Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

help?


  • Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1 Bob Vila

Bob Vila

    Casio Overlord

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 768 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

  • Calculators:
    FX 1.0+ : CFX-9850 GB Plus : TI-81

Posted 18 November 2002 - 05:31 AM

i am a greenie and dont no jack about the basic style of programmimg. I am a java programmer. is there a program for my 9850 so i can program java on it? also on one of the programs in the program list is windows. it has the internet in the start menu, can i really have the internet on my calc? :unsure:

#2 Casto Productions

Casto Productions

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 152 posts
  • Location:IL, USA

  • Calculators:
    TI-83, TI-86, CFX-9850, AFX2.0

Posted 18 November 2002 - 07:50 AM

ummm... never heard of the internet on the 9850's, as I imagine no modem would be the first in line for the list of problems with that idea (but about 50 others come to mind off the top of my head). As for using Java on your 9850, probably not. At least nothing I have ever heard of. A select few have managed to get the calc to accept assembly, but only with modification of the ROM chip. The 9850's only accept BASIC beyond that, and if you have been able to learn Java, BASIC should be a walk in the park. The language is far more easily read than Java.

Best of luck!

#3 Henrik

Henrik

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 73 posts

Posted 18 November 2002 - 08:24 AM

I think i remeber an API to connect the calc to the computer. You can write a own program so you can "browse" the web trough the computer.

#4 Guest_Bytefish Productions_*

Guest_Bytefish Productions_*
  • Guests

Posted 18 November 2002 - 11:10 AM

hey i am a java programmer too. :P
Basic on casio is much easier than java.
I wish i could program java on it too, but there is no way to do it, at least on a 9850...
k have a nice day, have to go to school again. <_<

#5 Thunderhead

Thunderhead

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 159 posts

Posted 19 November 2002 - 07:26 PM

Java is quite though ! I prefer HTML as if it's not a real language !

#6 Exca

Exca

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 77 posts

Posted 19 November 2002 - 07:54 PM

Java is quite though ! I prefer HTML as if it's not a real language !

Do you mean javascript? As java is way much more than javascript :)

Java has nothing to do with html

#7 BiTwhise

BiTwhise

    Casio Overgod

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 627 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guildford, Surry, UK
  • Interests:Programming, games, consoles, martial arts

  • Calculators:
    FX9700WE, CFX9970G, AFX2.0, Classpad 300

Posted 20 November 2002 - 12:53 AM

I prefer assembler :)
it makes your mind..
mov cx, 1
rep inc cx

:D

I dunno... maybe it's not healty for ya ;)

Anyway, with modern computers, most people are better off using high level languages... ooh.. I was borne a (or two) decade too late :(

#8 Casto Productions

Casto Productions

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 152 posts
  • Location:IL, USA

  • Calculators:
    TI-83, TI-86, CFX-9850, AFX2.0

Posted 20 November 2002 - 05:26 AM

speaking of assembler, anyone know a good way to get started in programing in assembler? I've tried looking at source code when I get it for games, but that source is much to complex for me to just start dissecting it. I would need a rather simple program (like all text or something) with source in order to really start to understand, but not sure where I could find "simple" programs written in ASM. Any clues?

#9 Killer83Z

Killer83Z

    Casio CEO

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 427 posts
  • Location:I'm near to the place where I study
  • Interests:Guitar, Piano, Music, UCN<br />

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0, CFX-9850G, fx-7000G, fx-7500G, TI-83, HP100lx

Posted 20 November 2002 - 12:25 PM

Well, as for me - I usually go the hard way when I really want to learn a programming language - and I buy a B-O-O-K where to start from. :unsure:

#10 Casto Productions

Casto Productions

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 152 posts
  • Location:IL, USA

  • Calculators:
    TI-83, TI-86, CFX-9850, AFX2.0

Posted 20 November 2002 - 04:03 PM

dang, you mean I'm gonna have to learn to read? :D

#11 BiTwhise

BiTwhise

    Casio Overgod

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 627 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guildford, Surry, UK
  • Interests:Programming, games, consoles, martial arts

  • Calculators:
    FX9700WE, CFX9970G, AFX2.0, Classpad 300

Posted 20 November 2002 - 04:57 PM

speaking of assembler, anyone know a good way to get started in programing in assembler?  I've tried looking at source code when I get it for games, but that source is much to complex for me to just start dissecting it.  I would need a rather simple program (like all text or something) with source in order to really start to understand, but not sure where I could find "simple" programs written in ASM.  Any clues?

I preffer tutorials over books... for starting at least. books for beginners are too long and tedious, whereas tutorials are generally more straight forward, and not so boring (depends on the author ofcourse). After learning the basics of the language you can by more advanced books (or get resources on the net)

I can send you some of the tutorials I used to learn asm. They mainly use TASM / MASM syntax, and are quite good and understandable.

