Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Cp300plus


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 amirfazaelian

amirfazaelian

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

  • Calculators:
    CP300

Posted 05 January 2006 - 10:03 PM

I could not find a CP300 Plus on the net. How can we find it to buy. (I could only find CP300 which presumably has lower display resolusion). :banghead:

#2 TacoFred

TacoFred

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 145 posts
  • Location:NJ
  • Interests:I LOVE STARCRAFT BROODWAR<br />MUHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

  • Calculators:
    cfx 9850gb+, fx 115MS, ClassPad 300, TI-89 Titanium

Posted 05 January 2006 - 11:20 PM

Well, it's not lower resolution, but the + has better CONTRAST, aka a brighter screen.
Since Casio doesn't sell the CP300+ in the US, you have to get it shipped from overseas from Europe or whatnot.

#3 MicroPro

MicroPro

    Casio Overlord

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iran

  • Calculators:
    Casio ClassPad 300

Posted 08 January 2006 - 07:40 AM

I could not find a CP300 Plus on the net. How can we find it to buy. (I could only find CP300 which presumably has lower display resolusion). :banghead:

Sorry if this is off topic, I live in the same country as you. You mean that you have a credit card? :unsure: Where did you find it?

#4 Guest_LJF_*

Guest_LJF_*
  • Guests

Posted 19 January 2006 - 02:30 PM

I could not find a CP300 Plus on the net. How can we find it to buy. (I could only find CP300 which presumably has lower display resolusion). :banghead:


I recently bought a Classpad 300 PLUS at Dynatech in Germany. The URL is http://www.dynatech.de. They only accept bank transfers but NOT credit cards.

#5 SoftCalc

SoftCalc

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR USA

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300 , AFX 2.0, HP-48/49/50, TI-89/92/Voyager, HP Expander, etc...

Posted 19 January 2006 - 07:12 PM

I recently bought a Classpad 300 PLUS at Dynatech in Germany. The URL is http://www.dynatech.de. They only accept bank transfers but NOT credit cards.

If you live in the US, http://www.classpad.org/ has the ClassPad 300 PLUS for $149, and a few ClassPad 300s for $99, both with free shipping.

Froogle lists a bunch of websites that sell the ClassPad. many of them might actually be selling the ClassPad 300 PLUS. The ClassPad 300 PLUS is the replacement for the ClassPad 300. It's the same machine but the display has better contrast. Any store that sells the ClassPad 300 will get the 300 PLUS whenever they run out of stock and reorder. Chances are, most stores won't change their on-line description because for inventory purposes it's the same machine. The real question is, when did they last reorder the ClassPad.

I'd suggest looking for a reseller in your country and then contact them explaining the situation. If you simply ask them "do you sell the ClassPad 300 or the ClassPad 300 PLUS", a sales person looking at their catalog will probably tell you they don't have the ClassPad 300 PLUS, just the ClassPad 300. This doesn't necessarily mean they don't have the 300 PLUS. Keep in mind that to many stores, they are both the same item and have the exact same product number. You should explain that the newer ClassPad 300 has a brighter display, and the only way to tell if it is a newer one is to look on the box. If the box says "ClassPad 300 PLUS" then it is a newer ClassPad.

Also keep in mind that if a store is running low on ClassPads and order more, they might have a few old ones and a few new ones. Again, a store that carries hundreds of other products probably won't know the difference and would consider them all to be the same item. If you contact a store that is simply advertising the "ClassPad 300" and they say they do have the ClassPad 300 PLUS, make sure the shipping department knows you want the newer ClassPad 300 PLUS.

#6 betoe

betoe

    UCF Spanish Translator

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 846 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guadalajara/Mazatlan, Mexico.
  • Interests:Electronics, SW development, automotive. Swim->bike->run

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0 (R.I.P.), Classpad 300

Posted 21 January 2006 - 06:53 AM

When i bought my AFX 2.0 , a classmate (in university) liked it. So he went to a big departamental store and asked for one. He buyed an AFX 2.0 + at a price of an AFX 1.0. So i payed for my AFX 1400 mexican pesos (about 140 USD and believe me, thats a lot), and he payed only 900 mexican pesos.

