Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

New Game Add-ins Available!


  • Please log in to reply
52 replies to this topic

#1 SoftCalc

SoftCalc

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR USA

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300 , AFX 2.0, HP-48/49/50, TI-89/92/Voyager, HP Expander, etc...

Posted 21 August 2004 - 05:32 AM

There are four new games available as add-ins on http://www.Classpad.org/.You can play checkers against the ClassPad. It as a very good AI engine! You can also play against a second person or connect two ClassPads together. :D

#2 Overlord

Overlord

    Casio Technician

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 355 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brussels - Belgium
  • Interests:Math Researcher

  • Calculators:
    My head - C300 OS 3.00 - G100 Rom 1.02 - G65 - G60 - G25

Posted 21 August 2004 - 04:53 PM

There is a graphical bug with Solitaire, when you open a menu and close it, it cleares some cards inscriptions :(

In Chess, there is a problem when there is a pat game (= a player is NOT in chess, but can't move without going chessed, it's sort tie game) (don't know the english words :P) : the games doesn't stop with the pat mention :)

for checkers i think it would be a good idea if you can set the ai level ((and so indirectly how long it keeps thinking) :rolleyes:

#3 Daruosh

Daruosh

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 285 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tehran - Iran
  • Interests:Computer Programming, Electronics, Image Processing, Neural Networks, AI, System Development, Calc, Guitar, Music,

  • Calculators:
    CP 300 OS 3.03, Algebra FX 2.0 Plus ROM 1.05, CG-20

Posted 21 August 2004 - 06:47 PM

It would be nice if player can play Chess with ClassPad.

#4 SoftCalc

SoftCalc

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR USA

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300 , AFX 2.0, HP-48/49/50, TI-89/92/Voyager, HP Expander, etc...

Posted 21 August 2004 - 07:24 PM

Thanks for the bug reports. Greg Williams wrote these games. I'll let him know about the postings so he can check this forum and do some bugfixes.

As far as AI for chess, yes, that would be very nice. I think most chess engines are too big for the ClassPad though. :( It would have to be a simplified AI engine.

#5 Daruosh

Daruosh

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 285 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tehran - Iran
  • Interests:Computer Programming, Electronics, Image Processing, Neural Networks, AI, System Development, Calc, Guitar, Music,

  • Calculators:
    CP 300 OS 3.03, Algebra FX 2.0 Plus ROM 1.05, CG-20

Posted 21 August 2004 - 07:31 PM

Some year ago I had written a Chess game that works very well, I think I can convert it to ClassPad platform. On PC it's only 3.1MB, On CP I think it would be smaller (cuz of poor graphics)

#6 Overlord

Overlord

    Casio Technician

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 355 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brussels - Belgium
  • Interests:Math Researcher

  • Calculators:
    My head - C300 OS 3.00 - G100 Rom 1.02 - G65 - G60 - G25

Posted 21 August 2004 - 09:13 PM

Addendum : in solitaire, sometimes when you moves a KING on a empty stack, graphicaly, it's drawing the king not directly on the empty stack but like "on a invisible card" :

if you must have
K
Q
J

you have :
(a blank)
K
Q
J

i don't know when you have this invisible card bug (but there is no gaming problem so it's not really inconvenient)

a suggestion for solitaire :
have the red figures (hearts, diamonds) drawed in "unfilled symbols" so that we can easily differentiate black and red figures.

(good work lool ;-)

#7 2072

2072

    Casio over god

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1554 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewherebourg
  • Interests:Cinema, Programming, Music and a lot of thing...

  • Calculators:
    AFX2 ROM 1.02, CFX-9940GT+, FX-180P-Plus

Posted 22 August 2004 - 04:52 PM

That would be good if those games were added to the File Sharing.

#8 betoe

betoe

    UCF Spanish Translator

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 846 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guadalajara/Mazatlan, Mexico.
  • Interests:Electronics, SW development, automotive. Swim->bike->run

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0 (R.I.P.), Classpad 300

Posted 22 August 2004 - 07:22 PM

I think no one can have any saltire software on user sites.

#9 CrimsonCasio

CrimsonCasio

    UCF Ambassador

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3579 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Claculators, Stephen King, Video Games, Calculators, Programming, Calculators, Reading, Calculators... hmm, what else... Ah! Calculators!

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0, CFX 9850Ga+, Classpad 300

Posted 22 August 2004 - 07:40 PM

sure you can :)
though a link would probably be better than a file.