Or, you could try programmersheaven, you'll find lots of tutorials, source codes, links, and tools there :)

Apart from that you abviously need to try and fail... and fail and fail and fail.. and then.. sit back and enjoy your superadvanced "hello world" poping up on the screen :lol: (maybe exagerating a bit... )

For me, I've only really done 286 asm, and a bit of 386+ asm, but nothing advanced, like using SIMD instructions or MULTITHREADING or anything ;) thinking of starting that soon :D

Anyway, good to hear that someone is interested in learning asm. To my opinion, you need to know asm to be able to squeze any decent computing :lol: power :lol: out of this little calc :D

#12 Thunderhead

Thunderhead

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 159 posts

Posted 20 November 2002 - 05:15 PM

Java is quite though ! I prefer HTML as if it's not a real language !

Do you mean javascript? As java is way much more than javascript :)

Java has nothing to do with html

Yeah, I wanted to say javascript ! I don't know what does java look like ...

#13 Casto Productions

Casto Productions

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 152 posts
  • Location:IL, USA

  • Calculators:
    TI-83, TI-86, CFX-9850, AFX2.0

Posted 21 November 2002 - 06:56 AM

cool, thanks, I'll check out some of the tutorials. I already have a book on ASM, but as you mentioned, it is long and tedious, and it tends to lose me because of the detail it goes into. I'll let you know when I finally get that "hello world" message to come up:)

#14 rstweb

rstweb

    Casio Hack

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 274 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 27 November 2002 - 08:26 PM

i prefer c++ to all programming languages! and for web i prefer PHP.
a friend of me programs in asm.
sometimes it is better to read a course (i.e. of an university and so on)

bye

rstweb

#15 BiTwhise

BiTwhise

    Casio Overgod

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 627 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guildford, Surry, UK
  • Interests:Programming, games, consoles, martial arts

  • Calculators:
    FX9700WE, CFX9970G, AFX2.0, Classpad 300

Posted 27 November 2002 - 08:34 PM

c / c++ is a good language, but for a calc, nothing can beat asm :D

the problem with c compared with asm (on the calc) is not just the speed difference, but all those libraries that you include... takes too much space...

anyway, for developing anything really big on a real computer, asm takes too long, allthough you might find that using som hand written asm routines for inner loops and cpu intensive tasks will speed the program up quite a bit :)

#16 rstweb

rstweb

    Casio Hack

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 274 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 27 November 2002 - 08:52 PM

yes. for calculator asm is the best, but if you want to work with a cluster you need c/c++. there's no MPI for asm.

bye

rstweb

#17 Thunderhead

Thunderhead

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 159 posts

Posted 08 December 2002 - 11:33 AM

but asm is harder than c or c++ !!

#18 BiTwhise

BiTwhise

    Casio Overgod

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 627 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guildford, Surry, UK
  • Interests:Programming, games, consoles, martial arts

  • Calculators:
    FX9700WE, CFX9970G, AFX2.0, Classpad 300

Posted 08 December 2002 - 12:48 PM

asm isn't really all that hard you know...

not for small 286 programs

...but if you want to work with a cluster you need c/c++. there's no MPI for asm...

what do you mean by "cluster"? working on a team?
and what doas MPI stand for?

btw, you never "need" c/c++.. ;)

#19 Thunderhead

Thunderhead

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 159 posts

Posted 09 December 2002 - 04:16 PM

you program in ams ? you really think that it's not as tough as we believe ?
as far as I'm concerned, I'd say that it's a bit more hard than C...

#20 BiTwhise

BiTwhise

    Casio Overgod

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 627 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guildford, Surry, UK
  • Interests:Programming, games, consoles, martial arts

  • Calculators:
    FX9700WE, CFX9970G, AFX2.0, Classpad 300

Posted 09 December 2002 - 04:31 PM

you program in ams ?

Yes, I do :)

you really think that it's not as tough as we believe ?

It might have a steeper learning curve, but once you are used to it, it's not too difficult.

as far as I'm concerned, I'd say that it's a bit more hard than C...

Well, C is a high level language, and therefor much closer to your general process of thinking. But the beauty with asm though, is that you learn to think differently. You think more on what the computer actually does to perform certain tasks. This is also helpful for you C programming, as it can improve your algorithms.

If you ignore the structural benifits of C, and break the languages down to what syntax you are actually writing, I find that asm is more straight and not more difficult to learn or understand. The hard part is using this very basic level of coding to create more complex routines. Then again, that's all a question of structere and abillity to write good algorithms.

hope I haven't offended anyone here, and I don't wish to a start a ASM vs C debate :)

#21 Thunderhead

Thunderhead

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 159 posts

Posted 09 December 2002 - 05:14 PM

you program in ams ?

