Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

New Classpad Display


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 SoftCalc

SoftCalc

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR USA

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300 , AFX 2.0, HP-48/49/50, TI-89/92/Voyager, HP Expander, etc...

Posted 31 August 2005 - 11:32 PM

Has anyone noticed the new hardware for the ClassPad? The ClassPad now has a high contract display which is amazingly clear.

#2 Lovecasio

Lovecasio

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 242 posts
  • Location:Hochiminh city Vietnam
  • Interests:Organic chemistry.<br />Pharmacy

  • Calculators:
    fx 570 MS, Casio AFX 2.0+, ClassPad 300

Posted 01 September 2005 - 12:51 AM

Hi.
What is the difference between CP300 PLUS and CP300?
High contrast display is hardware? Or you mean the new OS update 2.20 makes it better?
Thanks alot.

#3 DrCoyote

DrCoyote

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cleveland, Ohio USA

  • Calculators:
    CFX-9850GB PLUS, FX-9860G, TI 92+, TI89 Titanium, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CAS, TI 84+ SE, HP 50G, HP 35S, Elektronika MK-90, Elektronika MK-52, Elektronika MK-61, Elektronika B3-21, Elektronika MK-152, Elektronika MK-161, Sharp EL-9900

Posted 01 September 2005 - 02:18 AM

Has anyone noticed the new hardware for the ClassPad? The ClassPad now has a high contract display which is amazingly clear.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Gee, that's great. So, when can I send mine in to Casio to have this decent display installed? It must certainly be a warrenty issue.

#4 fiberoptik

fiberoptik

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 70 posts

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300, FX-850P, FX-7700G, Voyage 200

Posted 01 September 2005 - 07:15 AM

Yes, i totally agree with DrCoyote, we should be able to send our calcs to Casio, so they change the display to this new one. (free of charges, of course)

regards

fiberopik

#5 Orwell

Orwell

    Casio Overlord

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 777 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris - France

  • Calculators:
    Casio AFX 1.02 / Casio ClassPad 300

Posted 01 September 2005 - 10:55 AM

This is great news :)

What are the main improvements made on the CP300+ hardware? and on this new OS version? :D
(is the buzzer still there? :P )

#6 SoftCalc

SoftCalc

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR USA

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300 , AFX 2.0, HP-48/49/50, TI-89/92/Voyager, HP Expander, etc...

Posted 01 September 2005 - 08:58 PM

What is the difference between CP300 PLUS and CP300?
High contrast display is hardware? Or you mean the new OS update 2.20 makes it better?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

I was a bit confused by the "ClassPad Plus OS 2.20". Does this mean a new calculator named the "ClassPad Plus", or does it mean the ClassPad with OS 2.20?

I do not know if the calculator name is changed to the ClassPad+, but I do know that the hardware has been improved and has a better screen.

Gee, that's great.  So, when can I send mine in to Casio to have this decent display installed?  It must certainly be a warranty issue.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

You've had your Classpad for more than a year so isn't it out of warranty :lol:

I do not think Casio will accept an old ClassPad under warranty because the old display isn't defective. In fact, it was one of the better touch-screen LCDs at the time. The problem with a touch-screen LCD is it needs the passive sensors for the pen which reduces the contract. The Casio Pocket Viewer uses the same type of display but also has a backlight. This isn't a good solution for a calculator because it would kill the battery life.

The newer display didn't exist when the ClassPad was first designed. It is new technology.

Maybe you can sell your old ClassPad on eBay and then buy a new one. :) I'm not sure when the new hardware will be available. It is so new that even ClassPad.org still has the older Classpads in stock. :(

This is great news :)

What are the main improvements made on the CP300+ hardware? and on this new OS version?  :D
(is the buzzer still there?  :P )

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


It is good news if you are going to buy a ClassPad, but not if you already own one. :D

I do not know if the buzzer is in the new hardware. When I get a new Classpad I'll try it and let you know. :)

#7 John

John

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming, calculators, climbing.