#10 SoftCalc

SoftCalc

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR USA

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300 , AFX 2.0, HP-48/49/50, TI-89/92/Voyager, HP Expander, etc...

Posted 23 August 2004 - 06:18 AM

sure you can :)
though a link would probably be better than a file.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


In general, you can only host someone's copyrighted software on your website if you have the owner's permission. If the software has a license with it, the license might give you permission to distribute the software, along with some conditions. In contrast, you can almost ALWAYS provide a link to their software or to their main download page.

As far as any software I've written and put on ClassPad.org, I include a license that lets anyone host the download on their website if they want, as long as they also provide a link back to ClassPad.org. Since the download URLs should never change, I'd also suggest linking directly to the download on ClassPad.org instead of hosting the download directly. That way you don't have to keep updating your download everytime the software is updated.

In general, when it comes to ClassPad software, people are not making any money doing it. They want their software shared and are happy to have it on other websites.

#11 SoftCalc

SoftCalc

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR USA

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300 , AFX 2.0, HP-48/49/50, TI-89/92/Voyager, HP Expander, etc...

Posted 23 August 2004 - 06:20 AM

BTW, There is yet another new game add-in by Greg Williams... :D

SnakeSnack

#12 CrimsonCasio

CrimsonCasio

    UCF Ambassador

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3579 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Claculators, Stephen King, Video Games, Calculators, Programming, Calculators, Reading, Calculators... hmm, what else... Ah! Calculators!

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0, CFX 9850Ga+, Classpad 300

Posted 23 August 2004 - 06:45 AM

ah, at last a classic nibbles game :)

give the programmer our thanks ;)

#13 Overlord

Overlord

    Casio Technician

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 355 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brussels - Belgium
  • Interests:Math Researcher

  • Calculators:
    My head - C300 OS 3.00 - G100 Rom 1.02 - G65 - G60 - G25

Posted 23 August 2004 - 02:29 PM

(quoted from casiocalto.free.fr/forum)

with snake, during the game, when you click on menu, you have a FATAL ERROR with :

TLB ERROR
TARGET=0000003C
PC=D008FA3E

#14 SoftCalc

SoftCalc

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR USA

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300 , AFX 2.0, HP-48/49/50, TI-89/92/Voyager, HP Expander, etc...

Posted 23 August 2004 - 06:06 PM

give the programmer our thanks ;)

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Greg Williams works for Casio in their Porland Oregon office. He is also a member of the ClassPad team. :D

#15 betoe

betoe

    UCF Spanish Translator

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 846 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guadalajara/Mazatlan, Mexico.
  • Interests:Electronics, SW development, automotive. Swim->bike->run

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0 (R.I.P.), Classpad 300

Posted 23 August 2004 - 08:50 PM

I prefer to link to classpad for all the CP stuff. Great games, i will refresh my site's classpad section about the add-ins.

#16 SoftCalc

SoftCalc

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR USA

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300 , AFX 2.0, HP-48/49/50, TI-89/92/Voyager, HP Expander, etc...

Posted 23 August 2004 - 10:10 PM

I prefer to link to classpad for all the CP stuff. Great games, i will refresh my site's classpad section about the add-ins.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


If anyone wants to have an add-in from classpad.org on their site it is fine. The only requirement is you list the website www.classpad.org along with the add-in download.

We've been careful not to change the links for each download, so you can have a direct link to the add-in download and it shouldn't change.

#17 2072

2072

    Casio over god

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1554 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewherebourg
  • Interests:Cinema, Programming, Music and a lot of thing...

  • Calculators:
    AFX2 ROM 1.02, CFX-9940GT+, FX-180P-Plus

Posted 24 August 2004 - 12:18 AM

OK, I've linked all the add-ins in the File Sharing and created according categories.

#18 SoftCalc

SoftCalc

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR USA

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300 , AFX 2.0, HP-48/49/50, TI-89/92/Voyager, HP Expander, etc...

Posted 24 August 2004 - 01:24 AM

OK, I've linked all the add-ins in the File Sharing and created according categories.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Nice! A few things I noticed..
  • CHIP8 is listed under Utilities. I think it fits better under Games.
  • The Spreadsheet add-in states "The download link will bring you to a download page on classpad.org with screen shots and more details." I think you mean classpad.net. (An easy mistake to make :P )


#19 2072

2072

    Casio over god

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1554 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewherebourg
  • Interests:Cinema, Programming, Music and a lot of thing...

