Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Multiple Outputs


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 cdc120602

cdc120602

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

  • Calculators:
    fx-9750GII

Posted 13 May 2014 - 11:54 PM

I'm (fruitlessly) trying to make a program that will display more than one output. The most current headache is a program that converts rectangular coordinates to polar coordinates. I have the program doing everything except displaying both angle and magnitude. Any help you guys can offer will be greatly appreciated!

[EDIT] I should add that I have an fx-9750GII.

Edited by cdc120602, 13 May 2014 - 11:56 PM.


#2 flyingfisch

flyingfisch

    Casio Maniac

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1891 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:OH,USA
  • Interests:Aviation, Skiing, Programming, Mountain Biking.

  • Calculators:
    fx-9860GII
    fx-CG10 PRIZM

Posted 16 May 2014 - 12:38 PM

Hello cdc120602 and welcome to UCF! You should introduce yourself.

Could you show us your code? ;)

#3 cdc120602

cdc120602

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

  • Calculators:
    fx-9750GII

Posted 18 May 2014 - 02:41 AM

Sure! Thank you for the reply! I'm an Electronics Engineering Technology student and have a few other places I could really use this ability. So far, I have the following:

"X coordinate"?->X
"Y coordinate"?->Y
√(X2+Y2)->R
Tan-1(Y/X)->A
R "Angle" A

Sorry I don't know how to post better representations of the calculator display.
Basically, I'd like to have it show two calculated values (R and A) in one output.

Edited by cdc120602, 18 May 2014 - 02:53 AM.


#4 flyingfisch

flyingfisch

    Casio Maniac

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1891 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:OH,USA
  • Interests:Aviation, Skiing, Programming, Mountain Biking.

  • Calculators:
    fx-9860GII
    fx-CG10 PRIZM

Posted 19 May 2014 - 05:02 PM

Try this:

"X coordinate"?->X
"Y coordinate"?->Y
√(X^2+Y^2)->R
Tan^-1(Y/X)->A
"Magnitude:"
R
"Angle:"
A


#5 cdc120602

cdc120602

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

  • Calculators:
    fx-9750GII

Posted 21 May 2014 - 08:32 PM

Thank you again for the reply. When I try it that way, I get the following:

Magnitude:
Angle:
35 //Assuming that 35 is the correct angle for the values entered.

For some reason, I can only get one calculation in my output.

#6 flyingfisch

flyingfisch

    Casio Maniac

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1891 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:OH,USA
  • Interests:Aviation, Skiing, Programming, Mountain Biking.

  • Calculators:
    fx-9860GII
    fx-CG10 PRIZM

Posted 22 May 2014 - 07:11 PM

Maybe this will work?

"X coordinate"?->X
"Y coordinate"?->Y
√(X^2+Y^2)->R
Tan^-1(Y/X)->A
Locate 1, 1, "Magnitude:"
Locate 1, 2, R
Locate 1, 3, "Angle:"
Locate 1, 4, A


  • cdc120602 likes this

#7 cdc120602

cdc120602

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

  • Calculators:
    fx-9750GII

Posted 24 May 2014 - 02:41 AM

flyingfisch, you are a casio god! That worked!

#8 flyingfisch

flyingfisch

    Casio Maniac

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1891 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:OH,USA
  • Interests:Aviation, Skiing, Programming, Mountain Biking.

  • Calculators:
    fx-9860GII
    fx-CG10 PRIZM

Posted 25 May 2014 - 03:50 PM

flyingfisch, you are a casio god! That worked!


Thanks :)

Explanation of why it worked:

When you do this, only the last number is shown:

1->A
2->B
A
B

The output would be 2

So, we have to manually display the numbers like this:

1->A
2->B
Locate 1,1,A
Locate 1,2,B

Output would be:

1
2

This is because the Locate command displays text anywhere on the screen.

The Locate command takes three arguments:

Locate <x>,<y>,<string>

  • MicroPro likes this




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users