#7 MicroPro

MicroPro

    Casio Overlord

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iran

  • Calculators:
    Casio ClassPad 300

Posted 21 January 2006 - 01:09 PM

Maybe the AFX2 pluses were newly made and CASIO was selling them lower than the usual prize? (ie CASIO had done this for advertisement and after a while the prices were the usual prices).
Anyway, it is strange!

Note: I think you had to put this post in the AFX section of the forum. Am I wrong?

#8 TomL_12953

TomL_12953

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 51 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Malone, NY USA
  • Interests:Programmable calculators, BASIC computer language, Computers in general, Old movies and TV shows

  • Calculators:
    TI-59, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89, TI-89 Titanium, Radio Shack EC-4026, Algebra FX 2.0 Plus, HP-35s, Compucorp 326 Scientist, Durabrand 828, fx-9860G II SD

Posted 30 January 2006 - 09:28 PM

I could not find a CP300 Plus on the net. How can we find it to buy. (I could only find CP300 which presumably has lower display resolusion). :banghead:


For US buyers, it's now available on the Web:

http://my.casio.com/...ClassPad300Plus

Tom Lake

#9 Guest_Guest_*

Guest_Guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 31 January 2006 - 07:25 AM

For US buyers, it's now available on the Web:

http://my.casio.com/...ClassPad300Plus

It's also available in the US here for $30 less ($149.99) with free shipping.

http://www.classpad....b75636b63700a79

#10 Adst

Adst

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Location:Sweden (Vietnamese)

  • Calculators:
    Classpad 300 PLUS
    CASIO CFX-9850GB PLUS

Posted 02 February 2006 - 10:30 PM

Well im from Sweden. and im wondering how i could get the classpad 300 PLUS. anyone who could help?
it is quite difficult to find somewhere there i could get a good and safe shipping. and what about if it cruches? then i must send it to USA? :S.. help me :banghead:

#11 MicroPro

MicroPro

    Casio Overlord

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iran

  • Calculators:
    Casio ClassPad 300

Posted 03 February 2006 - 01:13 PM

Hmm... You must perform a search on eBay and Amazon first...

#12 SoftCalc

SoftCalc

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR USA

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300 , AFX 2.0, HP-48/49/50, TI-89/92/Voyager, HP Expander, etc...

Posted 03 February 2006 - 06:52 PM

Well I'm from Sweden. and I'm wondering how i could get the classpad 300 PLUS. anyone who could help?
it is quite difficult to find somewhere there i could get a good and safe shipping. and what about if it crunches? then i must send it to USA? :S.. help me :banghead:

Any distributor in the USA is not suppose to sell outside the USA. A CASIO distributor agrees to these conditions. This is very common for all electronics. In counties that have high import fees, a distributor in that county must pay these fees when importing the product. A distributor in another county is "suppose" to claim the product with customs and the customer is suppose to pay the duty when the product is shipped to them, but this almost never happens. The bottom line, if a company sells to another country, the local distributor cannot compete and will stop selling products. It's just the way things work.

As far as Sweden, it looks like the local CASIO distributor is http://www.sense-ab.se/ . They are still listing the ClassPad 300, but that doesn't mean they don't have the ClassPad 300 PLUS now. The ClassPad 300 PLUS is simply the replacement for the ClassPad 300. You could send them email and ask them. Read my previous post explaining this.

There might be other distributors for Sweden. You should search the Internet.

#13 -Tom-

-Tom-

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Location:Poland
  • Interests:Tides, Celestial Navigation, Deadreckoning

  • Calculators:
    Cla$$pad 300

Posted 03 February 2006 - 09:32 PM

CP 300 PLUS for 110 Euro!


If anybody interested here is new, newer used, in original pack: Classpad 300 PLUS , there is old photo becouse this person didnt have new photo, but soon there will be real photo of Classpad 300 Plus. Price is 459 PLN, this is about 110 Euro. I think person selling it could send it abroud.... this place is somekind of Polish ebay, I bought many things there, so is trustworthy. If anybody interested I can help with contact and traslation eglish--->polish.
Greets!