  • Calculators:
    AFX2 ROM 1.02, CFX-9940GT+, FX-180P-Plus

Posted 24 August 2004 - 02:27 PM

I've fixed those mistakes :)

#20 PJay

PJay

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 260 posts
  • Gender:Male

  • Calculators:
    Casio fx-991ES Plus

Posted 24 August 2004 - 02:44 PM

I like "Solitaire". I played it for over 15 times, But I can't win it ! :( :angry:

#21 CrimsonCasio

CrimsonCasio

    UCF Ambassador

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3579 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Claculators, Stephen King, Video Games, Calculators, Programming, Calculators, Reading, Calculators... hmm, what else... Ah! Calculators!

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0, CFX 9850Ga+, Classpad 300

Posted 24 August 2004 - 08:16 PM

lol, thats your own fault ;)

#22 PJay

PJay

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 260 posts
  • Gender:Male

  • Calculators:
    Casio fx-991ES Plus

Posted 25 August 2004 - 01:02 PM

lol, thats your own fault ;)

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

NO ! :angry:
I played it on windows without problem ! :(
VERY EASY !

#23 SoftCalc

SoftCalc

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR USA

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300 , AFX 2.0, HP-48/49/50, TI-89/92/Voyager, HP Expander, etc...

Posted 25 August 2004 - 07:41 PM

I've fixed those mistakes :)

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

It looks like CHIP8 has been dropped from the list :(

#24 CrimsonCasio

CrimsonCasio

    UCF Ambassador

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3579 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Claculators, Stephen King, Video Games, Calculators, Programming, Calculators, Reading, Calculators... hmm, what else... Ah! Calculators!

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0, CFX 9850Ga+, Classpad 300

Posted 25 August 2004 - 08:28 PM

its there, check again.

#25 SoftCalc

SoftCalc

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR USA

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300 , AFX 2.0, HP-48/49/50, TI-89/92/Voyager, HP Expander, etc...

Posted 25 August 2004 - 09:05 PM

its there, check again.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Freaky. :blink: I checked, and it wasn't there in my browser. :blink:

There must be some page caching problem with the file sharing pages. When I looked at the main ClassPad add-ins download page it listed 5 games and 5 utilities. When I looked at the games page, it only showed 5 (CHip8 missing).

I did a refresh on every one of these pages but it still didn't get the update. I have to clear my cache for it to finally pull in the new pages.

I'm not sure what the problem is. Having to clear my cache all the time is more than just an annoyance. Not only do I not want to have to do this because I loose my cache, but I never really know when something new has been added so I'll never know when I need to clear my cache.

Have you seen this problem before on casiocalc.org? Could it have something to do with the ActiveX code in these pages?

#26 Daruosh

Daruosh

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 285 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tehran - Iran
  • Interests:Computer Programming, Electronics, Image Processing, Neural Networks, AI, System Development, Calc, Guitar, Music,

  • Calculators:
    CP 300 OS 3.03, Algebra FX 2.0 Plus ROM 1.05, CG-20

Posted 25 August 2004 - 09:09 PM

It may be on the cach of your server. try with another conection or ISP.

#27 CrimsonCasio

CrimsonCasio

    UCF Ambassador

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3579 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Claculators, Stephen King, Video Games, Calculators, Programming, Calculators, Reading, Calculators... hmm, what else... Ah! Calculators!

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0, CFX 9850Ga+, Classpad 300

Posted 25 August 2004 - 09:24 PM

actually, if I recall correctly sometimes the Admin can see changes before the normal members, this may be a part of that effect... somebody else check it.

#28 Daruosh

Daruosh

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 285 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tehran - Iran
  • Interests:Computer Programming, Electronics, Image Processing, Neural Networks, AI, System Development, Calc, Guitar, Music,

  • Calculators:
    CP 300 OS 3.03, Algebra FX 2.0 Plus ROM 1.05, CG-20

Posted 25 August 2004 - 11:44 PM

I checked and it was correct

#29 2072

2072

    Casio over god

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1554 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewherebourg
  • Interests:Cinema, Programming, Music and a lot of thing...

  • Calculators:
    AFX2 ROM 1.02, CFX-9940GT+, FX-180P-Plus

Posted 25 August 2004 - 11:45 PM

In fact you would have seen the update by pressing CTRL+F5 instead of F5.

This happened because I didn't use the File Sharing interface to make the changes but the hidden admin panel (I didn't want the changes to appear in the "edited files" part of the news).

So the File Sharing page "modified date" (sent to browser) wasn't updated and your browser thought the page was still valid.

