Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Classpad 400


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 Kilburn

Kilburn

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 491 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:Blah

  • Calculators:
    FX-7500 G
    ClassPad 300

Posted 21 September 2005 - 04:07 PM

Do you like it???

Posted Image

#2 PAP

PAP

    Casio Overlord

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 681 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewhere in Europe.
  • Interests:Computer Algebra, Numerical Analysis.

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300 (plus an old Casio model, with only a few Kb ram).

Posted 21 September 2005 - 04:58 PM

Do you like it???

Definitely no. Window$ XP is a mega-virus. But even if you like it (shame to you!), XP needs more than 256 Mb RAM just to boot. Fortunately, your imaginary "ClassPad 400" will never become a real calc.

#3 Nanard

Nanard

    Casio Fan

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
  • Location:France

  • Calculators:
    Classpad 300

Posted 22 September 2005 - 12:35 PM

how can you even think to use windows without ctrl and alt key???

#4 PAP

PAP

    Casio Overlord

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 681 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewhere in Europe.
  • Interests:Computer Algebra, Numerical Analysis.

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300 (plus an old Casio model, with only a few Kb ram).

Posted 22 September 2005 - 09:25 PM

how can you even think to use windows without ctrl and alt key???

Totally agree. In this "ClassPad" the "delete" key is present, but unfortunately the "ctrl" and "alt" keys are missing, so it cannot run window$ :lol2:

#5 betoe

betoe

    UCF Spanish Translator

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 846 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guadalajara/Mazatlan, Mexico.
  • Interests:Electronics, SW development, automotive. Swim->bike->run

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0 (R.I.P.), Classpad 300

Posted 23 September 2005 - 03:22 AM

lol nice draw.

#6 Guest_Guest_*

Guest_Guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 September 2005 - 01:19 PM

see
http://www.oqo.com

OQO :o

#7 PAP

PAP

    Casio Overlord

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 681 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewhere in Europe.
  • Interests:Computer Algebra, Numerical Analysis.

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300 (plus an old Casio model, with only a few Kb ram).

Posted 24 September 2005 - 05:30 PM

see
http://www.oqo.com

Small pc or not, it runs Window$. No, thanks. :greengrin:

#8 SoftCalc

SoftCalc

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR USA

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300 , AFX 2.0, HP-48/49/50, TI-89/92/Voyager, HP Expander, etc...

Posted 24 September 2005 - 05:35 PM

see
http://www.oqo.com
OQO :o

Yes, the OQO looks cool, but read this review.

#9 Guest_Guest_*

Guest_Guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 03 October 2005 - 07:08 PM

Do you like it???

Posted Image


Why don't you buy a handheld ???

#10 Guest_Guest_*

Guest_Guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 03 October 2005 - 09:13 PM

:nonono: New OQO 0.1plus

www.oqo.com

#11 Guest_rh_*

Guest_rh_*
  • Guests

Posted 06 October 2005 - 12:41 PM

Definitely no. Window$ XP is a mega-virus. But even if you like it (shame to you!), XP needs more than 256 Mb RAM just to boot. Fortunately, your imaginary "ClassPad 400" will never become a real calc.


Oh contraire. XP will boot just fine with 128 MB of RAM. We do it everyday in my classroom.

#12 Nanard

Nanard

    Casio Fan

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
  • Location:France

  • Calculators:
    Classpad 300

Posted 06 October 2005 - 02:11 PM

even with 64mb (at home) it works. But I do not work well, but as well as win98.

#13 PAP

PAP

    Casio Overlord

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 681 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewhere in Europe.
  • Interests:Computer Algebra, Numerical Analysis.

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300 (plus an old Casio model, with only a few Kb ram).

Posted 06 October 2005 - 04:39 PM

Oh contraire. XP will boot just fine with 128 MB of RAM. We do it everyday in my classroom.

Yes, it works with 128 Mb, but it will boot in 5 minutes, and it will be slow, slow, and slow. It works, in the sense that you can use the vulnerable Internet Explorer, maybe you will be able to write a simple document in Word (no equations, no images, only a few pages), or you can use a simple spreadsheet, and... that's all. But the most important is that to do (slowly) all these "amazing" things, you have to pay, to pay, and to pay. No, thanks.

#14 SoftCalc

SoftCalc

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR USA

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300 , AFX 2.0, HP-48/49/50, TI-89/92/Voyager, HP Expander, etc...

Posted 06 October 2005 - 05:02 PM

Oh contraire. XP will boot just fine with 128 MB of RAM. We do it everyday in my classroom.

Yes, maybe you can boot with as little as 128M (and Nanard was able to boot on only 64M!), but even Microsoft suggests 256M. With anything less the OS will be swapping virtual memory to the hard drive and it will crawl. If you only have 128M I'd suggest using Windows 2000. Less than that and I'd use Windows 98. If you have an old computer with a slow hard drive and only want to use the Internet you might even consider Windows 95.... or spend $200 on a new budget PC and put <{GNULINUX}> on it. ;)

I like the idea of a color screen on the ClassPad...

