Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Internet on the AFX


  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 huhn_m

huhn_m

    Casio Maniac

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1957 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany / Dresden
  • Interests:Assembler(!!!)
    Computers and Programming
    Operating Systems
    Programmable Calculators
    Maths and everything arround it

  • Calculators:
    FX-82SX / AFX 2.0+ (ROM 1.03) / FX 1.0+ (ROM 1.03)

Posted 10 December 2002 - 02:55 PM

Hy!!

Today I visited the forum.graph100.com site and
found information an a new project that mybe will bring internet to the AFX.
I saw that 2072 is also involved with this project and maybe he can tell us
something about this project (beacuse my French isn't very well)

It seems as if it should only work by linking the GTR to a PC :blink: .
But if it is so what should it be good for?

Won't it be better if they directly connect a modem to the GTR.

#2 rstweb

rstweb

    Casio Hack

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 274 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 10 December 2002 - 03:33 PM

i can't imagine that there will be internet avaiable for the afx. is it necessary to have a browser on the casio? i think there won#t be enough space for a browser or something like a browser.

bye

rstweb

#3 Thunderhead

Thunderhead

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 159 posts

Posted 10 December 2002 - 06:15 PM

ot would be like WAP ?

#4 Casto Productions

Casto Productions

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 152 posts
  • Location:IL, USA

  • Calculators:
    TI-83, TI-86, CFX-9850, AFX2.0

Posted 10 December 2002 - 06:29 PM

I imagine hooking an AFX to the internet isn't impossible, but then what? due to the graphical limitations alone, most pages would be impossible to view, even if someone did right some browser. At best, I would imagine it would be like the cell phones that can go on the web, simple pages and limited access, but then if you have to connect it to a computer that already has internet access, why would you bother?

#5 Mohamed

Mohamed

    UCF Police

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 519 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Egypt, Cairo

  • Calculators:
    AFX 2.0, PV-S660, fx-570MS

Posted 10 December 2002 - 06:29 PM

Why on earth would anyone need internet on the AFX?
He sure would be sitting beside his PC, so go ahead and use the PC. :blink:

#6 BradN

BradN

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 69 posts

Posted 10 December 2002 - 06:48 PM

I could maybe see a _simple_ text browser get made for it, but getting PPP and TCP/IP for it working could be a big task.

#7 huhn_m

huhn_m

    Casio Maniac

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1957 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany / Dresden
  • Interests:Assembler(!!!)
    Computers and Programming
    Operating Systems
    Programmable Calculators
    Maths and everything arround it

  • Calculators:
    FX-82SX / AFX 2.0+ (ROM 1.03) / FX 1.0+ (ROM 1.03)

Posted 10 December 2002 - 07:22 PM

Why on earth would anyone need internet on the AFX?
He sure would be sitting beside his PC, so go ahead and use the PC.  :blink:

I didn't say this will be so but I understood it this way
Maybe 2072 will say something more later.

I'm currently trying to translate the new casio2.h lib to asm.

Is anyone interested???

By Huhn

#8 Guest_Bytefish Productions_*

Guest_Bytefish Productions_*
  • Guests

Posted 10 December 2002 - 08:22 PM

I explain it...
Someone (xxx productions) can't remember the name sorry, wrote a library (i call it a library now. sorry) that allows casios working with send() and receive() to a computer.

And an internet browser for a casio isnt that advanced then.
You just wait for the output of the casio (the url) and parse the website.
You dont have to think about protocol's or so...
:P
Cya.

#9 Killer83Z

Killer83Z

    Casio CEO

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 427 posts
  • Location:I'm near to the place where I study
  • Interests:Guitar, Piano, Music, UCN<br />

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0, CFX-9850G, fx-7000G, fx-7500G, TI-83, HP100lx

Posted 10 December 2002 - 09:46 PM

GP Productions.

