Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

I've Made A Pac-man Game


  • Please log in to reply
43 replies to this topic

#1 tutti

tutti

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 65 posts

  • Calculators:
    FX-9860G SD

Posted 07 April 2006 - 11:35 PM

You've probably seen this many times before. You move a small character (an O in this case) around to collect small pellets of food (-) while avoiding ghosts (x). I'm letting the ghosts move through walls, to add a little challenge.

Controls:
- Directional buttons: Move the main character
- EXE: Pause the game

Storage:
This game uses Matrix A and a few variables.

Other:
You get one point for every pellet you pick up, and five for the super pellets (theta symbol). If you eat a super pellet, you'll be invincible for a short while. Eating another will add to that time. If you get hit by a ghost when not in super mode, you lose the game. If you walk into an edge, Pac-man will reappear on the other side. When you've collected every pellet and super pellet on the stage, you win and go to the next level. After level 10, the levels simply loop.

---

Also included is a level editor. You can not edit the built-in levels, but you can edit and save up to three of your own.

Controls:
- Directional buttons: Select where to place an object
- 1: Place a pellet
- 2: Place a wall
- 3: Place the main character
- 5: Place a super pellet
- EXE: Go into ghost placing mode

In ghost placing mode, you don't get to set any other objects. You simply press EXE to place the first ghost, and the select where to place the second ghost and press EXE again. After the ghosts have been placed, the level is saved. When saving, all unused spaces will be turned into regular pellets. Then, the required score is added up and saved.

Storage:
The level editor uses Matrices B to E, and Lists 1 to 4 in File 5.

Other: To play your own levels, go into edit mode in the PACMAN program, and change the start level to 0. It isn't easy to miss. Keep in mind that if you select NEW, the file you select is erased immediately.

---

Link: http://h1.ripway.com/tutti/PACMAN.CAT

#2 randomdood

randomdood

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

  • Calculators:
    FX-9680G Au

Posted 08 April 2006 - 01:22 AM

i have too many important progs that use matrix b and a

#3 2072

2072

    Casio over god

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1564 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewherebourg
  • Interests:Alternative states of consciousness, programming, making things work the best they possibly can.

  • Calculators:
    AFX2 ROM 1.02, CFX-9940GT+, FX-180P-Plus

Posted 08 April 2006 - 04:45 AM

You should post your game in the File Sharing system :)

#4 tutti

tutti

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 65 posts

  • Calculators:
    FX-9860G SD

Posted 08 April 2006 - 10:26 AM

Okay, added to the file sharing :)

#5 huhn_m

huhn_m

    Casio Maniac

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1957 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany / Dresden
  • Interests:Assembler(!!!)
    Computers and Programming
    Operating Systems
    Programmable Calculators
    Maths and everything arround it

  • Calculators:
    FX-82SX / AFX 2.0+ (ROM 1.03) / FX 1.0+ (ROM 1.03)

Posted 09 April 2006 - 09:34 AM

thanks! We always appreciate addition to the Filesharing!

This has also great benefits for you since you can see how often the file has been downloaded and users can even comment on your programs and rate it!

#6 alias4399

alias4399

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 180 posts
  • Location:Impossible to say.. Its not like this is a constant!

  • Calculators:
    CFX 9850GB Plus
    FX 9860G

Posted 09 April 2006 - 10:40 AM

Cool! Nice! I made a pacman game once, but this tops it by far!

On a technical note, is the movement code for the ghosts all random?
Thanks for adding it to the filesharing!

:)

#7 tutti

tutti

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 65 posts

  • Calculators:
    FX-9860G SD

Posted 09 April 2006 - 02:04 PM

Yes, it's random. Moving towards Pac-Man would require calculating what movement would bring them closest to Pac-Man, and that'd slow the game down considerably. Plus the fact that both Pac-Man and ghosts have the same speed, so you'd have to escape through one of the sides to avoid them... and if there were walls, they'd simply trap you.

And, by the way, I forgot two things:
- If you walk into an edge, Pac-Man will reappear on the other edge
- If you press EXE while playing, the game will pause.

I'll edit them into the post and filesharing.

#8 alias4399

alias4399

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 180 posts
  • Location:Impossible to say.. Its not like this is a constant!

  • Calculators:
    CFX 9850GB Plus
    FX 9860G

Posted 11 April 2006 - 01:33 PM

Yes, true... I made my pacman like that. Except the ghosts dont move through walls, but they do trap you.

