Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

My AFX2 sucks up four batteries in a week!!!


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 Winter83

Winter83

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 05 November 2002 - 11:07 AM

I'm italian, sorry for mistakes
Since I owned it, my AFX2 always worked
fine. Whit the 4 AAA batteries, I used
to work for over 6 months. In the last
month, however, my AFX started to drain
4AAA batteries per week. I'm not using
it more than before and I don't
understant why it actually drains the
main batteries so fast (It always asks
to change the main batteries, never the
backup one). I've check'd if the auto
power off feature works, and it works
ok (6minutes), i never forget to turn
it off ecc... Anyone knows what's happening?

#2 Thunderhead

Thunderhead

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 159 posts

Posted 05 November 2002 - 12:18 PM

I don't know anyway, there're batteries better than the other like Duracell.
But in any case, what you're saying isn't common. You'd better drop a line to casio.

#3 MathManiac

MathManiac

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 85 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Interests:Maths & Physics
    Girls
    Science fiction
    Cinema

  • Calculators:
    fx CG20
    fx 9860 GII SD
    Afx 2.0 plus
    CFX 9850 G
    Fx 115 D
    TI 83 Plus SE
    Ti 92 Plus
    Hp 49 G

Posted 05 November 2002 - 12:58 PM

"In the last month, however, my AFX started to drain 4AAA batteries per week. "
Do you have other problems in your calc?

I have one AFX2 with that problem, but in that machine the only thing that works fine is the main screen! (flash memory "blew up" , last week that machine hanged up when i tried 1+1. no kidding this is 100% true! ...hum that gave me an idea...hum wait until my next post :lol: )

#4 2072

2072

    Casio over god

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1550 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewherebourg
  • Interests:Cinema, Programming, Music and a lot of thing...

  • Calculators:
    AFX2 ROM 1.02, CFX-9940GT+, FX-180P-Plus

Posted 05 November 2002 - 01:56 PM

last week that machine hanged up when i tried 1+1. no kidding this is 100% true! ...

that's because you've modified your system flash zone using FC or FE to add icons in the main menu.

#5 Killer83Z

Killer83Z

    Casio CEO

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 427 posts
  • Location:I'm near to the place where I study
  • Interests:Guitar, Piano, Music, UCN<br />

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0, CFX-9850G, fx-7000G, fx-7500G, TI-83, HP100lx

Posted 05 November 2002 - 05:38 PM

I know this problem from my portable cd-player. Always be sure to use "Alkaline" batteries (duracell, for example). Do not use the cheap ones. Just buy the same type like you had previously (with the 6 months life). Also rechargable batteries with only 1.2V are no good choice.

#6 Guest_Bytefish Productions_*

Guest_Bytefish Productions_*
  • Guests

Posted 05 November 2002 - 06:03 PM

dunno... a calc shouldnt eat too much batteries...
try a reset. :) (yes it is a very stupid answer :D :D)

#7 dscoshpe

dscoshpe

    Casio Freak

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Location:California, USA

  • Calculators:
    AFX 2.0 (v1.00), 9850Ga+, 9800, BE-300 other..

Posted 05 November 2002 - 06:43 PM

if you are using rechargables it is possible they may no longer be good, or you are running in to the "memory" effect

- dscoshpe -

#8 Winter83

Winter83

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 05 November 2002 - 11:13 PM

I know this problem from my portable cd-player. Always be sure to use "Alkaline" batteries (duracell, for example). Do not use the cheap ones. Just buy the same type like you had previously (with the 6 months life). Also rechargable batteries with only 1.2V are no good choice.

Nope, no cheap batteries. Actually, the last "martirs" were 4 Duracell Plus... Other bad thing: I think something in the power management system has blow up: I bought four new batteries and, after replacing the old ones, it still sais "Main batteries low". I've tried every kind of reset!!!

#9 2072

2072

    Casio over god

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1550 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewherebourg
  • Interests:Cinema, Programming, Music and a lot of thing...

  • Calculators:
    AFX2 ROM 1.02, CFX-9940GT+, FX-180P-Plus

Posted 06 November 2002 - 12:05 AM

I know this problem from my portable cd-player. Always be sure to use "Alkaline" batteries (duracell, for example). Do not use the cheap ones. Just buy the same type like you had previously (with the 6 months life). Also rechargable batteries with only 1.2V are no good choice.

Well I use NiMh 700mah 1.2V and it works during about 1 month (or more) and then I re-charge the batteries in 2 hours.

#10 Thunderhead

Thunderhead

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 159 posts

Posted 06 November 2002 - 07:58 AM

as for me, my calc which is an algebra FX2+ (g100+) drains not more than 4 batteries per 6 month...

#11 Henrik

Henrik

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 73 posts

Posted 06 November 2002 - 08:34 AM

If you are uploading a lot to your flash, your calc. will drain a lot more power. Befor I uploaded any programs to the flash I used the same batteries for 8 months.