But wasn't that for cfx-9850g...

http://users.pandora.be/gp/casio/

#10 2072

2072

    Casio over god

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1550 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewherebourg
  • Interests:Cinema, Programming, Music and a lot of thing...

  • Calculators:
    AFX2 ROM 1.02, CFX-9940GT+, FX-180P-Plus

Posted 11 December 2002 - 02:25 AM

Well the challenge is to make possible an AFX net using internet to exchange data between different AFX through the internet. The AFX would be connected to a programm running on the PC and connected to internet to other programs which themselves are connected to AFXs...

btw Huhn did you succeed contacting Patrick Davidson ?

#11 Casto Productions

Casto Productions

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 152 posts
  • Location:IL, USA

  • Calculators:
    TI-83, TI-86, CFX-9850, AFX2.0

Posted 11 December 2002 - 05:13 AM

so what might be the advantage to connecting to other AFX's through internet and computers? gaming purposes? I really can't imagine what else would be viable.

#12 CrimsonCasio

CrimsonCasio

    UCF Ambassador

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3579 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Claculators, Stephen King, Video Games, Calculators, Programming, Calculators, Reading, Calculators... hmm, what else... Ah! Calculators!

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0, CFX 9850Ga+, Classpad 300

Posted 11 December 2002 - 05:36 AM

Casio AIM! :D

#13 Thunderhead

Thunderhead

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 159 posts

Posted 11 December 2002 - 08:33 AM

imagine, a e-mail sent from a calto ! I think it'd be totally useless...and it'b be expensive....! <_<

#14 huhn_m

huhn_m

    Casio Maniac

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1957 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany / Dresden
  • Interests:Assembler(!!!)
    Computers and Programming
    Operating Systems
    Programmable Calculators
    Maths and everything arround it

  • Calculators:
    FX-82SX / AFX 2.0+ (ROM 1.03) / FX 1.0+ (ROM 1.03)

Posted 11 December 2002 - 02:21 PM

@2072

Who do you meen by Patrick Davidson ?
I don't remember anyone with this name :unsure:

@all

Well think it's not to dificult to write a browser connecting to the PC, too.
But wouldn't it be great to connect a AFX directly to a modem (using an adapter for the PC connector)??? Technicaly it should be possible because
you can write data to the port directly (without using the Casio Protocol!)
That would be great! I know how to dial via a modem, but i don't know
how to send & receive data using this method!

By the way: the library to send and receive data on the PC when the calc
uses the send( and receive( command were written by GP!
Visit GP here: The Casio Graph Site

But i don't think that his library works on the AFX!

Bye Huhn

#15 Guest_Bytefish Productions_*

Guest_Bytefish Productions_*
  • Guests

Posted 11 December 2002 - 02:49 PM

heee gp productions of course... sorry :)

#16 rstweb

rstweb

    Casio Hack

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 274 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 11 December 2002 - 04:06 PM

i have an idea!
what is if you connect the AFX to a mobilephone via infrared or serial-connection? possible mobilephones are Siemens, Nokia or Motorola to say only some. Many of these mobile phones have an infrared-interface. i can give you informations how to communicate with a siemens mobile via infrared. you only have to build an infrared-interface for the AFX and the commands for communication could be changed for a special mobile in a config-file.
used could be GPRS or CSD for data-communication but the websites have to be special ones.

bye

rstweb

P.S.: do we want to make it to a project? i will publish projects on my new page and this would be a project. i could make a project-management-system for this project,

#17 rstweb

rstweb

    Casio Hack

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 274 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 11 December 2002 - 04:09 PM

huhn_m, 2072:

please give me the URL or the topic-number of the topic at forum.graph100.com!

bye

rstweb

#18 huhn_m

huhn_m

    Casio Maniac

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1957 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany / Dresden
  • Interests:Assembler(!!!)
    Computers and Programming
    Operating Systems
    Programmable Calculators
    Maths and everything arround it

  • Calculators:
    FX-82SX / AFX 2.0+ (ROM 1.03) / FX 1.0+ (ROM 1.03)

Posted 11 December 2002 - 05:38 PM

@rstweb

1. Maybe we could make it to a project but I'm not able to help you with this
mobile phones, because I don't own one with a infrared link! Maybe
someone else will trie to do so ...! I also don't
own an AFX 2.0+ at the moment but my friend does (he's my tester :D ).
I'll own one after christmas than I'll see ...