#9 tutti

tutti

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 65 posts

  • Calculators:
    FX-9860G SD

Posted 11 April 2006 - 11:24 PM

Sounds good :)

I removed the wallcheck for the ghosts to see if the game could be run a little faster, and since it had to check twice, it did make a slight difference, so I didn't put the wall check back in.

#10 alias4399

alias4399

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 180 posts
  • Location:Impossible to say.. Its not like this is a constant!

  • Calculators:
    CFX 9850GB Plus
    FX 9860G

Posted 12 April 2006 - 10:47 AM

Hehe , maybe ill send it to you :)

Oh btw, nice timing for release! Ive got a mario game coming along VERY soon too! 2 different genres, 1 platform :D

#11 tutti

tutti

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 65 posts

  • Calculators:
    FX-9860G SD

Posted 12 April 2006 - 07:15 PM

Uh... I'm looking at the file sharing system right now... how do I view comments or ratings?

#12 2072

2072

    Casio over god

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1564 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewherebourg
  • Interests:Alternative states of consciousness, programming, making things work the best they possibly can.

  • Calculators:
    AFX2 ROM 1.02, CFX-9940GT+, FX-180P-Plus

Posted 12 April 2006 - 11:13 PM

ouch... it means I've still some work to do....

Beneath each decsription, there are 2 links in green:
- [Write a comment] [Rate this file]
or
- # of comments and Rating in #/10

you just have to clik on these links to open the comment panel.

#13 tutti

tutti

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 65 posts

  • Calculators:
    FX-9860G SD

Posted 13 April 2006 - 12:51 AM

I can't see any comments or ratings... I'm guessing that means there aren't any v_v

#14 2072

2072

    Casio over god

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1564 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewherebourg
  • Interests:Alternative states of consciousness, programming, making things work the best they possibly can.

  • Calculators:
    AFX2 ROM 1.02, CFX-9940GT+, FX-180P-Plus

Posted 13 April 2006 - 03:35 AM

yep there are not a lot of files that have been rated or commented :(, there are some in this category: http://www.casiocalc...m.games#totitle

#15 tutti

tutti

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 65 posts

  • Calculators:
    FX-9860G SD

Posted 13 April 2006 - 10:42 PM

It's not a big problem for me... although you should make it so more recent files appear higher up, possibly with a little read/unread mark like on the forums... because the way it is now makes it difficult for people to see new things, if they don't look at the list of four objects on top.

#16 alias4399

alias4399

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 180 posts
  • Location:Impossible to say.. Its not like this is a constant!

  • Calculators:
    CFX 9850GB Plus
    FX 9860G

Posted 14 April 2006 - 02:17 AM

I agree with tutti. the new pacman game was somewhere in the middle, making it quite difficult to find. Just a minor note, thanks!

#17 2072

2072

    Casio over god

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1564 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewherebourg
  • Interests:Alternative states of consciousness, programming, making things work the best they possibly can.

  • Calculators:
    AFX2 ROM 1.02, CFX-9940GT+, FX-180P-Plus

Posted 15 April 2006 - 08:22 AM

Yes good point, In fact the files are sort by name currently, it should be very easy to change.
For the read/unread mark it's difficult because the website would have to remember each visitor :/

#18 tutti

tutti

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 65 posts

  • Calculators:
    FX-9860G SD

Posted 15 April 2006 - 11:56 AM

I just noticed the 'NEW!!!' mark, so I think it'll be fine >_>

#19 2072

2072

    Casio over god

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1564 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewherebourg
  • Interests:Alternative states of consciousness, programming, making things work the best they possibly can.

  • Calculators:
    AFX2 ROM 1.02, CFX-9940GT+, FX-180P-Plus

Posted 15 April 2006 - 12:05 PM

no the NEW mark is there since a looonnnngggg time

But since 5 minutes you can now sort by Name, Date or number of clicks (the default is by date) :)

#20 tutti

tutti

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 65 posts

  • Calculators:
    FX-9860G SD

Posted 15 April 2006 - 04:02 PM

I know it's been there, but I hadn't noticed it.

But the sorting's good - me love it long time ^_^

#21 alias4399

alias4399

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 180 posts
  • Location:Impossible to say.. Its not like this is a constant!

  • Calculators:
    CFX 9850GB Plus
    FX 9860G

Posted 16 April 2006 - 03:52 AM

Yay thanks very much!

