Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Do You Need A Dictionery On Your Cp?


  • Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1 Behnoud

Behnoud

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 338 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iran

  • Calculators:
    CP 300+ OS2.2/
    FX 3600 pv/
    FX 115 s/
    FX 602P

Posted 19 May 2006 - 07:37 AM

I need too.
It's realy necessary for everybody.
Is there anyone going to creat such application?

#2 R00KIE

R00KIE

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 155 posts
  • Location:Portugal
  • Interests:Electronics, games, programming

  • Calculators:
    HP49G ROM 1.24; CASIO CFX-9850GB PLUS;CASIO FX-6300G; CASIO FX-82TL

Posted 19 May 2006 - 08:46 AM

You have a good point but even with compression that needs huge amounts of space that calculators don't have.

#3 Daruosh

Daruosh

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 285 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tehran - Iran
  • Interests:Computer Programming, Electronics, Image Processing, Neural Networks, AI, System Development, Calc, Guitar, Music,

  • Calculators:
    CP 300 OS 3.03, Algebra FX 2.0 Plus ROM 1.05, CG-20

Posted 20 May 2006 - 01:21 PM

There is no problem for compression. I have done it for CASIO PVS-1600 (English to Persian / Persian to English). I just used 3.4 MB.

#4 The_AFX_Master

The_AFX_Master

    Casio Overlord

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 519 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Black Mesa Research Facility (sector C)
  • Interests:BASIC +FORTRAN 90+ C++.....and HALF LIFE

  • Calculators:
    Casio Algebra FX 2.0 Plus, Casio fx 570 ms, Classpad 300, And a crowbar

Posted 20 May 2006 - 07:54 PM

There is no problem for compression. I have done it for CASIO PVS-1600 (English to Persian / Persian to English). I just used 3.4 MB.


The CP memory is approx 4.5 MB (or 5mb?) ,...really, there is a problem:(

#5 mortezahaydari

mortezahaydari

    Casio Fan

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 34 posts

  • Calculators:
    casio classpad-300
    casio fx-991

Posted 21 May 2006 - 05:52 AM

The CP memory is approx 4.5 MB (or 5mb?) ,...really, there is a problem:(

is it possible to have farsi font easily in cp300?

#6 Behnoud

Behnoud

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 338 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iran

  • Calculators:
    CP 300+ OS2.2/
    FX 3600 pv/
    FX 115 s/
    FX 602P

Posted 21 May 2006 - 06:49 PM

is it possible to have farsi font easily in cp300?



is it possible to have farsi font easily in cp300?



U can just creat ur own font in an Application or Program not as a CP OS font. :banghead:

#7 Daruosh

Daruosh

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 285 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tehran - Iran
  • Interests:Computer Programming, Electronics, Image Processing, Neural Networks, AI, System Development, Calc, Guitar, Music,

  • Calculators:
    CP 300 OS 3.03, Algebra FX 2.0 Plus ROM 1.05, CG-20

Posted 22 May 2006 - 03:06 PM

is it possible to have farsi font easily in cp300?


It's possible, but not easily;) I've developed new character set for the PV-S1600. It's a long time I didn't develop new app for classpad, (now I focus on PocketPC development) but I think an online dictioanry would be a valuable job (In comparssion with games and etc...)

#8 MicroPro

MicroPro

    Casio Overlord

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iran

  • Calculators:
    Casio ClassPad 300

Posted 23 May 2006 - 06:56 AM

About the dictionary: We can use a text-compressing method to reduce the size of the dict.

About the Farsi text editor: Unfortunatly ClassPad does not support a right-to-left editor (though it supports right-to-left text viewer), however, it is possible to build an add-in with a Farsi font.

#9 unique33

unique33

    Casio Freak

  • Possibly hacked
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iran

  • Calculators:
    classpad 300 , fx5500

Posted 23 May 2006 - 06:15 PM

about the font :

Someone said that making classpad (PEG) fonts from windows fonts is as easy as clicking on the mouse

!

#10 MicroPro

MicroPro

    Casio Overlord

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iran

  • Calculators:
    Casio ClassPad 300

Posted 24 May 2006 - 10:38 AM

Hi Friends... Who said this unique33? Even if there is such a program I think it does not support Farsi.

And about my last post: In my last post I had written that there is a Right-to-left viewr, but I just found that there is not one. However it is possible to create a RTL viewer or editor, but it needs some programming (I don't know how much).