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300, TI-83 Plus

Posted 01 September 2005 - 09:09 PM

Hey.

Is the OS 2.2 the same for the Classpad 300 and 300 PLUS? And what difference is there to the hardware apart from the LCD?

I'm wondering, because I am concerned whether in the future Casio could add features within the OS only available to Classpad PLUS users? :unsure:

Thanks.

#8 DrCoyote

DrCoyote

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cleveland, Ohio USA

  • Calculators:
    CFX-9850GB PLUS, FX-9860G, TI 92+, TI89 Titanium, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CAS, TI 84+ SE, HP 50G, HP 35S, Elektronika MK-90, Elektronika MK-52, Elektronika MK-61, Elektronika B3-21, Elektronika MK-152, Elektronika MK-161, Sharp EL-9900

Posted 02 September 2005 - 12:16 AM

You've had your Classpad for more than a year so isn't it out of warranty :lol:

I do not think Casio will accept an old ClassPad under warranty because the old display isn't defective. In fact, it was one of the better touch-screen LCDs at the time. The problem with a touch-screen LCD is it needs the passive sensors for the pen which reduces the contract. The Casio Pocket Viewer uses the same type of display but also has a backlight. This isn't a good solution for a calculator because it would kill the battery life.

The newer display didn't exist when the ClassPad was first designed. It is new technology.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

I realize my calculator is out of warranty. Perhaps I should made the sarcasm more obvious.

As for the touch screen, I disagree. There was far better screens available well before the ClassPad was designed. I am looking at my old Handspring's touch screen, which is passive and has an accessory matte-finished screen protector installed, and it has far more contrast and is clearer in general. It has a backlight, yes... But it is not needed unless ambient light is very low. If you can read a paperback, you can read the Handspring.

I suppose asking for Casio to replace my ClassPad's display for free is not so outlandish, though. I had an Apple monitor that Apple repaired for free, even though it was thirteen months out of warranty. They did it because they had identified a design flaw in the monitor that was causing my problem. And I don't think it is really that unreasonable to call the ClassPad's display a design flaw.

Apple did things like that because they want their customers to keep buying their hardware. Casio would do well to learn from them.

#9 Guest_Guest_SoftCalc_*_*

Guest_Guest_SoftCalc_*_*
  • Guests

Posted 02 September 2005 - 07:36 AM

I realize my calculator is out of warranty.  Perhaps I should made the sarcasm more obvious.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

I got the sarcasm, and tossed one back at-cha. I also realized that some people might actually try to send their ClassPad back if they just bought it so I wanted to nip it in the bud. :)

I suppose asking for Casio to replace my ClassPad's display for free is not so outlandish, though.  I had an Apple monitor that Apple repaired for free, even though it was thirteen months out of warranty.  They did it because they had identified a design flaw in the monitor that was causing my problem.  And I don't think it is really that unreasonable to call the ClassPad's display a design flaw.

Apple did things like that because they want their customers to keep buying their hardware.  Casio would do well to learn from them.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

I agree. I'd like to see Casio do the same thing, but I'm not holding my breath.

HP had a program for the HP48 where if you had a ROM version A through C you could send it back and get a new calculator with version D (back in the days before flash). Of course it was also back in the days when HP actually made their own calculators. :) Back then the HP calculator division in Corvallis Oregon did their own design, production, and even support, all from the same building complex. Because the single headquarters managed all development, production, and worldwide sales they could do something like that. I can't imagine the HP calculator division of today would do something this costly.

Who needs a new display now that they've added a bolder font. :rolleyes:

#10 Orwell

Orwell

    Casio Overlord

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 777 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris - France

  • Calculators:
    Casio AFX 1.02 / Casio ClassPad 300

Posted 02 September 2005 - 08:56 AM

Who needs a new display now that they've added a bolder font. :rolleyes:

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

So this was the reason of this bolder font isn't it :lol:

#11 PAP

PAP

    Casio Overlord

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 681 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewhere in Europe.
  • Interests:Computer Algebra, Numerical Analysis.