#22 alias4399

alias4399

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 180 posts
  • Location:Impossible to say.. Its not like this is a constant!

  • Calculators:
    CFX 9850GB Plus
    FX 9860G

Posted 17 April 2006 - 06:42 AM

I would have added my maryo game ages ago if it hadn't been for the task of creating levels :( oh well , should be coming soon ...

#23 tutti

tutti

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 65 posts

  • Calculators:
    FX-9860G SD

Posted 17 April 2006 - 12:58 PM

Oh, by the way, that reminds me... is there a way I can improve the game? Like, add more levels or change a function or something... anything?

#24 alias4399

alias4399

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 180 posts
  • Location:Impossible to say.. Its not like this is a constant!

  • Calculators:
    CFX 9850GB Plus
    FX 9860G

Posted 18 April 2006 - 08:42 AM

Whenever i feel like i want to improve my games, i usually scan every bit of code, looking for something to optimize. I have managed to get some games running quite fast, with cool tips and tricks to maximise speed.

#25 tutti

tutti

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 65 posts

  • Calculators:
    FX-9860G SD

Posted 18 April 2006 - 02:45 PM

I don't think speed is an issue... the game runs about as fast as any game of this kind can run on a calculator of this type. The only thing I think I could do to improve speed is remove the progress bar in the editor, that measures how much of the level has been saved - and that's a feature I'd rather keep.

I was thinking more about adding/removing features, making more levels, etc... and I might create a way for the players to load a level from the program itself, instead of having to edit it.

#26 alias4399

alias4399

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 180 posts
  • Location:Impossible to say.. Its not like this is a constant!

  • Calculators:
    CFX 9850GB Plus
    FX 9860G

Posted 20 April 2006 - 08:34 AM

Ok, sounds good ;)

Also, I have been stuck with a bug on my maryo game for *3 days* now and have finally solved it ;). It was an issue with the trailing brackets, just so if anyone else has the same issue.
It only applies if the program uses Matrix or List commands.
If you are assigning a value to a matrix/list, for eg: 2->Mat X[2,3] you can remove the trailing brackets as such: 2->Mat X[2,3 and everything will run fine. However, if you are reading the value from a matrix/list, for eg: Mat X[2,3]->B then you Cannot remove the trailing brackets. The program will run without errors, but it will create a bug that is very difficult to find (giving wrong values, etc. I do not know why this happens). Hope this helps!

Now that Maryo is bug - free (as far as the eye can see), we shall see ! ..

#27 tutti

tutti

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 65 posts

  • Calculators:
    FX-9860G SD

Posted 20 April 2006 - 12:46 PM

I see... I always close my brackets, it seems more correct that way. >_>

*thinks of more games to make*

#28 alias4399

alias4399

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 180 posts
  • Location:Impossible to say.. Its not like this is a constant!

  • Calculators:
    CFX 9850GB Plus
    FX 9860G

Posted 21 April 2006 - 06:43 AM

Hey tutti, if you like, im sure theres plenty of original game ideas out there (Skyroads for AFX, etc), though you can always pick an idea thats already been done (Pacman, Maryo) even if your not the first to think of the idea, you can try to improve your version as much as you can! (Like you did with Pacman, Nice work!!)

^ Ive pretty much stated the obvious, though I hope it helps! ^

Want help with anything ? Maybe I can help!

EDIT: Oh, and like you said, by always closing brackets, you can avoid such errors as above :)

#29 Guest_noob#63_*

Guest_noob#63_*
  • Guests

Posted 15 May 2006 - 12:38 AM

can you post it on this forum ready for casio fx 9750 g plus.plaese!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
becouse ive been trying to type one in from a website it keeps saying dim error.its driving me mad. :banghead: :banghead: :banghead: :banghead: :banghead: :banghead:

#30 alias4399

alias4399

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 180 posts
  • Location:Impossible to say.. Its not like this is a constant!

  • Calculators:
    CFX 9850GB Plus
    FX 9860G

Posted 15 May 2006 - 09:14 AM

Dim error can mean that the matrix or list the program is trying to access does not exist. Press the right or left arrow when it says Dim error (-> or <-) and then examine the bit of code it reaches. Post the line before, that line, and the line after and maybe we will be able to help. In general, if it has a list or matrix reference there, go into MAT or LIST mode and define a new matrix/list.