#15 Orwell

Orwell

    Casio Overlord

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 777 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris - France

  • Calculators:
    Casio AFX 1.02 / Casio ClassPad 300

Posted 06 October 2005 - 06:18 PM

Hey stop complaining about Win XP... and go buy new material for the next Windows version :lol2:

Here are Microsoft's Windows Vista hardware recommendations:

Desktop CPU: 3 GHz Intel Pentium 4 processor with Hyper-Threading Technology 530 (or higher) or 3 GHz Intel Xeon processor with 2 MB L2 cache, or AMD Athlon 64, Sempron, or Opteron 100, 200, or 800 processor, single or dual-core versions.

Mobile CPU: 1.86 GHz Intel Pentium M processor 750 (or higher), or AMD Turion 64 Mobile Technology, Mobile Sempron, or Mobile Athlon 64 processor.

Memory: 512 MB of RAM or more, all platforms.

At WinHEC 2005, Microsoft did reveal a vague set of specifications for PCs that will run Windows Vista, and provide the advanced Aero Glass interface. A modern Pentium 4-based PC (or the AMD equivalent) with 512 MB of RAM and a dedicated graphics card capable of DirectX 9.0 compatibility will run Windows Vista just fine, I was told. Systems with fewer graphical resources--like most notebook computers and systems with Celeron processors--will default to the low-end Aero Express user interface, Microsoft says.

Source: http://www.winsupers...review_2005.asp

#16 Daruosh

Daruosh

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 285 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tehran - Iran
  • Interests:Computer Programming, Electronics, Image Processing, Neural Networks, AI, System Development, Calc, Guitar, Music,

  • Calculators:
    CP 300 OS 3.03, Algebra FX 2.0 Plus ROM 1.05, CG-20

Posted 06 October 2005 - 08:01 PM

It would be nice if I could run Classpad applications on my PocketPC!!
Why CASIO don't release PocketPC version emulator?

#17 SoftCalc

SoftCalc

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR USA

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300 , AFX 2.0, HP-48/49/50, TI-89/92/Voyager, HP Expander, etc...

Posted 06 October 2005 - 08:16 PM

It would be nice if I could run Classpad applications on my PocketPC!!
Why CASIO don't release PocketPC version emulator?

Casio sells calculators. Does it make sense to make a PocketPC version that will only take away ClassPad sales?

#18 Daruosh

Daruosh

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 285 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tehran - Iran
  • Interests:Computer Programming, Electronics, Image Processing, Neural Networks, AI, System Development, Calc, Guitar, Music,

  • Calculators:
    CP 300 OS 3.03, Algebra FX 2.0 Plus ROM 1.05, CG-20

Posted 09 October 2005 - 08:16 PM

As I think PocketPC owners would pay much more than CP for its PPC version.

#19 The_AFX_Master

The_AFX_Master

    Casio Overlord

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 519 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Black Mesa Research Facility (sector C)
  • Interests:BASIC +FORTRAN 90+ C++.....and HALF LIFE

  • Calculators:
    Casio Algebra FX 2.0 Plus, Casio fx 570 ms, Classpad 300, And a crowbar

Posted 14 October 2005 - 10:57 PM

Win XP on a calc!! :lol2: seems to be a catastrophic handheld...imagine..... Numerical Analysis exam, you pass only hitting 35/40 pts,you now solve an differential equation system using Runge Kutta 4 on your shiny Classpad 400, remains only 10 minutes to end, and your calc seems to be slow !or freezed!...no answer, no displays, and the problem costs, yes, SIX POINTS!!!!, you begin to scare, no no no!!, i did a promise: mom, i will pass analysis... the calc does not answer, are freezed....2 minutes and: !PAN!,a pop up says: "system failure couldnt store data from c:\\h^2&%$?&%%&$%$/$.exe//prompt/documents and settings/rkutta4, the data could be missed, do you want to restart all the system? [ok] [cancel] [contact billy gates]". and the teacher says, "ok men, time is over!!! throw your pencils and give me your exams, i would correct it with my AFX 2.0+ and bring you tomorrow HA HA HA!!!...you loose the subjet, and your mom does not do your favorite cake for one month, is a punishment from the small penguin :lol2: against you!......morality: anithing that have WIN xp with less than 512Gb ram and 12 Terahertz processor, will crash gaming chess on !Yahoo games :lol2: :lol2:

#20 2072

2072

    Casio over god

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1554 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewherebourg
  • Interests:Cinema, Programming, Music and a lot of thing...

  • Calculators:
    AFX2 ROM 1.02, CFX-9940GT+, FX-180P-Plus

Posted 14 October 2005 - 11:45 PM

My win XP never crashes... I can let my PC turned on for weeks without any problem.

WinXP will crash only if you have a hardware problem or wrong/bad drivers installed.

#21 TacoFred

TacoFred

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 145 posts
  • Location:NJ
  • Interests:I LOVE STARCRAFT BROODWAR<br />MUHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

  • Calculators:
    cfx 9850gb+, fx 115MS, ClassPad 300, TI-89 Titanium

Posted 15 October 2005 - 12:46 AM

WinXP will only crash if you want it to do something it's supposed to be able to but is to disorganized to find the whatever is needed to do the thing you wanted it to do, all the while doing whatever it randomly does just because it was programmed over every previous windows combined with code making it look prettier




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users