Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Classpad Suggestions


  • Please log in to reply
341 replies to this topic

#41 XF007

XF007

    Casio Fan

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 45 posts

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300

Posted 11 November 2003 - 04:24 PM

i would like my classpad be faster than my graph 35 with a while and a if ....... :banghead: :banghead: :banghead:

#42 CrimsonCasio

CrimsonCasio

    UCF Ambassador

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3579 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Claculators, Stephen King, Video Games, Calculators, Programming, Calculators, Reading, Calculators... hmm, what else... Ah! Calculators!

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0, CFX 9850Ga+, Classpad 300

Posted 11 November 2003 - 04:44 PM

try this:

fill(0,25,25)=>A
A[21,5]=>B
Print B

it has some serious speed problems... (btw: casio tells me they fixed that particular problem)

#43 Lovecasio

Lovecasio

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 242 posts
  • Location:Hochiminh city Vietnam
  • Interests:Organic chemistry.<br />Pharmacy

  • Calculators:
    fx 570 MS, Casio AFX 2.0+, ClassPad 300

Posted 12 November 2003 - 01:45 AM

Did they say thay some fixed problems will be release in the OS update :clap: , Crimson, or only in the next model of ClassPad :banghead: ( maybe ClassPad 300 Plus or ClassPad 400 - just my guess :greengrin:

#44 CrimsonCasio

CrimsonCasio

    UCF Ambassador

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3579 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Claculators, Stephen King, Video Games, Calculators, Programming, Calculators, Reading, Calculators... hmm, what else... Ah! Calculators!

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0, CFX 9850Ga+, Classpad 300

Posted 12 November 2003 - 02:24 AM

it will be available in OS updates. I dont think they intend to have a ClassPad 300+ just yet :rolleyes:

#45 Andy.Davies

Andy.Davies

    Forum Ghost

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1547 posts
  • Location:Dorset, England
  • Interests:Age: 18<br />Studying: MEng in cybernetics at Reading uni<br />Interests: Progaming (VB, VB.Net, C#, Casio Basic)<br />Computers UBBD (Using, Building, Breaking &amp; Destroying)<br />Gaming (FPS, RTS, RPG)<br />Electronics<br />Rock Music (Preferably Loud)<br />Riley's (Pool &amp; Snooker Bar)<br />Driving (Preferably fast)<br />Aikedo (Martial Art)

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX 2.0 ROM 1.01, FX9750G

Posted 12 November 2003 - 10:33 AM

yea, that would be a too quick advance

#46 betoe

betoe

    UCF Spanish Translator

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 846 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guadalajara/Mazatlan, Mexico.
  • Interests:Electronics, SW development, automotive. Swim->bike->run

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0 (R.I.P.), Classpad 300

Posted 12 November 2003 - 11:23 PM

Did they say thay some fixed problems will be release in the OS update  , Crimson, or only in the next model of ClassPad


I hope that the reason of the 4MB of add-in area is that they would make new releases of the OS, not release a new model (like the 3 or 4 AFX models). I hope... :unsure:

#47 maurice1979

maurice1979

    Casio Fan

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 40 posts
  • Location:The netherlands - Dutch people

  • Calculators:
    CP300, Fx8.... fraction sumtin', old thing with dust, it still works, with the original battery

Posted 13 November 2003 - 12:41 PM

Create a background picture on you PC en upload is to you CP300,

Palm pilot funtion, you write you equasion :)

What I also would like to see, are some organisor programs. make this thing more like a palmtop. ;)

Oh and games, lot's af them too. :rock:

#48 CrimsonCasio

CrimsonCasio

    UCF Ambassador

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3579 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Claculators, Stephen King, Video Games, Calculators, Programming, Calculators, Reading, Calculators... hmm, what else... Ah! Calculators!