#14 Adst

Adst

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Location:Sweden (Vietnamese)

  • Calculators:
    Classpad 300 PLUS
    CASIO CFX-9850GB PLUS

Posted 03 February 2006 - 10:14 PM

Any distributor in the USA is not suppose to sell outside the USA. A CASIO distributor agrees to these conditions. This is very common for all electronics. In counties that have high import fees, a distributor in that county must pay these fees when importing the product. A distributor in another county is "suppose" to claim the product with customs and the customer is suppose to pay the duty when the product is shipped to them, but this almost never happens. The bottom line, if a company sells to another country, the local distributor cannot compete and will stop selling products. It's just the way things work.

As far as Sweden, it looks like the local CASIO distributor is http://www.sense-ab.se/ . They are still listing the ClassPad 300, but that doesn't mean they don't have the ClassPad 300 PLUS now. The ClassPad 300 PLUS is simply the replacement for the ClassPad 300. You could send them email and ask them. Read my previous post explaining this.

There might be other distributors for Sweden. You should search the Internet.


Thanks, i think i will buy it from dutchland, Dynatech.de, the only wrong with it is maybe the manual in dutch, that i wouln't understand anything from.

But u guys recomend this CP?? It is good and worth the 150 ??

Thanks for urs answers!!!

Yours Adst. :)

#15 TomL_12953

TomL_12953

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 51 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Malone, NY USA
  • Interests:Programmable calculators, BASIC computer language, Computers in general, Old movies and TV shows

  • Calculators:
    TI-59, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89, TI-89 Titanium, Radio Shack EC-4026, Algebra FX 2.0 Plus, HP-35s, Compucorp 326 Scientist, Durabrand 828, fx-9860G II SD

Posted 06 February 2006 - 04:01 PM

[quote name='Adst' date='Feb 3 2006, 05:14 PM' post='32888']
Thanks, i think i will buy it from dutchland, Dynatech.de, the only wrong with it is maybe the manual in dutch, that i wouln't understand anything from.

Ha ha! .de is Deutchland (Germany) so the manual would be in German, not Dutch! :D

Tom Lake

#16 MicroPro

MicroPro

    Casio Overlord

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iran

  • Calculators:
    Casio ClassPad 300

Posted 07 February 2006 - 11:38 AM

You can download the english manual from this page:
http://world.casio.c...load/en/manual/

#17 Promsan

Promsan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Location:Great Britain

  • Calculators:
    "own"? what kind of freak says "own"?

Posted 10 February 2006 - 07:54 PM

Any distributor in the USA is not suppose to sell outside the USA. A CASIO distributor agrees to these conditions. This is very common for all electronics. In counties that have high import fees, a distributor in that county must pay these fees when importing the product. A distributor in another county is "suppose" to claim the product with customs and the customer is suppose to pay the duty when the product is shipped to them, but this almost never happens. The bottom line, if a company sells to another country, the local distributor cannot compete and will stop selling products. It's just the way things work.

As far as Sweden, it looks like the local CASIO distributor is http://www.sense-ab.se/ . They are still listing the ClassPad 300, but that doesn't mean they don't have the ClassPad 300 PLUS now. The ClassPad 300 PLUS is simply the replacement for the ClassPad 300. You could send them email and ask them. Read my previous post explaining this.

There might be other distributors for Sweden. You should search the Internet.



Surely, as countries like Sweden, Germany, and Britain are in the EU, those of us in the EU should be able to buy one at the cheapest EU price regardless?! You shouldn't have to pay any duty to import one from Germany to any other EU country AFAIAA.

In Britain they're trying to flog it for ?150, in Germany ?150 (=?100), and surprise surprise, in the USA for $150 (=?80)... it's just a shame that Casio can't follow the same logic and flog it for 150 Yen in Japan (75p)!

#18 SoftCalc

SoftCalc

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR USA

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300 , AFX 2.0, HP-48/49/50, TI-89/92/Voyager, HP Expander, etc...