#11 Guest_Guest_*

Guest_Guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 May 2006 - 02:05 PM

why Farsi on a calc?

#12 Kilburn

Kilburn

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 491 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:Blah

  • Calculators:
    FX-7500 G
    ClassPad 300

Posted 24 May 2006 - 04:22 PM

What do Farsi font look like? If you want I can try to make a Right To Left text editor... :)

#13 Orwell

Orwell

    Casio Overlord

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 777 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris - France

  • Calculators:
    Casio AFX 1.02 / Casio ClassPad 300

Posted 24 May 2006 - 06:51 PM

What do Farsi font look like? If you want I can't try to make a Right To Left text editor... :)

Well, take a look here :rolleyes:

#14 MicroPro

MicroPro

    Casio Overlord

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iran

  • Calculators:
    Casio ClassPad 300

Posted 28 May 2006 - 11:07 AM

(Sorry if this is very long, I couldn't write shorter descriptions)

For the Farsi editor you must to create a Farsi font, and write a code to convert "abcd" to "dcba" in each line of text.

But the main things are the codes to convert the state of the letters. ie, in English you don't have to worry about the letters' case. You can write your text in small or CAPITAL letters. But in Farsi you should obey the rules about cases (Well, we have not 'case' in Farsi, we usually call them 'styles').

Farsi has 32 letters and about 32*2=64 different cases (styles), but computers support 4 styles for each letter, so the font must support 32*4=128 characters for each of the characters and its styles!! (It is a little too much, isn't it?!)

#15 Behnoud

Behnoud

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 338 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iran

  • Calculators:
    CP 300+ OS2.2/
    FX 3600 pv/
    FX 115 s/
    FX 602P

Posted 30 May 2006 - 05:58 PM

Why we don't attemp to do? :nonono:
We can afford it! :nod:
Let try to make a simple and limited version. ;)

#16 mortezahaydari

mortezahaydari

    Casio Fan

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 34 posts

  • Calculators:
    casio classpad-300
    casio fx-991

Posted 31 May 2006 - 08:52 AM

Why we don't attemp to do? :nonono:
We can afford it! :nod:
Let try to make a simple and limited version. ;)

i say as an iranian farsi talker that farsi is better to be in a trash...

#17 Behnoud

Behnoud

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 338 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iran

  • Calculators:
    CP 300+ OS2.2/
    FX 3600 pv/
    FX 115 s/
    FX 602P

Posted 31 May 2006 - 05:35 PM

I didn't say persian-english dictionary :profanity: ,
we all need an English-English dictionary :banghead:
In Persian:
(lotfan adaie motojaded haie gharb zadaro dar naiar :rant: )

#18 unique33

unique33

    Casio Freak

  • Possibly hacked
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iran

  • Calculators:
    classpad 300 , fx5500

Posted 31 May 2006 - 10:47 PM

i say as an iranian farsi talker that farsi is better to be in a trash...





:angry: :angry: :angry:

:profanity: :profanity: :profanity: :profanity:

:rant: :rant:
hey , that,s you that should be in a ....

#19 SoftCalc

SoftCalc

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR USA

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300 , AFX 2.0, HP-48/49/50, TI-89/92/Voyager, HP Expander, etc...

Posted 01 June 2006 - 02:33 AM

(Sorry if this is very long, I couldn't write shorter descriptions)

For the Farsi editor you must to create a Farsi font, and write a code to convert "abcd" to "dcba" in each line of text.

But the main things are the codes to convert the state of the letters. ie, in English you don't have to worry about the letters' case. You can write your text in small or CAPITAL letters. But in Farsi you should obey the rules about cases (Well, we have not 'case' in Farsi, we usually call them 'styles').

Farsi has 32 letters and about 32*2=64 different cases (styles), but computers support 4 styles for each letter, so the font must support 32*4=128 characters for each of the characters and its styles!! (It is a little too much, isn't it?!)

The ClassPad can support that many characters. Its possible to create a Farsi editor and Farsi font using the SDK.

#20 MicroPro

MicroPro

    Casio Overlord

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iran

  • Calculators:
    Casio ClassPad 300

Posted 01 June 2006 - 10:41 AM

i say as an iranian farsi talker that farsi is better to be in a trash...