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0, CFX 9850Ga+, Classpad 300

Posted 13 November 2003 - 12:43 PM

Oh and games, lot's af them too.  :rock:

I'm working on it... B)

#49 maurice1979

maurice1979

    Casio Fan

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 40 posts
  • Location:The netherlands - Dutch people

  • Calculators:
    CP300, Fx8.... fraction sumtin', old thing with dust, it still works, with the original battery

Posted 14 November 2003 - 11:24 PM

I'm working on it... B)

excellent :greengrin:

#50 maurice1979

maurice1979

    Casio Fan

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 40 posts
  • Location:The netherlands - Dutch people

  • Calculators:
    CP300, Fx8.... fraction sumtin', old thing with dust, it still works, with the original battery

Posted 15 November 2003 - 01:44 PM

I have a nice suggestion.
To be able to rotate your screen so that you have more horizontal space, for exsample graphing.
I almost forgot, a soft button to switch between radian en degree mode

#51 UserC300

UserC300

    Casio Fan

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 40 posts
  • Location:Germany

  • Calculators:
    Classpad 300, Casio fx-7700G, TI-81

Posted 15 November 2003 - 06:03 PM

4. Be able to view a graph (and possibly completely use the calculator by pen) sideways so that the height of the screen is used for width.  It gives some more room when needed.

Yes, that would solve one of the problems I mentioned in my last post. Also it would be nice because I think that sometimes the keyboard is in the way when using the pen.
And the display...well I love my Classpad but sometimes when I look at this "Mirror-Display" I get realy :motz:.

#52 betoe

betoe

    UCF Spanish Translator

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 846 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guadalajara/Mazatlan, Mexico.
  • Interests:Electronics, SW development, automotive. Swim->bike->run

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0 (R.I.P.), Classpad 300

Posted 15 November 2003 - 10:15 PM

You're right guys, i told to my friends the last week when we were studing, that the classpad is like a mirror. Sometimes its too difficult see the results of operations etc... Maybe its due by the protector.

#53 Mohamed

Mohamed

    UCF Police

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 519 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Egypt, Cairo

  • Calculators:
    AFX 2.0, PV-S660, fx-570MS

Posted 16 November 2003 - 12:22 PM

It is annoying.  I bought a pocket viewer some years ago, and it had the same 'feature'.  About once a month, I would back it up on my PC, take out the batteries, and clean the screen.

I don't read here a lot, so that's why my quote is late.
The Pocket Viewer has the option to disable turning the unit on by touching the screen (I 99% turn it on by tapping the screen with my finger, since I use it for reading long books, I hate to pick out the stylus and start moving it).
And I use it to clean the screen, search in the CP300 options, it might just have it.
Another idea is like what we have in PV, some people simply made BASIC language programs that doesn't do a thing when the screen is touched, and you could quit the loop by pressing the keys.
It is called the cleaning program, you turn it on and tada!

#54 UserC300

UserC300

    Casio Fan

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 40 posts
  • Location:Germany

  • Calculators:
    Classpad 300, Casio fx-7700G, TI-81

Posted 16 November 2003 - 01:14 PM

"Cleaning-Program"... Good idea! At least better than taking out the Batteries.

#55 qwerty841

qwerty841

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 198 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:vernal

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300,TI 83 PSE,TI Voyage 200,Windows Calculator

Posted 20 November 2003 - 12:43 AM

how about replacing the (-) key with a shift key (B)) since (-) does the same thing as - (:hammer:)

(or a store key)

#56 qwerty841

qwerty841

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 198 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:vernal

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300,TI 83 PSE,TI Voyage 200,Windows Calculator

Posted 20 November 2003 - 12:52 AM

also, how about making it so you could run programs from the main application

#57 Overlord

Overlord

    Casio Technician

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 355 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brussels - Belgium
  • Interests:Math Researcher

  • Calculators:
    My head - C300 OS 3.00 - G100 Rom 1.02 - G65 - G60 - G25

Posted 21 November 2003 - 08:54 PM

arf i had the same idea.

and : an undelete command (if you have just deleted an important variable)

#58 pooya_b941

pooya_b941

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 24 November 2003 - 11:03 PM