I think I'll first buy an adapter to conect my modem to the AFX and then I'll
try to write a dialer for the AFX ... If this is done there will probably be a
project but this won't happen before, lets say February.

2. The links at Graph100 are:
Some general information on the project
The projects Forum

PS: Don't try translating using google! It'll become more confusing than it
is in french. :D

#19 Casto Productions

Casto Productions

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 152 posts
  • Location:IL, USA

  • Calculators:
    TI-83, TI-86, CFX-9850, AFX2.0

Posted 11 December 2002 - 08:13 PM

which phone use an infared link system? any older models? I have access to quite a few older phones (like 1-2 years old), maybe anyone who is willing to tackle this project could use them.
also, on a slightly different topic but a similar theme, if it is possible to get an AFX to connect to the internet, has anyone made a program (in ASM or basic) that can send and recieve between two seperate calcs? I've never seen any, and I can't understand why if internet is possible (and from the looks of these posts, may be a reality in the near future). What am I missing?

#20 XanonymX

XanonymX

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 14 December 2002 - 03:09 PM

Bugbug had create a new program for connect G100 on your PC to go in the internet. The program is : G100Lan 1.1. It's in donwload in www.graph100.com. But in the moment, this program run on PC and the g100 party of this program aren't create. But all the community of G100 research a good programmers to help bugbug.
Sorry for my english. I'm 15 and French.

#21 huhn_m

huhn_m

    Casio Maniac

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1957 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany / Dresden
  • Interests:Assembler(!!!)
    Computers and Programming
    Operating Systems
    Programmable Calculators
    Maths and everything arround it

  • Calculators:
    FX-82SX / AFX 2.0+ (ROM 1.03) / FX 1.0+ (ROM 1.03)

Posted 14 December 2002 - 03:17 PM

Who do you need???
Someone to programm the program for the
G100 or someone to write the Internet Software???

#22 rstweb

rstweb

    Casio Hack

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 274 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 14 December 2002 - 04:45 PM

@huhn_m:

i will create a project. if somebody wants to develope with it than he could subscribe it and he can develope.
i have to say that i don't have an AFX. i think i will have one next year in march or april.

i never use a translator who translates me whole websites. i use only my own knowledge.
i will read the topics at graph100 next wednesday. i don't have time earlier.

@casto:

there are many older models who have infrared. for example the Siemens S25, which is nearly 6years old, has infrared. if there's a connector from pc to handy you could use this connector, too. but i can't help with the commands for all handys. the best would be if we ask somebody who knows something or many about the communication between pc and the respectively mobile.

bye

rstweb

#23 XanonymX

XanonymX

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 16 December 2002 - 06:56 PM

The program G100Lan1.1 on party PC is in download in www.graph100.com. Click on "t?lechargement" in menu at left of the page internet, and click on "programme PC". They are two program for the moment. It's the second pragram : "G100Lan 1.1".
Sorry i don't understand very well your question. But i want to answer him.
The program for G100 communicate witch the PC is not programmed. But the Internet software for PC who communicate with G100 and make interface for internet. Drawn :

G100<-------> PC <------------>Internet
^ ^
| |
| |
| This software is create
This program is not create

Do you understand? Sorry i'm bad in english.

#24 XanonymX

XanonymX

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 16 December 2002 - 06:58 PM

Cheat, the cross under the drawn are moved!
G100 are not create
PC is create
It's more easy.

