Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

FX-9750GII not recognizing computer vice versa (More info inside)

Problem help fx 9750gii 9750 fx-9750gii casio fx-9750gii cable mini usb connect

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 monstergeek

monstergeek

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Point Nemo
  • Interests:-Stuff

    -Some other stuff

  • Calculators:
    Casio FX-9750GII

Posted 13 December 2016 - 02:26 AM

So I just got a Casio FX-9750GII from eBay, so it didn't come with the cable. I bought a Motorola Razr mini USB cable together with it, and when it arrived I had to shave a bit of the cable as it would not fit the calculator. Upon connecting however it didn't seem to detect the connection on both ends, I tried with with other mini USB cables, does the FX-9750GII require a specific type of mini USB cable? I bought this on amazon today and it says it's for the 9750 and 9850 so I should be safe. Just in case though, how would I diagnose the source of the problem? Did the calculator not respond or did the PC not recognize it? Maybe all three of my cables were faulty?



#2 Viliami

Viliami

    Casio Addict

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPip
  • 83 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Zealand
  • Interests:C++ - OpenGL,SDL
    Python - Pygame
    Java - SFML
    C - Casio SDK

  • Calculators:
    FX-9750 GII upgraded to FX-9860 GII

Posted 13 December 2016 - 08:54 AM

Did you install the FA-124 program?

 

And if you did, did you download the FA-124 windows installer or the FA-124 zip folder.



#3 monstergeek

monstergeek

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Point Nemo
  • Interests:-Stuff

    -Some other stuff

  • Calculators:
    Casio FX-9750GII

Posted 24 December 2016 - 04:53 PM

Did you install the FA-124 program?

 

And if you did, did you download the FA-124 windows installer or the FA-124 zip folder.

Sorry for the late reply! thought I would receive an email notification. Anyways, I bought the actual cable, so that's another $9... Anyways it still does not work. Installed FA-124 and it says a connection cannot be established, any way to fix the calculator itself? Because I think it's the calculator that had the problem.



#4 frankmar98

frankmar98

    Casio Addict

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPip
  • 84 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain
  • Interests:Science, programming

  • Calculators:
    CFX-9970G
    HP Prime, TI-84+CE-T, TI-83+ fx-9750GII, CP-300, fx-4800p, fx-3650pII, fx-31, PB-100,fx-991 SPX, fx-82SX, fx-82

Posted 24 December 2016 - 05:02 PM

Monster geek, there are 2 types of micro USB cables. The cables used in actual mobile phones are different that the ones used in 2000's cameras PDAs and this calculator.

 

I recommend you not to force anything and search the cable in a second hand market, for 1$ / 1€ or even less. This cable was very very popular years ago.



#5 monstergeek

monstergeek

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Point Nemo
  • Interests:-Stuff

    -Some other stuff

  • Calculators:
    Casio FX-9750GII

Posted 24 December 2016 - 05:19 PM

Monster geek, there are 2 types of micro USB cables. The cables used in actual mobile phones are different that the ones used in 2000's cameras PDAs and this calculator.

 

I recommend you not to force anything and search the cable in a second hand market, for 1$ / 1€ or even less. This cable was very very popular years ago.

Yes I know what they are. There's the Micro then the Mini, this one needs the mini, bought three different ones already and to no avail. Also, when I connect it to the computer the calculator itself is not doing anything, so it's not detecting the computer too, which is why I wanted to know if it's the calculator that's broken. How else would I test it? Oh btw I bought this cable.



#6 monstergeek

monstergeek

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Point Nemo
  • Interests:-Stuff

    -Some other stuff

  • Calculators:
    Casio FX-9750GII

Posted 24 December 2016 - 05:30 PM

Looked around online and maybe I need drivers for the cable? Don't think it's very likely since windows installs the drivers automatically... would be nice to see if windows can at least detect if it's connected or not.