Yes, I do :)

you really think that it's not as tough as we believe ?

It might have a steeper learning curve, but once you are used to it, it's not too difficult.

as far as I'm concerned, I'd say that it's a bit more hard than C...

Well, C is a high level language, and therefor much closer to your general process of thinking. But the beauty with asm though, is that you learn to think differently. You think more on what the computer actually does to perform certain tasks. This is also helpful for you C programming, as it can improve your algorithms.

If you ignore the structural benifits of C, and break the languages down to what syntax you are actually writing, I find that asm is more straight and not more difficult to learn or understand. The hard part is using this very basic level of coding to create more complex routines. Then again, that's all a question of structere and abillity to write good algorithms.

hope I haven't offended anyone here, and I don't wish to a start a ASM vs C debate :)

of course I understand. But I'd learn asm with pleasure but it'd be a bit useless for me so, I prefer keeping on with C !

#22 rstweb

rstweb

    Casio Hack

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 274 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 09 December 2002 - 05:29 PM

asm isn't really all that hard you know...

not for small 286 programs

...but if you want to work with a cluster you need c/c++. there's no MPI for asm...

what do you mean by "cluster"? working on a team?
and what doas MPI stand for?

btw, you never "need" c/c++.. ;)

a cluster is a connection of many computers via networking. these computers do ressource division (i hope o translated it well). it means instead have only the power of a single computer you have the power of all computers of cluster.

MPI is the shortform for Message passing interface. with a derivate of of MPI (for example MPICH) you can use the whole power of a cluster.

you need c/c++, because for MPi you need a special compiler. these compiler are only for C/c++.

bye

rstweb

#23 BiTwhise

BiTwhise

    Casio Overgod

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 627 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guildford, Surry, UK
  • Interests:Programming, games, consoles, martial arts

  • Calculators:
    FX9700WE, CFX9970G, AFX2.0, Classpad 300

Posted 09 December 2002 - 05:34 PM

ok, I c :)

just didn't see what should keep you from doing that in asm...

#24 rufus

rufus

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 15 December 2002 - 01:02 PM

hey i am a java programmer too. :P
Basic on casio is much easier than java.
I wish i could program java on it too, but there is no way to do it, at least on a 9850...

I think it looks easier but I just can't stand having to go through Menus and Menus to get to one basic command.

Rufus

#25 rufus

rufus

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 15 December 2002 - 01:10 PM

Java is quite though ! I prefer HTML as if it's not a real language !

Do you mean javascript? As java is way much more than javascript :)

Java has nothing to do with html

Yeah, I wanted to say javascript ! I don't know what does java look like ...

Well it looks like this:

public class CLSFractal
extends java.applet.Applet
implements Runnable, MouseListener {
Thread kicker;
ContextLSystem cls;
int fractLevel = 1;
int repaintDelay = 50;
boolean incrementalUpdates;
float startAngle = 0;
float rotAngle = 45;
float Xmin;
float Xmax;
float Ymin;
float Ymax;
int border;
boolean normalizescaling;

public void init() {
String s;
cls = new ContextLSystem(this);
s = getParameter("level");
if (s != null) fractLevel = Integer.parseInt(s);
s = getParameter("incremental");
if (s != null) incrementalUpdates = s.equalsIgnoreCase("true");
s = getParameter("delay");
if (s != null) repaintDelay = Integer.parseInt(s);
s = getParameter("startAngle");
if (s != null) startAngle = Float.valueOf(s).floatValue();
s = getParameter("rotAngle");
if (s != null) rotAngle = Float.valueOf(s).floatValue();
rotAngle = rotAngle / 360 * 2 * 3.14159265358f;
s = getParameter("border");
if (s != null) border = Integer.parseInt(s);
s = getParameter("normalizescale");
if (s != null) normalizescaling = s.equalsIgnoreCase("true");
addMouseListener(this);
}

public void destroy() {
removeMouseListener(this);
}

public void run() {
Thread me = Thread.currentThread();
boolean needsRepaint = false;
while (kicker == me && cls.getLevel() :huh: ;) :( :angry: :blink: :o :ph34r:

#26 Guest_Bytefish Productions_*

Guest_Bytefish Productions_*
  • Guests

Posted 15 December 2002 - 01:22 PM

lol java rocks... the syntax is sweet. :)

#27 huhn_m

huhn_m

    Casio Maniac

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1957 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany / Dresden
  • Interests:Assembler(!!!)
    Computers and Programming
    Operating Systems
    Programmable Calculators
    Maths and everything arround it

  • Calculators:
    FX-82SX / AFX 2.0+ (ROM 1.03) / FX 1.0+ (ROM 1.03)

Posted 15 December 2002 - 03:40 PM

hey i am a java programmer too. :P
Basic on casio is much easier than java.
I wish i could program java on it too, but there is no way to do it, at least on a 9850...