#25 Casto Productions

Casto Productions

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 152 posts
  • Location:IL, USA

  • Calculators:
    TI-83, TI-86, CFX-9850, AFX2.0

Posted 23 April 2003 - 10:17 PM

Anyone know if this went anywhere? Haven't seen anyone post anything on this subject for months now, so I hope the idea didn't fall apart.

I was thinking lately, maybe instead of using internet on the AFX to browse the web, maybe it would be nice instead to telnet into some <{GNULINUX}>-like OS, and be able to view different files and games for the AFX, and maybe even download them directly to the calc from the web. Don't know if it would be possible, but I imagine it wouldn't be too tough to write a shell in <{GNULINUX}> to act as a file database with upload capabilities. Am I pipe-dreaming?

#26 huhn_m

huhn_m

    Casio Maniac

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1957 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany / Dresden
  • Interests:Assembler(!!!)
    Computers and Programming
    Operating Systems
    Programmable Calculators
    Maths and everything arround it

  • Calculators:
    FX-82SX / AFX 2.0+ (ROM 1.03) / FX 1.0+ (ROM 1.03)

Posted 26 April 2003 - 04:44 PM

thought about it but for this I'll need a cable
that works with a battery (9V instead of using the PC power)
If anyone has he can send it to me. otherwise I'm not able
to use the modem (it doesn't respond). It should also be
possible to use a mouse with the sam cable.

#27 Casto Productions

Casto Productions

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 152 posts
  • Location:IL, USA

  • Calculators:
    TI-83, TI-86, CFX-9850, AFX2.0

Posted 27 April 2003 - 05:35 AM

Why the nine-volt power source instead of computer power? Are you able to connect the modem straight to the afx? I was thinking something to connect the AFX thru the computer to a database.

#28 huhn_m

huhn_m

    Casio Maniac

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1957 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany / Dresden
  • Interests:Assembler(!!!)
    Computers and Programming
    Operating Systems
    Programmable Calculators
    Maths and everything arround it

  • Calculators:
    FX-82SX / AFX 2.0+ (ROM 1.03) / FX 1.0+ (ROM 1.03)

Posted 27 April 2003 - 08:14 AM

thats useless! Who would use a "slow" AFX to surf in the
internet if has has a computer tured on that is also connected!
Noone would need this (as said before) but, in theory it IS possible
to connect the AFX to a modem and dial with it. (What happens after I can not say. The smallest packet mannager I found had 120 KB :-) )

#29 Guest_Bytefish Productions_*

Guest_Bytefish Productions_*
  • Guests

Posted 27 April 2003 - 08:55 AM

I wouldnt say it's useless huhn_m.
You are lying in your bed, to lazy to sit at the computer and your afx is connected to your computer.
You can surf the internet with your afx and maybe use an instant messenger through it. (it wouldnt be to hard to write a program that interacts between the two).
Maybe you say it's useless, but my computer is running almost 24h a day and i wouldnt declare it as useless.
My point of view. cya.

#30 Casto Productions

Casto Productions

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 152 posts
  • Location:IL, USA

  • Calculators:
    TI-83, TI-86, CFX-9850, AFX2.0

Posted 27 April 2003 - 11:37 PM

To me the only real advantage to the process I described would be to bypass the downloading of the file to PC and then uploading to the calc, but also it might be nice to be able to direct which drive the file is uploaded to in real time. With a <{GNULINUX}>-like system we could also use it as a mail service that would be completely devoid of spam (although limited to those on this forum as they would be the only ones able to get access).

I don't know if I'm explaining myself correctly or if I'm the only one that would get a kick out of a system like this :lol:

#31 Bj2c

Bj2c

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 79 posts

Posted 29 April 2003 - 12:12 AM

i try to open the topic in the graph100 forum but then
"""
Le sujet ou message que vous recherchez n'existe pas
"""
so i think they can`t connect to afx , or just didn`t care

then i try to download the G100Lan1.1

and

Ce fichier n'existe pas




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users