Posted 10 February 2006 - 10:54 PM

Surely, as countries like Sweden, Germany, and Britain are in the EU, those of us in the EU should be able to buy one at the cheapest EU price regardless?! You shouldn't have to pay any duty to import one from Germany to any other EU country AFAIAA.

I don't really know what CASIO's distributor agreements are, but you might be correct. Any country in the EU might be able to sell to any other country in the EU. Of course Britain might be a different story. :)

#19 Guest_Dennis_*

Guest_Dennis_*
  • Guests

Posted 26 May 2006 - 08:55 AM

I don't really know what CASIO's distributor agreements are, but you might be correct. Any country in the EU might be able to sell to any other country in the EU. Of course Britain might be a different story. :)



Seems silly you want the Classpad 300+ when they have only changed the screen and your paying another $50 more for the same product. Why not just get the older model?

makes more sense to me? if they did major upgrades I could see the jusification for the need to buy the Plus, but just for a screen change I don't see the point in buying the newer one when you can get the older one much cheaper.

#20 DrCoyote

DrCoyote

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cleveland, Ohio USA

  • Calculators:
    CFX-9850GB PLUS, FX-9860G, TI 92+, TI89 Titanium, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CAS, TI 84+ SE, HP 50G, HP 35S, Elektronika MK-90, Elektronika MK-52, Elektronika MK-61, Elektronika B3-21, Elektronika MK-152, Elektronika MK-161, Sharp EL-9900

Posted 26 May 2006 - 01:04 PM

Seems silly you want the Classpad 300+ when they have only changed the screen and your paying another $50 more for the same product. Why not just get the older model?

makes more sense to me? if they did major upgrades I could see the jusification for the need to buy the Plus, but just for a screen change I don't see the point in buying the newer one when you can get the older one much cheaper.


Are you aware of how bad the older model's display is? It borders on unusable.

If I were buying new, I would go for the Plus. You can easily save the additional $50 by not having to buy new glasses.

Seriously... I have not seen the Classpad 300 Plus, but I have a Classpad 300. If the Plus' display is readable, it would be worth the extra money not to have to deal with the annoyance and eye strain of the display.

I would buy a Classpad 300 Plus myself, but I already have a Classpad 300. I am aware of the Classpad's shortcomings now that I've had one for a while, so I'm quite unwilling to spend any more money on it.

#21 Guest_Dennis_*

Guest_Dennis_*
  • Guests

Posted 26 May 2006 - 01:34 PM

If is it as bad as you say it is, then why do all those who have them put up with the bad screens? Put pressure on Casio. Make a fuss, demand replacment screens. They do with cars or bad electronics. How many cars do you see returned with faults? They fix them.

This a clearly a design fault and all should demand new screens. Do you not have a consummers institue etc in your countries, or something like Fairgo here in NZ if your not happy you can kick up hell and give them bad publicty and even air it on TV. They hate bad TV publicity and often here in NZ it works. There is no need to put up with bad screens don't sit there do something about it.

Are not people power. Enough pressure Casio will come to the party. Do nothing and they will produce bad products or short cuts.

#22 Guest_Dennis_*

Guest_Dennis_*
  • Guests

Posted 26 May 2006 - 01:36 PM

If is it as bad as you say it is, then why do all those who have them put up with the bad screens? Put pressure on Casio. Make a fuss, demand replacment screens. They do with cars or bad electronics. How many cars do you see returned with faults? They fix them.

This a clearly a design fault and all should demand new screens. Do you not have a consummers institue etc in your countries, or something like Fairgo here in NZ if your not happy you can kick up hell and give them bad publicty and even air it on TV. They hate bad TV publicity and often here in NZ it works. There is no need to put up with bad screens don't sit there do something about it.

Are not people power. Enough pressure Casio will come to the party. Do nothing and they will produce bad products or short cuts.


I have one and the screen is not that bad, your making it seem worse than it is. I can read my ok with no problems.
The Casio CFX-9850 GCplus colour in my opinon had a very bad screen. I hated that screen. Low colour contrast also. Yet the one without colour had the better display.
Here is a tip. Take the screen protector off and the screen is much more readable this is what I did and makes a difference.