#31 Guest_noob#63_*

Guest_noob#63_*
  • Guests

Posted 15 May 2006 - 08:26 PM

where is ( range ) on my casio fx 9750g plus. :!: :!:

#32 Andy.Davies

Andy.Davies

    Forum Ghost

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1547 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dorset, England
  • Interests:Age: 18
    Studying: MEng in cybernetics at Reading uni
    Interests: Progaming (VB, VB.Net, C#, Casio Basic)
    Computers UBBD (Using, Building, Breaking &amp; Destroying)
    Gaming (FPS, RTS, RPG)
    Electronics
    Rock Music (Preferably Loud)
    Riley's (Pool &amp; Snooker Bar)
    Driving (Preferably fast)
    Aikedo (Martial Art)

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX 2.0 ROM 1.01, FX9750G

Posted 15 May 2006 - 10:39 PM

its not range on the CFX 9750G, its called ViewWindow

#33 Guest_noob#63_*

Guest_noob#63_*
  • Guests

Posted 15 May 2006 - 10:47 PM

ok then where is the mcl on my calculator i cant find it any where ether :huh:

#34 huhn_m

huhn_m

    Casio Maniac

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1957 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany / Dresden
  • Interests:Assembler(!!!)
    Computers and Programming
    Operating Systems
    Programmable Calculators
    Maths and everything arround it

  • Calculators:
    FX-82SX / AFX 2.0+ (ROM 1.03) / FX 1.0+ (ROM 1.03)

Posted 16 May 2006 - 07:01 AM

What do you mean by mcl?

#35 Andy.Davies

Andy.Davies

    Forum Ghost

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1547 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dorset, England
  • Interests:Age: 18
    Studying: MEng in cybernetics at Reading uni
    Interests: Progaming (VB, VB.Net, C#, Casio Basic)
    Computers UBBD (Using, Building, Breaking &amp; Destroying)
    Gaming (FPS, RTS, RPG)
    Electronics
    Rock Music (Preferably Loud)
    Riley's (Pool &amp; Snooker Bar)
    Driving (Preferably fast)
    Aikedo (Martial Art)

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX 2.0 ROM 1.01, FX9750G

Posted 16 May 2006 - 09:09 AM

old calc coommand, not on any new ones i know of (9750 upwards)

replace with:

0->A:Z

#36 alias4399

alias4399

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 180 posts
  • Location:Impossible to say.. Its not like this is a constant!

  • Calculators:
    CFX 9850GB Plus
    FX 9860G

Posted 16 May 2006 - 09:13 AM

There is no Mcl, it has been removed. Instead, use this:
0->A~Z
if you have to reset theta and r variables too, then:
0->@ (where @ is theta)
0->r

EDIT: Whoops, this has already *just* been posted ^ above ^

#37 tutti

tutti

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 65 posts

  • Calculators:
    FX-9860G SD

Posted 17 May 2006 - 09:30 AM

I'm not familiar with the 9750, as all I have is a 9850. If it can't use matrices, I could probably change it to use lists, but I think it'd run a bit slower. It should be possible, though. But have you tried typing in this program? If you get a Dim error, then either you typed something wrong, or the program isn't compatible with your calculator.

#38 Andy.Davies

Andy.Davies

    Forum Ghost

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1547 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dorset, England
  • Interests:Age: 18
    Studying: MEng in cybernetics at Reading uni
    Interests: Progaming (VB, VB.Net, C#, Casio Basic)
    Computers UBBD (Using, Building, Breaking &amp; Destroying)
    Gaming (FPS, RTS, RPG)
    Electronics
    Rock Music (Preferably Loud)
    Riley's (Pool &amp; Snooker Bar)
    Driving (Preferably fast)
    Aikedo (Martial Art)

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX 2.0 ROM 1.01, FX9750G

Posted 17 May 2006 - 10:11 AM

it can use matricess, its basicly athe 9850G minus the colour screen :)

#39 tutti

tutti

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 65 posts

  • Calculators:
    FX-9860G SD

Posted 17 May 2006 - 07:33 PM

Then he typed something wrong, the game doesn't use colors...

EDIT: Or, he only typed in the main program and not the rest...

#40 alias4399

alias4399

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 180 posts
  • Location:Impossible to say.. Its not like this is a constant!

  • Calculators:
    CFX 9850GB Plus
    FX 9860G

Posted 18 May 2006 - 09:06 AM

tutti, are you thinking of any new games to make? Im held up with Mario 2 at the moment ...




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users