#7 frankmar98

frankmar98

    Casio Addict

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPip
  • 84 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain
  • Interests:Science, programming

  • Calculators:
    CFX-9970G
    HP Prime, TI-84+CE-T, TI-83+ fx-9750GII, CP-300, fx-4800p, fx-3650pII, fx-31, PB-100,fx-991 SPX, fx-82SX, fx-82

Posted 24 December 2016 - 06:01 PM

When you install FA-124, there is a pop up that will ask you for installing the drivers.



#8 monstergeek

monstergeek

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Point Nemo
  • Interests:-Stuff

    -Some other stuff

  • Calculators:
    Casio FX-9750GII

Posted 24 December 2016 - 06:08 PM

When you install FA-124, there is a pop up that will ask you for installing the drivers.

Didn't see that popup when I installed, so I uninstalled then re-installed it but I didn't see it :/ where to I find it?



#9 frankmar98

frankmar98

    Casio Addict

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPip
  • 84 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain
  • Interests:Science, programming

  • Calculators:
    CFX-9970G
    HP Prime, TI-84+CE-T, TI-83+ fx-9750GII, CP-300, fx-4800p, fx-3650pII, fx-31, PB-100,fx-991 SPX, fx-82SX, fx-82

Posted 24 December 2016 - 06:13 PM

I saw it on Windows 10. I installed it also in XP, and there isn't any popup



#10 monstergeek

monstergeek

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Point Nemo
  • Interests:-Stuff

    -Some other stuff

  • Calculators:
    Casio FX-9750GII

Posted 24 December 2016 - 06:24 PM

I saw it on Windows 10. I installed it also in XP, and there isn't any popup

Odd, i'm on windows 10... really hope i can fix this..



#11 monstergeek

monstergeek

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Point Nemo
  • Interests:-Stuff

    -Some other stuff

  • Calculators:
    Casio FX-9750GII

Posted 24 December 2016 - 06:29 PM

Yep installed with another computer and saw it, calculator still not showing any difference, still not doing the receiving thing or usb connected...



#12 Viliami

Viliami

    Casio Addict

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPip
  • 83 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Zealand
  • Interests:C++ - OpenGL,SDL
    Python - Pygame
    Java - SFML
    C - Casio SDK

  • Calculators:
    FX-9750 GII upgraded to FX-9860 GII

Posted 26 December 2016 - 01:13 AM

Make sure your calculator is in receiver mode and try running FA-124 in administrator mode. (right-click FA-124 and click run as administrator)



#13 monstergeek

monstergeek

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Point Nemo
  • Interests:-Stuff

    -Some other stuff

  • Calculators:
    Casio FX-9750GII

Posted 26 December 2016 - 11:41 PM

I did... Now i'm more confident that it's my calculator at fault here. Connecting it should have showed up something in the calculator, which it did not. Any last things I should try before I give up? Anything, i'll try anything :(.



#14 frankmar98

frankmar98

    Casio Addict

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPip
  • 84 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain
  • Interests:Science, programming

  • Calculators:
    CFX-9970G
    HP Prime, TI-84+CE-T, TI-83+ fx-9750GII, CP-300, fx-4800p, fx-3650pII, fx-31, PB-100,fx-991 SPX, fx-82SX, fx-82

Posted 27 December 2016 - 12:04 PM

Ok, maybe something is broken.

 

If you are good repairing electronics, you can try to open the circuit and clean the USB port. Maybe something is disconnected.

 

But you shoud do this at you responsability, I don't have much repairing calculator hardware knowledge.

 

Did you forced the connection?



#15 monstergeek

monstergeek

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Point Nemo
  • Interests:-Stuff

    -Some other stuff

  • Calculators:
    Casio FX-9750GII

Posted 29 December 2016 - 03:05 AM

Opened it up. Cleaned the USB port and checked the connections, everything look fine. What do you mean by force connection? You mean going into the "Link" option then receiving/transferring? Nothing happening...







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Problem, help, fx, 9750gii, 9750, fx-9750gii, casio fx-9750gii, cable, mini usb, connect

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users