Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

[codebox] Bug


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 flyingfisch

flyingfisch

    Casio Maniac

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1891 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:OH,USA
  • Interests:Aviation, Skiing, Programming, Mountain Biking.

  • Calculators:
    fx-9860GII
    fx-CG10 PRIZM

Posted 02 June 2012 - 10:54 PM

The [codebox ] function does not treat all the text within it as code like the [code ] tag does.

Example:



this code should not be italicized

but it is  _linenums:0[i]this code should not be italicizedbut it is <img src='/dot/public/style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/tongue.png' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':P' /> << and that should not be an image.


#2 2072

2072

    Casio over god

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1550 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewherebourg
  • Interests:Cinema, Programming, Music and a lot of thing...

  • Calculators:
    AFX2 ROM 1.02, CFX-9940GT+, FX-180P-Plus

Posted 03 June 2012 - 03:32 PM

I'm not sure that's a bug, the CODEBOX tag allows you to put things in a "code" styled container while the CODE tag actually treats its content as code.

#3 Forty-Two

Forty-Two

    Casio Overlord

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 528 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Well, The sign says "You are here"...

  • Calculators:
    Casio fx-CG10 Prizm
    Casio fx-9860GII
    TI-84+ SE

Posted 03 June 2012 - 04:46 PM

I'm not sure that's a bug, the CODEBOX tag allows you to put things in a "code" styled container while the CODE tag actually treats its content as code.


The point of a codebox is so that stuff gets rendered as monospace, and without smilies. (Code highlighting is also a nice feature)

#4 flyingfisch

flyingfisch

    Casio Maniac

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1891 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:OH,USA
  • Interests:Aviation, Skiing, Programming, Mountain Biking.

  • Calculators:
    fx-9860GII
    fx-CG10 PRIZM

Posted 03 June 2012 - 05:45 PM

If we could have code highlighting, that would be great ( [code lang = 'blah'] )

#5 2072

2072

    Casio over god

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1550 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewherebourg
  • Interests:Cinema, Programming, Music and a lot of thing...

  • Calculators:
    AFX2 ROM 1.02, CFX-9940GT+, FX-180P-Plus

Posted 03 June 2012 - 08:46 PM

The point of a codebox is so that stuff gets rendered as monospace, and without smilies. (Code highlighting is also a nice feature)


The CODE tag is here for that.

#6 MicroPro

MicroPro

    Casio Overlord

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iran

  • Calculators:
    Casio ClassPad 300

Posted 04 June 2012 - 10:57 AM

But CODE can make really really loooong posts, while CODEBOX can be safely used to paste a big amount of code (or any other text) :nod: so its presence is vital.

Do you know if the new forum version have syntax highlighting?

#7 flyingfisch

flyingfisch

    Casio Maniac

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1891 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:OH,USA
  • Interests:Aviation, Skiing, Programming, Mountain Biking.

  • Calculators:
    fx-9860GII
    fx-CG10 PRIZM

Posted 04 June 2012 - 01:26 PM

Syntax highlighting would not come with the forum software, its a plugin...

#8 Forty-Two

Forty-Two

    Casio Overlord

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 528 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Well, The sign says "You are here"...

  • Calculators:
    Casio fx-CG10 Prizm
    Casio fx-9860GII
    TI-84+ SE

Posted 05 June 2012 - 01:52 AM

I never really noticed the difference until now, but I must agree that the only difference should be scrolling. The compaction is very important for lengthy sections.

#9 flyingfisch

flyingfisch

    Casio Maniac

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1891 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:OH,USA
  • Interests:Aviation, Skiing, Programming, Mountain Biking.

  • Calculators:
    fx-9860GII
    fx-CG10 PRIZM

Posted 28 June 2012 - 01:30 AM

[ codebox ] works now

a
a
a
a
a
a
a
a
a
a
a
a
a
a
a
a
a
a
a
aa

aa
a
a
a
a
a
[i] 


but it doesn't scroll.

I think we need a CSS max-height attribute somewhere.

#10 Forty-Two

Forty-Two

    Casio Overlord

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 528 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Well, The sign says "You are here"...

  • Calculators:
    Casio fx-CG10 Prizm
    Casio fx-9860GII
    TI-84+ SE

Posted 28 June 2012 - 07:26 PM

/me tests his signature

It's double-spaced

#11 flyingfisch

flyingfisch

    Casio Maniac

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1891 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:OH,USA
  • Interests:Aviation, Skiing, Programming, Mountain Biking.

  • Calculators:
    fx-9860GII
    fx-CG10 PRIZM

Posted 28 June 2012 - 07:36 PM

In the ACP, I found that codebox is just an alias for code.

We can maybe change the settings and give it a max-height of, say, 250px and overflow auto.


EDIT:
Done.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users