When you press F5, you ask your browser and proxies to check if their cache is valid.
With CTRL+F5 you ask to your browser and proxies to re-download everything from the original server even if their cache appear to be valid.

I've enabled private (proxies cannot cache) page caching on every page of the site except inside the forum.

#30 SoftCalc

SoftCalc

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR USA

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300 , AFX 2.0, HP-48/49/50, TI-89/92/Voyager, HP Expander, etc...

Posted 26 August 2004 - 02:31 AM

Thanks 2072. Thak explains it all.
I didn't know about gthe CTRL-F5 trick. This is good to know. :)

#31 2072

2072

    Casio over god

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1554 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewherebourg
  • Interests:Cinema, Programming, Music and a lot of thing...

  • Calculators:
    AFX2 ROM 1.02, CFX-9940GT+, FX-180P-Plus

Posted 27 August 2004 - 01:14 AM

In Mozilla or Netscape it's SHIFT+RELOAD

#32 omegavirus

omegavirus

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Morelia, M?xico

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300

Posted 30 October 2004 - 06:37 PM

Talking abaut Checkers, Chess, and Solitaire, it had been a lot of time since they were developed and there is not bug fixing in this moments and they need some new things like have the red figures (hearts, diamonds) drawed in "unfilled symbols" so that we can easily differentiate black and red figures
in the solitaire that was mentioned by OVERLORD, that is neccesary.
In the other hand they are very helpfull in that moments that I don't have anything to do for example in the bus going to school.

#33 omegavirus

omegavirus

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Morelia, M?xico

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300

Posted 30 October 2004 - 07:02 PM

I forgot to say that the fatal error in snake snack had not been fixed yet when you press MENU while playing, and this game needs some new things like scenarios, or eat other things not only points in the screen something like rabbits or mice and some score to try to improve it.
Finally this game is very fun because is a classic, it is simple and very funny...

#34 betoe

betoe

    UCF Spanish Translator

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 846 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guadalajara/Mazatlan, Mexico.
  • Interests:Electronics, SW development, automotive. Swim->bike->run

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0 (R.I.P.), Classpad 300

Posted 31 October 2004 - 09:02 PM

Yeah its very difficult distinguish between red & black figures on solitaire, and more with the screen protector :S, anyway i like it :D.

#35 SoftCalc

SoftCalc

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR USA

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300 , AFX 2.0, HP-48/49/50, TI-89/92/Voyager, HP Expander, etc...

Posted 08 November 2004 - 09:03 PM

Yeah its very difficult distinguish between red & black figures on solitaire, and more with the screen protector :S, anyway i like it :D.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Greg Williams has updated these games with bug fixes and improvements. Red is easier to see because it is now an outline with white in the middle. Also the crashing bug for 2-player games connected over the link cable is fixed. You can download the fixed versions on www.classpad.org

#36 omegavirus

omegavirus

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Morelia, M?xico

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300

Posted 08 November 2004 - 11:21 PM

That's a very good new, now it's time to enjoy them and wait for the CP49 add-in by SoftCalc

#37 omegavirus

omegavirus

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Morelia, M?xico

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300

Posted 13 November 2004 - 02:50 AM

I had a problem whit Checkers it says that there is not enought memory to make the move or something like that in a message window :blink: . Does Checkers need a lot of memory or what is hapenning? It happened in the new version. :o

#38 mjgc

mjgc

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300

Posted 28 December 2004 - 06:05 PM

How do i import to ClassPad these games with the extension *.cpa. My software to interface the ClassPad is the ClassPadManager software and that software does not let me put these file, onli *.fls or *.mcs. If anyone know how to do it, please post. Thanks!
M?rio.

#39 qwerty841

qwerty841

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 198 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:vernal

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300,TI 83 PSE,TI Voyage 200,Windows Calculator

Posted 28 December 2004 - 07:28 PM

you have to get the add-in installer. you can get it here.
http://classpad.net/...ddin/index.html

#40 SoftCalc

SoftCalc

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR USA

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300 , AFX 2.0, HP-48/49/50, TI-89/92/Voyager, HP Expander, etc...

Posted 28 December 2004 - 10:30 PM

yeah, this should have been built into the Manager. Who knows, maybe it will be in some future update.

BTW, if you downloaded these games a while back youi might want to get the latest version. The graphics for the cards have inproved and the randomizer for Solitaire has also improved.

A few more cool add-in games have also been added within the last month or so. B)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users