#23 DrCoyote

DrCoyote

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cleveland, Ohio USA

  • Calculators:
    CFX-9850GB PLUS, FX-9860G, TI 92+, TI89 Titanium, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CAS, TI 84+ SE, HP 50G, HP 35S, Elektronika MK-90, Elektronika MK-52, Elektronika MK-61, Elektronika B3-21, Elektronika MK-152, Elektronika MK-161, Sharp EL-9900

Posted 26 May 2006 - 02:38 PM

If is it as bad as you say it is, then why do all those who have them put up with the bad screens? Put pressure on Casio. Make a fuss, demand replacment screens. They do with cars or bad electronics. How many cars do you see returned with faults? They fix them.

This a clearly a design fault and all should demand new screens. Do you not have a consummers institue etc in your countries, or something like Fairgo here in NZ if your not happy you can kick up hell and give them bad publicty and even air it on TV. They hate bad TV publicity and often here in NZ it works. There is no need to put up with bad screens don't sit there do something about it.

Are not people power. Enough pressure Casio will come to the party. Do nothing and they will produce bad products or short cuts.


It seems you haven't spent much time looking at these forums. The poor quality of the Classpad 300 display is a long-time complaint, richly documented in these forums. I, myself, suggested that perhaps those of us who bought the Classpad 300 should get a free hardware upgrade when the Classpad 300 Plus came out, for the very reason you suggest. My suggestion was made tongue-in-cheek, more for effect than anything.

Tremendous pressure has already been brought to bear on Casio concerning this issue, along with many others. Casio has done very little about these complaints. That's their choice, of course. I also have a choice. I have chosen to use this and the many other problems the Classad has to influence my buying decisions, and to encourage others to do the same. (See, for example, my posts on this forum and my review of the Classpad 300 on Amazon.com.) The other avenues you suggest would prove pretty futile, as they usually do. I'll leave them to others.

Casio produced an interesting device when they built the Classpad. If you ask me, if they had been more responsive to the users, they could have easily displaced TI as the dominant calculator brand in the classroom (in the US). They chose not to. They've done far more damage to themselves than any action I can take could ever do.

As for my Classpad, well... It's been sitting for some time. I toy with it now and then. But it's far from my main machine. I hope Casio brings this remarkable machine to its' potential someday. But I'm not holding my breath.

#24 DrCoyote

DrCoyote

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cleveland, Ohio USA

  • Calculators:
    CFX-9850GB PLUS, FX-9860G, TI 92+, TI89 Titanium, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CAS, TI 84+ SE, HP 50G, HP 35S, Elektronika MK-90, Elektronika MK-52, Elektronika MK-61, Elektronika B3-21, Elektronika MK-152, Elektronika MK-161, Sharp EL-9900

Posted 26 May 2006 - 04:42 PM

Here is a tip. Take the screen protector off and the screen is much more readable this is what I did and makes a difference.


I have been using it without the screen protector since I got it, actually. The display contrast is still terrible.

#25 PAP

PAP

    Casio Overlord

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 681 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewhere in Europe.
  • Interests:Computer Algebra, Numerical Analysis.

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300 (plus an old Casio model, with only a few Kb ram).

Posted 27 May 2006 - 01:04 AM

Casio produced an interesting device when they built the Classpad. If you ask me, if they had been more responsive to the users, they could have easily displaced TI as the dominant calculator brand in the classroom (in the US). They chose not to. They've done far more damage to themselves than any action I can take could ever do.
As for my Classpad, well... It's been sitting for some time. I toy with it now and then. But it's far from my main machine. I hope Casio brings this remarkable machine to its' potential someday. But I'm not holding my breath.