I think the ClassPAD has the potential ability to do several engineering and scientific functions that don't seem to be supported right now, they are such as:
matrix operation with prametric elemnts.
doing Laplace nad Anti-Laplace transformation.
solving the systems of differential equations.

if the CP300 does this, Me and all my friends will buy it immediately
;)

#59 maurice1979

maurice1979

    Casio Fan

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 40 posts
  • Location:The netherlands - Dutch people

  • Calculators:
    CP300, Fx8.... fraction sumtin', old thing with dust, it still works, with the original battery

Posted 30 November 2003 - 12:33 AM

It doesn't say wich version so... I got some ideas
color tft screen
regagargeble Li-ion battery-pack
if you could imagine away everything below the big blue button
maybe bluetooth
24 bit color diplay
more graphical power, so you can render a lot of polygons plot a 3d prapg 50 by 50 :clap:
add your own backgrounds

perhaps this would be the ClassPad 600
way more expensive :unsure:

#60 c_moeller

c_moeller

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300

Posted 30 November 2003 - 11:06 AM

I would like to have some fields in eActivities that could not be edited by pupils.

#61 CrimsonCasio

CrimsonCasio

    UCF Ambassador

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3579 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Claculators, Stephen King, Video Games, Calculators, Programming, Calculators, Reading, Calculators... hmm, what else... Ah! Calculators!

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0, CFX 9850Ga+, Classpad 300

Posted 01 December 2003 - 04:28 AM

yeah, that would be nice.

#62 Overlord

Overlord

    Casio Technician

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 355 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brussels - Belgium
  • Interests:Math Researcher

  • Calculators:
    My head - C300 OS 3.00 - G100 Rom 1.02 - G65 - G60 - G25

Posted 06 December 2003 - 10:46 PM

bug report :

judge ( (4a+4b+c)/4 = a+b+c ) returns Undefined (it must be false)

#63 tonyp

tonyp

    Casio Fan

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 34 posts

  • Calculators:
    TI89, TI89 Titanium, TI-nspire CAS, Casio ClassPad300, Casio fx-6300g, Casio GFX9850GB, Casio 82ES, more

Posted 07 December 2003 - 06:19 PM

>judge ( (4a+4b+c)/4 = a+b+c ) returns Undefined (it must be false)

If c = 0 then the equality is TRUE but if c <> 0 then it's FALSE. So, not knowing what c might be, a reliable answer can't be given, so 'undefined' sounds OK. If you add |c=0 or |c#0 you'll get TRUE and FALSE.

(# stands for not-equal-to)

tonyp AT acm.org

#64 BiTwhise

BiTwhise

    Casio Overgod

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 627 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guildford, Surry, UK
  • Interests:Programming, games, consoles, martial arts

  • Calculators:
    FX9700WE, CFX9970G, AFX2.0, Classpad 300

Posted 07 December 2003 - 07:31 PM

I would like to see a list iterator.

It's pretty clear that the classpad traverses big lists slower than short lists (which leads me to believe they are implemented in some sort of linked list / binary tree structure.. )
If we could obtain an iterator for traversing the lists in sequential order, this should be alot faster

#65 betoe

betoe

    UCF Spanish Translator

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 846 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guadalajara/Mazatlan, Mexico.
  • Interests:Electronics, SW development, automotive. Swim->bike->run

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0 (R.I.P.), Classpad 300

Posted 16 December 2003 - 03:33 PM

I wouldl like that the classpad, when finish some operation (like a large sum), mades a "beep" (and the user can activate/desactivate this function). This is because when i'm doing by example an exam, i watch my CP every 5 seconds for see if the operation is finished (sometimes the classpad take a long time for solve some kind of operations).

#66 CrimsonCasio

CrimsonCasio

    UCF Ambassador

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3579 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Claculators, Stephen King, Video Games, Calculators, Programming, Calculators, Reading, Calculators... hmm, what else... Ah! Calculators!