OK, so you can throw all of your books, your PC, your things, and your tongue (-> The one inside your mouth) away... Do it right now if you really hate Farsi!

The ClassPad can support that many characters. Its possible to create a Farsi editor and Farsi font using the SDK.

Thanks very much, you mean replacing greek and latin characters with Farsi, don't you?
By telling that Farsi has 128 characters I just meant that it is difficult to build a Farsi program (BTW if you want to include all of the symbols and numbers, it becomes 152 chars).

#21 SoftCalc

SoftCalc

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR USA

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300 , AFX 2.0, HP-48/49/50, TI-89/92/Voyager, HP Expander, etc...

Posted 01 June 2006 - 03:59 PM

Thanks very much, you mean replacing greek and latin characters with Farsi, don't you?
By telling that Farsi has 128 characters I just meant that it is difficult to build a Farsi program (BTW if you want to include all of the symbols and numbers, it becomes 152 chars).

152 chars is no problem for the ClassPad.
The ClassPad uses a multibyte character set (MBCS). A MBCS is similar to Unicode, except unlike Unicode where every character is two bytes, a MBCS has both one byte and two byte characters. ASCII characters are still one byte. If the first byte is a special 'character page' value (for example 0xEC) then it means the character is 2-bytes where the second byte is the offset into that character page.

Look at page 85 of the SDK Programming Guide to see what I mean.
http://www.cpsdk.com...mming Guide.pdf

#22 MicroPro

MicroPro

    Casio Overlord

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iran

  • Calculators:
    Casio ClassPad 300

Posted 06 June 2006 - 12:35 PM

Oh... thanks! But still our problem is the right-to-left text editor.
(Could you please look at the topic "Some Problems with CPEditBox" which I have created in the sdk forum?)

#23 Behnoud

Behnoud

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 338 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iran

  • Calculators:
    CP 300+ OS2.2/
    FX 3600 pv/
    FX 115 s/
    FX 602P

Posted 12 June 2006 - 06:28 PM

:rockband: I am planning to create a Dictionary eActivity,
I mean a *.fls file which contain words.
So it would be highly appreciated if you
kindly send me an english dictionary contents
in a Word or Notepad document. :bow:

#24 MicroPro

MicroPro

    Casio Overlord

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iran

  • Calculators:
    Casio ClassPad 300

Posted 20 June 2006 - 05:13 AM

Hi... Even if you want to embed Oxford Elementary Dictionary it needs about 1.5 Mb space. I think you need to compress it.

#25 Behnoud

Behnoud

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 338 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iran

  • Calculators:
    CP 300+ OS2.2/
    FX 3600 pv/
    FX 115 s/
    FX 602P

Posted 20 June 2006 - 05:50 PM

I have entered a book with 70 pages (25'500 words) to my CP
and it just too 144 KB :o

#26 MicroPro

MicroPro

    Casio Overlord

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iran

  • Calculators:
    Casio ClassPad 300

Posted 24 June 2006 - 08:33 AM

Yes, but probably a dictionary has more than 70 pages. (I don't know, maybe the dictionary didn't take much place. I just heard that Oxford Elementary is 1.5 Megabytes)
And if you want a text, you can perform a character recognition on one of the oxford dictionaries in www.fictionwise.com.

#27 Behnoud

Behnoud

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 338 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iran

  • Calculators:
    CP 300+ OS2.2/
    FX 3600 pv/
    FX 115 s/
    FX 602P

Posted 24 June 2006 - 05:33 PM

I tried before.
but the available formats didn't allow me to access the whole context of dictionary :banghead:

#28 pooyan

pooyan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iran

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300 Plus
    Sharp EL-506W

Posted 05 June 2007 - 06:01 PM

i say as an iranian farsi talker that farsi is better to be in a trash...



cus U dont know anything about Farsi language

:nonono:

#29 Behnoud

Behnoud

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 338 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iran

  • Calculators:
    CP 300+ OS2.2/
    FX 3600 pv/
    FX 115 s/
    FX 602P

Posted 13 June 2007 - 06:13 PM

cus U dont know anything about Farsi language

:nonono:

لطفا خودتو ناراحت نكن!
ديكشنريي داري كه كلمات را با معنيشون پشت سر هم نشون بده؟
مثله اين:
Water: آب
Watery: آبكي
.
.
.
Zip: زيپ
تا بشه كپي شون كرد؟!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users