I think it looks easier but I just can't stand having to go through Menus and Menus to get to one basic command.

Rufus

But if you were not able to find the commands in menus programs
would become pretty large! Locate would take 6 Bytes instead of
1 (or 2 can't remember)!

So most programs would get 10x as large as they are! You wouldn't really
want that on a 32 KB Memory

#28 rufus

rufus

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 16 December 2002 - 07:52 AM

hey i am a java programmer too. :P
Basic on casio is much easier than java.
I wish i could program java on it too, but there is no way to do it, at least on a 9850...

I think it looks easier but I just can't stand having to go through Menus and Menus to get to one basic command.

Rufus

But if you were not able to find the commands in menus programs
would become pretty large! Locate would take 6 Bytes instead of
1 (or 2 can't remember)!

So most programs would get 10x as large as they are! You wouldn't really
want that on a 32 KB Memory

But for people like me who just got their calculator yesterday, they don't need so much space.

Anyway it is easier with java even though it takes up more space because you can customize commands. There are no set functions. You can be the architect.

Also Java isn't designed for calculators, it's designed for pc's, laptops and handheld computers.

Rufus

#29 Bob Vila

Bob Vila

    Casio Overlord

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 768 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

  • Calculators:
    FX 1.0+ : CFX-9850 GB Plus : TI-81

Posted 18 December 2002 - 06:03 AM

java is the best. well for me since it is the only language i know. but i do think that it looks alot cooler looking than alot of the ofter languages like basic. basic looks so boring. well at least in qbasic anyways. although i should be taking some more programming classes such as basic and c/c++. :D

#30 Thunderhead

Thunderhead

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 159 posts

Posted 18 December 2002 - 08:15 AM

hey i am a java programmer too. :P
Basic on casio is much easier than java.
I wish i could program java on it too, but there is no way to do it, at least on a 9850...

I think it looks easier but I just can't stand having to go through Menus and Menus to get to one basic command.

Rufus

But if you were not able to find the commands in menus programs
would become pretty large! Locate would take 6 Bytes instead of
1 (or 2 can't remember)!

So most programs would get 10x as large as they are! You wouldn't really
want that on a 32 KB Memory

But for people like me who just got their calculator yesterday, they don't need so much space.

Anyway it is easier with java even though it takes up more space because you can customize commands. There are no set functions. You can be the architect.

Also Java isn't designed for calculators, it's designed for pc's, laptops and handheld computers.

Rufus

It'll be nice to have java in the calto, no ? because there aren't too many different languages in which we can program (I don't know if my sentence is right but you should get it!) :)

#31 CrimsonCasio

CrimsonCasio

    UCF Ambassador

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3579 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Claculators, Stephen King, Video Games, Calculators, Programming, Calculators, Reading, Calculators... hmm, what else... Ah! Calculators!

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0, CFX 9850Ga+, Classpad 300

Posted 18 December 2002 - 02:56 PM

speaking of diffrent languages, would it be possible to put BASIC (not casio basic) or Visual Basic programs on the calc? Also I still think some one should make a compiler for casio basic so that people who are proficient in that can make fast games. :D

#32 Casto Productions

Casto Productions

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 152 posts
  • Location:IL, USA

  • Calculators:
    TI-83, TI-86, CFX-9850, AFX2.0

Posted 18 December 2002 - 04:29 PM

@ rufus, I know the command structure for basic on the casio's seems weird, but once I got used to it and was programing on a regular basis, I could navigate and get whatever command I wanted practically blindfoled. For me, it was like learning to type, now that I can, I don't think about where the keys are, I just press them in and they show up on the screen with barely a conscious thought. It gets better :D

As for the other languages like VB and just normal basic, I've never heard of anyone getting those to work on the casio's, but I would imagine that even if you did it would still be the slow speeds casio's exhibit because it's the translation of the basic that makes those games and such run slow.

#33 Thunderhead

Thunderhead

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 159 posts

Posted 20 December 2002 - 08:58 AM

And why not HTML, you never can tell :D but I think they have to make the AFX2.0 or g100(+) in color, it'll be better for the games...

#34 rstweb

rstweb

    Casio Hack

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 274 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 20 December 2002 - 02:48 PM

Please quote carefully!

4 (!!!) quotes in one post. i think it is a little bit too much. the 3 oldest quotes could be deleted. one qoute could help reading but 4 quotings makes reading difficult.

bye

rstweb

#35 Thunderhead

Thunderhead

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 159 posts

Posted 21 December 2002 - 08:59 AM

ho sorry, I didn't be careful about this, I won't do that again, is it enough ? :)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users