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0, CFX 9850Ga+, Classpad 300

Posted 16 December 2003 - 06:16 PM

I've already suggested to casio that they have an alert funtion that would beep when finished, example:

alert(very-long-expression)

#67 tonyp

tonyp

    Casio Fan

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 34 posts

  • Calculators:
    TI89, TI89 Titanium, TI-nspire CAS, Casio ClassPad300, Casio fx-6300g, Casio GFX9850GB, Casio 82ES, more

Posted 16 December 2003 - 06:37 PM

Am I not seeing this anywhere in the manual, or has the Classpad no way of entering and displaying binary and hex numbers?

On the TI89, one can enter 0h1234 (hex number) or 0b1010 (binary number). I personally prefer Motorola style syntax $ for hex and % binary because they are shorter to type but any reasonable syntax is OK as long as the ability is there.

If hex / binary math is possible on the ClassPad someone please let me know how.

A suggestion now:

On a clear line (main and calculation lines in eActivities), entering an operator can immediately add the ANS infront of it (like on the TI and many other calcs). So, typing X3 should be converted to ANS*3 (it saves keystrokes, taps, etc.)

tonyp AT acm.org

#68 CrimsonCasio

CrimsonCasio

    UCF Ambassador

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3579 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Claculators, Stephen King, Video Games, Calculators, Programming, Calculators, Reading, Calculators... hmm, what else... Ah! Calculators!

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0, CFX 9850Ga+, Classpad 300

Posted 16 December 2003 - 09:37 PM

I think someone (overlord?) is making a basic program to do conversions in basic and hex, etc...
the second suggestion I agree with.

#69 Overlord

Overlord

    Casio Technician

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 355 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brussels - Belgium
  • Interests:Math Researcher

  • Calculators:
    My head - C300 OS 3.00 - G100 Rom 1.02 - G65 - G60 - G25

Posted 16 December 2003 - 09:52 PM

For the moment it can convert number for any base (2-...) to any base (2-...) , if it's stored as a list

It will also be able to convert strings for any base (2-36 or 62) to any base (2-36 or 62)

#70 Master

Master

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Location:Portugal

  • Calculators:
    cp300

Posted 19 December 2003 - 01:37 PM

i think that should exist a program to make add-ins or programming in assember.

#71 CrimsonCasio

CrimsonCasio

    UCF Ambassador

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3579 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Claculators, Stephen King, Video Games, Calculators, Programming, Calculators, Reading, Calculators... hmm, what else... Ah! Calculators!

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0, CFX 9850Ga+, Classpad 300

Posted 19 December 2003 - 04:30 PM

we all agree with you :D

#72 betoe

betoe

    UCF Spanish Translator

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 846 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guadalajara/Mazatlan, Mexico.
  • Interests:Electronics, SW development, automotive. Swim->bike->run

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0 (R.I.P.), Classpad 300

Posted 25 December 2003 - 10:08 PM

Well i'm not sure but i think that there is a bug in the classpad manager using Switch~Case in big programs. I do a program with a menu using switch-case, then in one of the options i use others switch-case sentences but when I tried to save that programs syntax error appear. I watch the program and the syntax was ok, yesterday i copy from my CP manager the complete switch-case and paste it on a IM conversation with Overlord, then he tried that code on him calculator and no problem.

I erase that switch and put a bunch of If's <_< , i never find a solution for that error. And i had the same problem 2 times in different places of the program.

#73 mindwaves1

mindwaves1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts

Posted 26 December 2003 - 12:36 AM

A totally revamped keyboard. I personally think that the ClassPad keyboard layout is horrible. The buttons are horribly oversized and could be made smaller for other keys such as a dedicated sine, cosine, tangent key. I also believe that a major flaw of the ClassPad keyboard layout is how the plus, minus, divide, and multiply symbols are laid out all in a single row. I do a lot of math and I like the traditional Casio layout of the symbols in a little 2x2 matrix. It makes more sense to me and less finger movement from key to key when you do a lot of math. That and it makes it more Casio like and less Ti like.

