Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

[Linux] Make All Readme's Use The Same Icon


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 flyingfisch

flyingfisch

    Casio Maniac

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1891 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:OH,USA
  • Interests:Aviation, Skiing, Programming, Mountain Biking.

  • Calculators:
    fx-9860GII
    fx-CG10 PRIZM

Posted 08 July 2012 - 07:54 PM

I had an idea, and i was wondering how i could o it.

I want to make all files named readme, README, README.txt, and readme.txt have a special icon. Is it possible to do this?

#2 MicroPro

MicroPro

    Casio Overlord

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iran

  • Calculators:
    Casio ClassPad 300

Posted 08 July 2012 - 08:13 PM

In what file explorer? Dolphin? Nautilus?

I don't know much about their configuration, so I think I'd go for modifying their source codes. :crazy:

#3 flyingfisch

flyingfisch

    Casio Maniac

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1891 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:OH,USA
  • Interests:Aviation, Skiing, Programming, Mountain Biking.

  • Calculators:
    fx-9860GII
    fx-CG10 PRIZM

Posted 08 July 2012 - 08:31 PM

In what file explorer? Dolphin? Nautilus?

I don't know much about their configuration, so I think I'd go for modifying their source codes. :crazy:


I was thinking i could do it with a custom icon set. I know you can change/install icons with the usr/share/icons dir...

#4 Forty-Two

Forty-Two

    Casio Overlord

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 528 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Well, The sign says "You are here"...

  • Calculators:
    Casio fx-CG10 Prizm
    Casio fx-9860GII
    TI-84+ SE

Posted 08 July 2012 - 09:37 PM

I was thinking i could do it with a custom icon set. I know you can change/install icons with the usr/share/icons dir...


There are different ways to do this based on your FM. Naming a specific one could really help us.

Btw, why is this in community lounge?

#5 flyingfisch

flyingfisch

    Casio Maniac

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1891 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:OH,USA
  • Interests:Aviation, Skiing, Programming, Mountain Biking.

  • Calculators:
    fx-9860GII
    fx-CG10 PRIZM

Posted 08 July 2012 - 11:34 PM

There are different ways to do this based on your FM. Naming a specific one could really help us.

Btw, why is this in community lounge?


Where should i put this post?

How do font packs work? they seem to be universal, working in all FMs. But i use thunar and pcmanfm mainly.

I just installed faenza by extracting to the icon directory. cant you do that with all icons?

#6 MicroPro

MicroPro

    Casio Overlord

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iran

  • Calculators:
    Casio ClassPad 300

Posted 10 July 2012 - 02:35 PM

I know you can change icons normally; but can you also do it according to file name in those FMs? Usually they look at the file extension or file header (#!/usr/local/bin/python) to set the icon.

Do they have options to set the icon according to some regular expressions? (Thinking they don't have such ability is the reason I directly go for modifying the source code).

#7 flyingfisch

flyingfisch

    Casio Maniac

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1891 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:OH,USA
  • Interests:Aviation, Skiing, Programming, Mountain Biking.

  • Calculators:
    fx-9860GII
    fx-CG10 PRIZM

Posted 10 July 2012 - 03:00 PM

I know you can change icons normally; but can you also do it according to file name in those FMs? Usually they look at the file extension or file header (#!/usr/local/bin/python) to set the icon.

Do they have options to set the icon according to some regular expressions? (Thinking they don't have such ability is the reason I directly go for modifying the source code).


Ah, ok, I'll take a look at thunar's documentation.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users