Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

optimize rpg to make it faster


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 glra2222

glra2222

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts

Posted 29 March 2003 - 11:34 AM

What's the best way for making an rpg as fast as it can?
I'm doing an rpg in text mode, but after i made the background and some interaction the movement became a lot slower.
anyone help?

#2 X-thunder28

X-thunder28

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 192 posts

  • Calculators:
    2 Graph100 (rom 1.02 and rom 1.03 (+) )

Posted 29 March 2003 - 03:04 PM

:hammer: (cool this smiley !!)

Basic or C/ASM ???

i made the background and some interaction the movement became a lot slower.

Redraw the background and perso 1 time per 2, for sample !

#3 CrimsonCasio

CrimsonCasio

    UCF Ambassador

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3579 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Claculators, Stephen King, Video Games, Calculators, Programming, Calculators, Reading, Calculators... hmm, what else... Ah! Calculators!

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0, CFX 9850Ga+, Classpad 300

Posted 29 March 2003 - 04:41 PM

if in Basic store the background as a picture and set that picture as the graph background (be careful, if you have to change the picture first set the background to none).

the biggest thing you can do to increase speed is put everything you use in more than one place into a seperate program, anything such as drawing objects to the screen to creating the entire background should be in a seperate program.

I would advise putting the code that moves your character in a diffrent program (if it is more than a few lines).

example:
Getkey -> G
if G=27
then Prog "LEFT"
EndIf
if G=28
then Prog "UP"
EndIf
....
that way if you have complex movement code you can keep it from bogging up your program and you can also use the direction programs to make cinematic sceans.

always rember that the bigger the program the slower it will run.

hope that helps :greengrin:

#4 glra2222

glra2222

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts

Posted 04 April 2003 - 11:51 PM

Thanx
that helps a lot!

#5 Brazzucko

Brazzucko

    UCF BASIC Programming Champion

  • Super Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 412 posts

  • Calculators:
    FX 1.0, CFX 9850 GB Plus and FX 9750G

Posted 10 April 2003 - 11:18 AM

:( In Basic its not easy to made a fast game....

Principally if you use elaborated graphics?.

#6 rjstephens

rjstephens

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 239 posts
  • Location:Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

  • Calculators:
    CFX9850GB+

Posted 10 April 2003 - 11:46 AM

:( In Basic its not easy to made a fast game....

Principally if you use elaborated graphics?.

tis possible if you try REALLY HARD.

especially considering the 38 program limit

#7 BiTwhise

BiTwhise

    Casio Overgod

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 627 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guildford, Surry, UK
  • Interests:Programming, games, consoles, martial arts

  • Calculators:
    FX9700WE, CFX9970G, AFX2.0, Classpad 300

Posted 10 April 2003 - 11:49 AM

:( In Basic its not easy to made a fast game....

Principally if you use elaborated graphics?.

tis possible if you try REALLY HARD.

It is impossible, no matter how hard you try, to make fast graphics/games in casio basic :)

#8 rjstephens

rjstephens

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 239 posts
  • Location:Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

  • Calculators:
    CFX9850GB+

Posted 10 April 2003 - 11:54 AM

no it isn't. have you seen boom?
have you seen aracer 2 and 3?

OK i admit they are all text based.

my rpg is 21 seconds to run accross screen(graphics mode). that's reasonably fast. (it uses all 38 programs, though)

#9 BiTwhise

BiTwhise

    Casio Overgod

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 627 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guildford, Surry, UK
  • Interests:Programming, games, consoles, martial arts

  • Calculators:
    FX9700WE, CFX9970G, AFX2.0, Classpad 300

Posted 10 April 2003 - 12:22 PM

21 sec..
still quite long..

and, it's not like you can have many objects, interacions, decent AI, or game logic..

face it, it's too slow to make a good graphical game
for me at least, I just find that it's too slow to be any fun

buy an afx/fx1, and go ASM! :D

#10 huhn_m

huhn_m

    Casio Maniac

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1957 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany / Dresden
  • Interests:Assembler(!!!)
    Computers and Programming
    Operating Systems
    Programmable Calculators
    Maths and everything arround it

  • Calculators:
    FX-82SX / AFX 2.0+ (ROM 1.03) / FX 1.0+ (ROM 1.03)

Posted 10 April 2003 - 12:50 PM

What do you mean by 38 program limit??
I've a cfx 9850GB+ and even had more than 40 programs on my calc :blink:

#11 Brazzucko

Brazzucko

    UCF BASIC Programming Champion

  • Super Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 412 posts

  • Calculators:
    FX 1.0, CFX 9850 GB Plus and FX 9750G

Posted 10 April 2003 - 02:46 PM

:blink: Yes only text based programs, because realy graphical games are EXTREMILY slow in the CFX




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users