I also like to see a basic calandar program and a little digital clock to tell the time like the HPs.

Also, perhaps two divisions of the ClassPad model. One geared towards the education market (with all of those hands on applications) and one geared towards the technical market.

#74 mkanter

mkanter

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 74 posts

  • Calculators:
    CFX9850G, ClassPad 300

Posted 29 December 2003 - 03:24 PM

I've already suggested to casio that they have an alert funtion that would beep when finished, example:

alert(very-long-expression)

enable the beep function in Setup
like a combo or checkboxes with
-no beep
-beep on error
-beep on end of calc
-both

#75 Overlord

Overlord

    Casio Technician

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 355 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brussels - Belgium
  • Interests:Math Researcher

  • Calculators:
    My head - C300 OS 3.00 - G100 Rom 1.02 - G65 - G60 - G25

Posted 01 January 2004 - 06:39 PM

in the program editor :
a "undo" function
and a "replace" function

#76 CrimsonCasio

CrimsonCasio

    UCF Ambassador

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3579 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Claculators, Stephen King, Video Games, Calculators, Programming, Calculators, Reading, Calculators... hmm, what else... Ah! Calculators!

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0, CFX 9850Ga+, Classpad 300

Posted 01 January 2004 - 08:11 PM

a handy way to undo everything you've done since you last turned off the classpad is execute this command: Line Undefined,Undefined,Undefined,Undefined it will cause an error and the time lapse effect will occure.

#77 betoe

betoe

    UCF Spanish Translator

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 846 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guadalajara/Mazatlan, Mexico.
  • Interests:Electronics, SW development, automotive. Swim->bike->run

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0 (R.I.P.), Classpad 300

Posted 03 January 2004 - 03:47 AM

I would like that casio release some programs for the AFX. I would like programs for maths like "Z transformed" (i dont know if its the correct translation) like the HP's. Also casio said that the Schip8 would be available in October and we are on January.

#78 Lovecasio

Lovecasio

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 242 posts
  • Location:Hochiminh city Vietnam
  • Interests:Organic chemistry.<br />Pharmacy

  • Calculators:
    fx 570 MS, Casio AFX 2.0+, ClassPad 300

Posted 03 January 2004 - 11:31 AM

Happy new year !!! :rolleyes:
If you want maths basic programs for the AFX, I think this site contains some:
http://www.casio.com...cation.programs
If you have FA 123 cable, you can use it to connect your AFX to the computer and send programs. I dont have, so I have to type by hand. ;)

About Schip 8 ( for ClassPad 300 ), although it has been done long time, Saltire cannot send it out because Casio didn't release Add-ins loader, which helps you to send Add-ins application to your ClassPad. (right? :) ). We all hope they will release it soon.

#79 Pem

Pem

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts

  • Calculators:
    Classpad 300 - TI83+ - TI82

Posted 11 January 2004 - 12:48 PM

If anyone could tell casio that they should release a Macintosh and / or a <{GNULINUX}> version of the Programlink software, it'd be great : a lot of people in education don't use Windows. ;)
Otherwise, I'd like the differential equations bug to be fixed (if you don't know it, try to type "dsolve(y=ay+b,y,x)", it will crash...).

#80 Lovecasio

Lovecasio

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 242 posts
  • Location:Hochiminh city Vietnam
  • Interests:Organic chemistry.<br />Pharmacy

  • Calculators:
    fx 570 MS, Casio AFX 2.0+, ClassPad 300

Posted 16 January 2004 - 03:34 AM

Hi.
I haven't studied about differential equations yet, so I have a very very little knowledge about it.
As the equation you wrote, I think it is "y'=ay+b,y,x", right?
Did you try this in OS version 1.00? If so, it will crash. I tried in the new version, 1.20. It didn't crash, just appeared an Error table: "Wrong Argument Type", then I tried dSolve(y'=ay+b,x,y), and then solve for y. All are OK without crashing. :)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users