#12 Thunderhead

Thunderhead

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 159 posts

Posted 06 November 2002 - 10:13 AM

yea and be carefull when you upload some flash application that your batteries aren't empty. Cause it occured to me. I was uploading a flash game and my batteries was nearly empty. And when the upload was finished, all my memories, flash memory was emtpy ! It said "ERROR 7C" or a stuff like that. So upload use a lot of your batteries !

#13 rstweb

rstweb

    Casio Hack

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 274 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 06 November 2002 - 06:03 PM

Also rechargable batteries with only 1.2V are no good choice.

they are the best choice! they cost first more but if you recharge them sometimes they are cheaper than batteries.
only Ni-CD have memory-effect, NiMH not anymore.

bye

rstweb

#14 MathManiac

MathManiac

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 85 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Interests:Maths & Physics
    Girls
    Science fiction
    Cinema

  • Calculators:
    fx CG20
    fx 9860 GII SD
    Afx 2.0 plus
    CFX 9850 G
    Fx 115 D
    TI 83 Plus SE
    Ti 92 Plus
    Hp 49 G

Posted 06 November 2002 - 11:02 PM

that's because you've modified your system flash zone using FC or FE to add icons in the main menu.

:huh: ...No i didn't. But does that really happen wen we use casio's Iconizer? :blink: (and how can people fix that? a full reset??...with some modifications in a backup file? ...with Touch??)

#15 2072

2072

    Casio over god

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1550 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewherebourg
  • Interests:Cinema, Programming, Music and a lot of thing...

  • Calculators:
    AFX2 ROM 1.02, CFX-9940GT+, FX-180P-Plus

Posted 07 November 2002 - 12:54 AM

No it may happens only if you are using third parti program like Flash Editor or Flash COM.

Yes you have to do a full reset to make it works again.

#16 MathManiac

MathManiac

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 85 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Interests:Maths & Physics
    Girls
    Science fiction
    Cinema

  • Calculators:
    fx CG20
    fx 9860 GII SD
    Afx 2.0 plus
    CFX 9850 G
    Fx 115 D
    TI 83 Plus SE
    Ti 92 Plus
    Hp 49 G

Posted 07 November 2002 - 03:36 PM

:lol: FC=flashcom and FE=FlashEditor

(sometimes i can be really dum!)

If a full reset doesn't work (and your calc sucks a lot of batteries) and nothing elese works on the calc..you have the same problem i have with my afx 2.0 ( FE never worked with my computer/calc , but i think my problems started before i used flashcom...i cant swear, but i'm 75% sure)

#17 Henrik

Henrik

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 73 posts

Posted 07 November 2002 - 07:57 PM

Hmm, dropped your calc to the ground, or have you ever frezzed it down below +4. I got some strange errors when I had it in the car one night and the temp was below -10 celsius.

Hitting it with a hammer? :D (probably not funny)

#18 MathManiac

MathManiac

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 85 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Interests:Maths & Physics
    Girls
    Science fiction
    Cinema

  • Calculators:
    fx CG20
    fx 9860 GII SD
    Afx 2.0 plus
    CFX 9850 G
    Fx 115 D
    TI 83 Plus SE
    Ti 92 Plus
    Hp 49 G

Posted 07 November 2002 - 08:34 PM

No...with a bus! :lol:

#19 Exca

Exca

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 77 posts

Posted 07 November 2002 - 08:47 PM

If you are uploading a lot to your flash, your calc. will drain a lot more power. Befor I uploaded any programs to the flash I used the same batteries for 8 months.

Hmm.. the uploading process uses about the same amount of energy as any other activity...

Perhaps you just started to use your calc more after you uploaded files? :)

#20 2072

2072

    Casio over god

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1550 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewherebourg
  • Interests:Cinema, Programming, Music and a lot of thing...

  • Calculators:
    AFX2 ROM 1.02, CFX-9940GT+, FX-180P-Plus

Posted 08 November 2002 - 12:48 AM

No it doesn't, to write in a flash memory needs a lot more power: this type of memory behaves like a ROM except that if you increase the power you can re-write it, and there is the link port that consume a bit too.

#21 Exca

Exca

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 77 posts

Posted 08 November 2002 - 01:44 PM

Oh, but it consumes that only when writing right?

#22 Henrik

Henrik

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 73 posts

Posted 08 November 2002 - 09:37 PM

No, the calc consumes power when it's turned on but not very much. If you play a lot of games the calc is eating more batteries becuse of the heavy cpy load. (and very, very little when it's turned off, batteries always drops in voltage).

#23 Thunderhead

Thunderhead

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 159 posts

Posted 09 November 2002 - 08:53 AM

But what eat batteries above all else is upload, and when I upload one hours running (a lot of games), my batteries become nearly useless...




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users