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300 (plus an old Casio model, with only a few Kb ram).

Posted 02 September 2005 - 09:58 AM

Who needs a new display now that they've added a bolder font. :rolleyes:

The bolder font is marginally useful, since the code that is visible in one screen is considerably reduced. The main problem remains untouched: the display is dim, very dim, extremely dim, and the protector acts as mirror. I don't think that the new OS improves visibility significantly, as the CP OS installer states. :rant: And I don't see how the bolder font improves the OS version from 2.00 to 2.20. Maybe there are other improvements, but I cannot find anyone yet, and, of course, Casio doesn't give any information. :rant:

I've seen an old post saying that you can improve visibility, if you buy a protector film for PDAs, cut it to fit in the ClassPad, and replace the built-in protector with it. Does anyone know anything about this?

#12 SoftCalc

SoftCalc

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR USA

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300 , AFX 2.0, HP-48/49/50, TI-89/92/Voyager, HP Expander, etc...

Posted 02 September 2005 - 07:14 PM

The bolder font is marginally useful, since the code that is visible in one screen is considerably reduced....

I was being sarcastic (hence the :rolleyes: ). You are correct. The bold font is only marginally better. Yes, you can't see as much on screen with the bolder font. If this is a problem then switch back to the normal font in your settings. Then everything will look the same as the previous OS.

An unreadable screen with a bold font is still an unreadable screen. At least Casio has addressed the screen problem. They improved the hardware, but this doesn't help existing users. For existing users they added a bolder font. Yes, it marginally helps, but it really is the best anyone could do for existing users. Although I'm sure people would like to see Casio accept all old ClassPads as returns and give out new ones, this isn't feasable and IMO is unreasonable to expect.

Maybe there are other improvements, but I cannot find anyone yet...:rant:

The bolder font is about it. There might be some minor bugfixes, but nothing the average user would ever notice.

I've seen an old post saying that you can improve visibility, if you buy a protector film for PDAs, cut it to fit in the ClassPad, and replace the built-in protector with it. Does anyone know anything about this?

The first thing I did with my ClassPad is toss the screen protector. The screen protector doesn't really effect the dim/brightness, but it does add glare. Removing it helps.

#13 Orwell

Orwell

    Casio Overlord

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 777 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris - France

  • Calculators:
    Casio AFX 1.02 / Casio ClassPad 300

Posted 02 September 2005 - 08:34 PM

The first thing I did with my ClassPad is toss the screen protector. The screen protector doesn't really effect the dim/brightness, but it does add glare. Removing it helps.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

I must say I do not use the protector either, and I don't have any visibility problems :) There is not even a single scratch on my screen btw, I just need to clear it (softly) sometimes and it is still like a new one ;)

#14 PAP

PAP

    Casio Overlord

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 681 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewhere in Europe.
  • Interests:Computer Algebra, Numerical Analysis.

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300 (plus an old Casio model, with only a few Kb ram).

Posted 04 September 2005 - 08:57 PM

Yes, you can't see as much on screen with the bolder font. If this is a problem then switch back to the normal font in your settings. Then everything will look the same as the previous OS.

I did it almost immediately. And, indeed, everything is the same as the previous OS. Apart from the bolder font, nothing has been changed. But the bolder font is not something really new, it existed in eActivities, and they have simply made it available to the "Program" application. That's all. I agree, they cannot do much for the visibility problems, but they can add something useful in the "new" OS. They didn't added anything, although many-many things need an upgrade. Why I'm not surprised anymore?

Although I'm sure people would like to see Casio accept all old ClassPads as returns and give out new ones, this isn't feasable and IMO is unreasonable to expect.

I'm not even dreaming such a thing. Casio doesn't support its product by releasing such an OS "upgrade", how we can even think of a serious customer support?