Hmmm, I remember similar remarks about one year before. It seems that you are always dissapointed with your ClassPad. I'm not saying that you are totally wrong, because you are not. Like you said, ClassPad is an interesting (and powerful, I can add) device. Unfortunately, it suffers from a bad built-in CAS, and a dim display. Like you, I'm not holding my breath, waiting for the next OS release. However, with hard work, I was able to remove most of ClassPad's limitations. I simply used my own programs to replace bad built-in functions, and to add new ones. I can say that the result is more than satisfactory: I can now use ClassPad to solve difficult problems, which cannot be solved with TI. For example, can you solve complicated boundary value problems with TI? Can TI solve the system of differential equations
y1'(x) = y1(x)-y2(x)+y3(x),
y2'(x) = (x^2*y1(x)+y2(x))/(x+y(x)^2)
y3'(x) = -y1(x)^2*y3(x)-x*y2(x)
with respect to the boundary conditions y3(0)=-2, y1(2.5)=3, y3(2.5)=4*y2(2.5)?
I bet that it cannot. Believe me, I can, using my ClassPad (and my own programs).

PS: Your "beloved dogs" are really beautiful :). I like dogs as well. My family includes two "furry members", just like yours.

#26 Guest_Dennis_*

Guest_Dennis_*
  • Guests

Posted 27 May 2006 - 01:30 AM

I just cannot understand what all the fuss is with the Display. It's not that bad and I find, while it's not the best, have no trouble reading it and nowhere as bad as some say it is. I have the older one, not the Plus version.

#27 DrCoyote

DrCoyote

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cleveland, Ohio USA

  • Calculators:
    CFX-9850GB PLUS, FX-9860G, TI 92+, TI89 Titanium, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CAS, TI 84+ SE, HP 50G, HP 35S, Elektronika MK-90, Elektronika MK-52, Elektronika MK-61, Elektronika B3-21, Elektronika MK-152, Elektronika MK-161, Sharp EL-9900

Posted 27 May 2006 - 11:15 AM

Hmmm, I remember similar remarks about one year before. It seems that you are always dissapointed with your ClassPad. I'm not saying that you are totally wrong, because you are not. Like you said, ClassPad is an interesting (and powerful, I can add) device. Unfortunately, it suffers from a bad built-in CAS, and a dim display. Like you, I'm not holding my breath, waiting for the next OS release. However, with hard work, I was able to remove most of ClassPad's limitations. I simply used my own programs to replace bad built-in functions, and to add new ones. I can say that the result is more than satisfactory: I can now use ClassPad to solve difficult problems, which cannot be solved with TI. For example, can you solve complicated boundary value problems with TI? Can TI solve the system of differential equations
y1'(x) = y1(x)-y2(x)+y3(x),
y2'(x) = (x^2*y1(x)+y2(x))/(x+y(x)^2)
y3'(x) = -y1(x)^2*y3(x)-x*y2(x)
with respect to the boundary conditions y3(0)=-2, y1(2.5)=3, y3(2.5)=4*y2(2.5)?
I bet that it cannot. Believe me, I can, using my ClassPad (and my own programs).

PS: Your "beloved dogs" are really beautiful :). I like dogs as well. My family includes two "furry members", just like yours.


Well, it's obvious that the Classpad can be programmed to solve problems that the built-in CAS cannot. So can a TI. As a matter of fact, the TI 89/TI 92 Plus' built-in basic is more sophisticated in many ways, especially when it comes to user I/O... It's far easier to create dialog boxes, for example, that prompt users for input with radio buttons and drop-down lists. But really, that's neither here nor there. I can program my Elektronika MK-52 to solve some remarkably complex problems as well. But I would most certainly not pay as much for an MK-52 as I would a Classpad or a TI 89.

My disappointment in the Classpad does not center around it's potential. It has more to do with it's implimentation. The display is terrible, the CAS and built-in programmability are (in some ways oddly) limited, the touch screen is so sadly and disappointingly poor in its' implimentation... Overall, it seems a strangely lopsided device. Certainly, it has some features which are nothing short of brilliant. But for me, it's limitations and annoyances outweigh it's merits. It's my opinion, and I've seen nothing in the years I've owned my CLasspad that have changed it.

Now here's something that's probably going to sound strange... I -love- my FX-9860G. I know it's not as powerful as my Classpad. But the display is bright, the keyboard is wonderful... It's fast and fun to use, at least to me.

Oh, and thank you for the compliments about my dogs. For some reason, though, the link for my web site that's in my signature takes you to my old site. Try this link:

http://web.mac.com/drcoyote

There's more pictures there.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users