Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Search Engine Registration and Optimisation


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 BiTwhise

BiTwhise

    Casio Overgod

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 627 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guildford, Surry, UK
  • Interests:Programming, games, consoles, martial arts

  • Calculators:
    FX9700WE, CFX9970G, AFX2.0, Classpad 300

Posted 19 April 2003 - 08:39 PM

I went to some common search engines (www.google.com, www.altavista.com, and www.yahoo.com),
and searched different phrases, like:
casio +calculator
casio +calculator +forum
casio +calculators
casio +calculators +forum
"casio calculator forum"
"casio forum"

the only one of these that listed this forum among the top 20 results, was "casio forum" on altavista..
must be hard for ppl to find this place.. which is kinda sad

I'de like to hear from some of the resent members, how they came across this forum, and wether or not is was hard to find ?

@Simon:
here's a nice site on basic search engine registration and optimisation, maybe you find some interest in it :)
wordsinarow
marketing on wordsinarow

#2 CrimsonCasio

CrimsonCasio

    UCF Ambassador

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3579 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Claculators, Stephen King, Video Games, Calculators, Programming, Calculators, Reading, Calculators... hmm, what else... Ah! Calculators!

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0, CFX 9850Ga+, Classpad 300

Posted 19 April 2003 - 08:45 PM

It was quite difficult for me to find this forum, I've been doing casio related stuff for 5 years and I just found the forum in september last year. I found a link to the forum in a webring that I found a link to on another page... dont remember which one. I use Alta Vista alot of the time so I'm supprised I never found it there, but I have never seen it in a search engine.

for my site I used addme.com, its free but some of the stuff it submits it to I have never heard of before.

#3 Netforce

Netforce

    Casio Fan

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 44 posts

  • Calculators:
    Casio CFX-9850GB Plus

Posted 21 April 2003 - 01:33 PM

There are a lot of sites for submitting your site to several searchmachines for free. Do a search on Google and submit your site on several sites.

#4 rjstephens

rjstephens

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 239 posts
  • Location:Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

  • Calculators:
    CFX9850GB+

Posted 21 April 2003 - 01:40 PM

here's how i found the forum:
this was a long time ago, back when i was in year 8. the webring and some of the sites seem to have disapeered now.

1. searched yahoo for "Casio Games", found http://casiogames.cjb.net/
2. went to some of the links. found cpa.

at this stage, however, i was not really interested in a casio forum.

2 months later:

3. went to cpa, went to links.
4. went through all the links. found a very nice looking one - i can't remember the url.
5. went to it. scrolled down the menu and saw "Casio Forum". i had been haveing problems with one of my creations, so i went to it and got here. and bla bla bla, went through 4 different forum programs since then.

#5 Bob Vila

Bob Vila

    Casio Overlord

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 768 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

  • Calculators:
    FX 1.0+ : CFX-9850 GB Plus : TI-81

Posted 24 April 2003 - 01:55 AM

i found it when i went to cpa and it was on the little menu bar thing on the left side. until a few weeks ago i still thought is was apart of cpa :lol:

#6 Guest_Bytefish Productions_*

Guest_Bytefish Productions_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 April 2003 - 08:55 AM

there is a link to us on many casio sites... so it shouldnt be so hard to find us. :) :hammer:

#7 Brazzucko

Brazzucko

    UCF BASIC Programming Champion

  • Super Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 412 posts

  • Calculators:
    FX 1.0, CFX 9850 GB Plus and FX 9750G

Posted 25 April 2003 - 02:00 PM

:blink: It?s easy to find Casio forums but the UCF, it?s not so easy like that?.

#8 Atomic

Atomic

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts

Posted 27 April 2003 - 04:46 AM

i came to the ucf from a link from CPA.

#9 Pixter

Pixter

    Casio Fan

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Interests:casio, visual basic, lego mindstorms and formula 1.

  • Calculators:
    cfx9850gb plus

Posted 28 April 2003 - 12:33 PM

I came here throug a link at casiocorner

#10 BiTwhise

BiTwhise

    Casio Overgod

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 627 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guildford, Surry, UK
  • Interests:Programming, games, consoles, martial arts

  • Calculators:
    FX9700WE, CFX9970G, AFX2.0, Classpad 300

Posted 29 April 2003 - 06:03 PM

see, noone seems to come here directly..
There's allways an extra link or two.. ;)

I think the site should be properly registered with some search engines..

I guess most of you spend more time here, than at whatever page you found this link(?), so it's seems a bit odd that this page should rely on those others to redirect ppl here...

#11 Killer83Z

Killer83Z

    Casio CEO

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 427 posts
  • Location:I'm near to the place where I study
  • Interests:Guitar, Piano, Music, UCN<br />

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0, CFX-9850G, fx-7000G, fx-7500G, TI-83, HP100lx

Posted 29 April 2003 - 09:27 PM

Well, go on and do it :greengrin:

#12 2072

2072

    Casio over god

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1550 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewherebourg
  • Interests:Cinema, Programming, Music and a lot of thing...

  • Calculators:
    AFX2 ROM 1.02, CFX-9940GT+, FX-180P-Plus

Posted 30 April 2003 - 03:14 AM

ya but for that the homepage has to be finished before because search engines like google don't look more than 3 link levels deep (for non paid customers of course).


It lakes some meta tags for search engines to be happy, Simon should add an empty robots.txt file at the root of casiocalc.org that would help too.

Since I put these meta tags on my web pages google and others seems to be very happy:

<meta name="robots" content="all">
<meta name="Language" content="fr,en">
<meta name="Rating" content="General">
<meta name="distribution" content="Global">
<meta name="Author" content="John Wellesz (2072)">
<meta name="Copyright" content="?2001-2003 John Wellesz">
<meta name="Revisit-after" content="30 days">

Of course it is recommended to add the "description" and "keywords" meta for some search engines.

#13 Atomic

Atomic

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts

Posted 30 April 2003 - 10:35 AM

if they probed to 4 or 5, it would be perfect, because then it would see all the posts. you need minimum 3 clicks to get to 1 post, but there are only 3 posts that can be accessed that way (the one that has been most recently posted). If it went to 4 it would get all the posts on the first page, and if it went to 5 it would get all the posts on the first 3 or so pages.

oh well. maybe if someone fixed the hompage so you just went straight to the forum.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users