I must say I do not use the protector either, and I don't have any visibility problems  :) There is not even a single scratch on my screen btw, I just need to clear it (softly) sometimes and it is still like a new one  ;)

The protector on my CP has several scratches, although I try to tap on the screen gently. Maybe the screen itself is stronger, but I'll try to adapt a PDA-protector soon to avoid the glare and still protect the screen. I'll let you know.

#15 tonyp

tonyp

    Casio Fan

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 34 posts

  • Calculators:
    TI89, TI89 Titanium, TI-nspire CAS, Casio ClassPad300, Casio fx-6300g, Casio GFX9850GB, Casio 82ES, more

Posted 05 September 2005 - 07:22 PM

An unreadable screen with a bold font is still an unreadable screen. At least Casio has addressed the screen problem. They improved the hardware, but this doesn't

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Unless someone knows (not guesses) for sure that there is new hardware, I seriously doubt there is one.

Why, having fixed the screen, would they bother to load that new hardware with an OS that has bolder font? Isn't the newer screen enough by itself?

Tony.

#16 SoftCalc

SoftCalc

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR USA

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300 , AFX 2.0, HP-48/49/50, TI-89/92/Voyager, HP Expander, etc...

Posted 06 September 2005 - 05:27 AM

Unless someone knows (not guesses) for sure that there is new hardware, I seriously doubt there is one.

Yes, there is new hardware. Aside from the fact that I've seen it, the "New High Contrast Display" splash on Casio's website should leave you with no doubts.

Why, having fixed the screen, would they bother to load that new hardware with an OS that has bolder font?  Isn't the newer screen enough by itself?

Why would you load and older OS into newer hardware? Also remember that there are minor bugfixes...

#17 tonyp

tonyp

    Casio Fan

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 34 posts

  • Calculators:
    TI89, TI89 Titanium, TI-nspire CAS, Casio ClassPad300, Casio fx-6300g, Casio GFX9850GB, Casio 82ES, more

Posted 06 September 2005 - 07:58 AM

Yes, there is new hardware. Aside from the fact that I've seen it, the "New High Contrast Display" splash on Casio's website should leave you with no doubts.
Why would you load and older OS into newer hardware?  Also remember that there are minor bugfixes...

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


OK then about the new hardware, if you say so.

Why would you load and older OS into newer hardware?


What older OS if the primary difference is the bolder font which is introduced at the *same* time with the supposedly new hardware? (Bugfixes is a different issue and it should happen regardless.)

My reasoning was this:

If they improved the screen, they didn't have to go through the trouble of adding bolder font (that is useful only for the sake of older hardware so it could happen asynchronously with the introduction of new hardware). And why advertise it as "Classpad 300 Plus OS ver 2.20" (http://classpad.net/product/) if the OS plays no role in the screen improvement? A better display is better regardless of OS version.

Anyway, I'll take your word for it there is a new hardware version.

Tony.

#18 2072

2072

    Casio over god

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1554 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewherebourg
  • Interests:Cinema, Programming, Music and a lot of thing...

  • Calculators:
    AFX2 ROM 1.02, CFX-9940GT+, FX-180P-Plus

Posted 06 September 2005 - 07:58 PM

Well it's simpler to have only one OS which is compatible with all hardware than the contrary...

#19 SoftCalc

SoftCalc

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR USA

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300 , AFX 2.0, HP-48/49/50, TI-89/92/Voyager, HP Expander, etc...

Posted 06 September 2005 - 09:46 PM

OK then about the new hardware, if you say so.
What older OS if the primary difference is the bolder font which is introduced at the *same* time with the supposedly new hardware?  (Bugfixes is a different issue and it should happen regardless.)

2072 make a good point. You'd never want to maintain 2 versions of the OS, one for the new hardware and one for the old.

I can't speak for Casio's production, marketing or sales divisions, but I would expect if you have a new OS and you know you will be releasing new hardware very soon, you would wait to release the new OS at the same time. Remember the OS is programmed during production. It wouldn't be desirable to be selling ClassPads with OS 2.0 and then have a newer OS on the web. It is very common to wait until a firmware/software update has gone into production before releasing it as a download.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users