one refuse to buy an nspire or any thing else from TI until they start treating the customer fairly by producing a top quality product and because I already have a cas calculator I can go for as long as it takes without buying another. Until they take a different additude and fix their products quality problems TI is not going to see another penny from me or any person that I can influence. Because of ti's tactics and now the gall of Casio to introduce a new class pad without a modern screen, I can not find the words to describe how despicable I find those people. By their actions, it is clear to me that they lack a decent set of moral values and have no honor. It's just greed, greed, greed and those companies need to clean house and get rid the people behind that approach to doing business. Apple has demonstrated that a company can become very very successful by producing high quality superior products and ti as well as casio needs to learn from apples example!

#18 flyingfisch

flyingfisch

    Casio Maniac

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1891 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:OH,USA
  • Interests:Aviation, Skiing, Programming, Mountain Biking.

  • Calculators:
    fx-9860GII
    fx-CG10 PRIZM

Posted 04 February 2012 - 06:46 PM

Well, you know, casio is making these calcs mainly for engineers and mathemeticians, and I doubt those people really care about color screens. They just want a calculator that works. ;)

#19 ASTRO491K

ASTRO491K

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 94 posts

Posted 05 February 2012 - 02:51 AM

Well, you know, casio is making these calcs mainly for engineers and mathemeticians, and I doubt those people really care about color screens. They just want a calculator that works. ;)

I am an engineer and I and my engineer co-workers care very much about the quality and technology that they get. Also, I know a lot of teachers who don't see any reason to budget money for hand held calculators for math classes anymore because of the shift to iPads and digital books and math computer programs. That is the future of teaching mathematics and a lot of people are saying that if TI and Casio don't produce calculator apps for iPads they will soon be forced out of the calculator business by a declining demand.

#20 flyingfisch

flyingfisch

    Casio Maniac

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1891 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:OH,USA
  • Interests:Aviation, Skiing, Programming, Mountain Biking.

  • Calculators:
    fx-9860GII
    fx-CG10 PRIZM

Posted 06 February 2012 - 12:20 AM

I guess time will be the only answer to this. I don't think this will be Casio's Waterloo, but who knows?

#21 ASTRO491K

ASTRO491K

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 94 posts

Posted 06 February 2012 - 03:41 AM

I guess time will be the only answer to this. I don't think this will be Casio's Waterloo, but who knows?


Yes, it's going to be very interesting to watch things unfold. TI cancelled a very good cas software program for pc's about the time they introduced the nspire. I think it was called "Derive" but I could be wrong about that. The story as I seem to recall is that they wanted to concentrate all their effort on hand helds which I assume are more profitable. Now with the ground swell of enthusiasm for iPads and apps for iPads, it appears that TI bet on the wrong horse but like you said, time will tell.
What I find interesting is that with iPad apps like "Math Studio" and the excellent non-cas calculator apps, all of which are very much less expensive than dedicated hand helds, the only market that TI may wind up with is the engineers that they shunned in favor of concentrating on the high school education market.
Meanwhile, Casio seems to be signaling (with the lack of a color screen on their latest class pad) that they are not going to put any effort into development at this time. That could be because Casios high end calc sales are down as a result of the iPad explosion.
Yep it sure is going to be interesting to see how all this shakes out and I am guessing that TI is in denial right about now. They have always had what I would call a hard nosed and hard headed "my way or the highway additude." It's going to be interesting to see what they do when the highway doesn't go their way. My guess is that like little kids they will collect their toys, quit the game, and go home. That will result in the teachers who foolishly spent their schools money on TI-nspires without any support, but it will also give those teachers a way out. They can blame it all on TI and then get on the iPad band wagon. We shall see.

#22 MicroPro

MicroPro

    Casio Overlord

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iran

  • Calculators:
    Casio ClassPad 300

Posted 11 May 2012 - 08:08 PM

In case you haven't noticed yet, here is the official announcement of the new ClassPad 330 PLUS.

Its has OS 3.1 (What?!), has a separate 6.0 MB USB flash drive space (are the files available in Variable Manager? In a separate space? don't know...), it [officially :D ] supports rechargeable batteries.

Too bad that I'm not gonna buy it, CASIO! :blah: Your slow pace of releasing updates makes me nervous, dear CASIO. I'm worried about my SH-7291 ClassPad. You're hiding too much information these days. :ph34r:

Hasn't anyone got this new mode yet?

#23 TeamFX

TeamFX

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 128 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 12 July 2015 - 06:10 PM

It uses the same SH7305 processor as all other current Casio calculators.

The ClassPad 330 Plus is now discontinued.

This means the fx-CP400 is the only Casio calculator with a CAS.


Edited by TeamFX, 17 October 2015 - 04:16 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users