Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Dsp (digital Signal Processor)


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 far2055

far2055

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 67 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iran
  • Interests:Robotics - Programming - Mathematics - Physics - Computer <br />ANN ( Artificial Neural Network )<br />QBasic Lover-->before-->now-&gt;*CPLua&quot; Lover.

  • Calculators:
    classpad 300

Posted 31 December 2006 - 05:12 PM

Is there any body in forum who interested in makeing some program for classpad's on chip DSP?

It is a really worthy part of classpad that no one plan to use it yet. It can do numerical process with great performance. For example as a very normal usage it is able to do an addition and a multiple in the same time (parallel processing) and so more about parallel processing.

#2 Kilburn

Kilburn

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 491 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:Blah

  • Calculators:
    FX-7500 G
    ClassPad 300

Posted 31 December 2006 - 07:43 PM

Yay for threads :D

But are you sure ClassPad has a DSP ? If I remember, its processor is a SH-3, not a SH-3 DSP. :huh:
Can you give an example code that works ?

#3 The_AFX_Master

The_AFX_Master

    Casio Overlord

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 519 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Black Mesa Research Facility (sector C)
  • Interests:BASIC +FORTRAN 90+ C++.....and HALF LIFE

  • Calculators:
    Casio Algebra FX 2.0 Plus, Casio fx 570 ms, Classpad 300, And a crowbar

Posted 31 December 2006 - 10:36 PM

First: Happy New Year!..

I'm not see it clear.. You are sure that the CP have that kind of "processor", (i don't know exactly what is it).
far2055, you say that this is a parallel processor unit!! :o . that's kinda: G R E A T!. How to program that thing? (if it exists).. we need assembly?, or with a language as C++ is possible?

Please, explain more :D

#4 vanhoa

vanhoa

    Casio Overlord

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 854 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vietnam

  • Calculators:
    AFX 2.0, CP 300, CP 330, nSpire, TI 89, FX 5800

Posted 01 January 2007 - 02:12 AM

Yes, we can, use asm! All chips can be dsp, but the pb is how to program it...

#5 The_AFX_Master

The_AFX_Master

    Casio Overlord

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 519 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Black Mesa Research Facility (sector C)
  • Interests:BASIC +FORTRAN 90+ C++.....and HALF LIFE

  • Calculators:
    Casio Algebra FX 2.0 Plus, Casio fx 570 ms, Classpad 300, And a crowbar

Posted 01 January 2007 - 08:00 PM

ASM :(, seems to be kinda hard to program. There isn't a option on another high level language? ie C++?

#6 Behnoud

Behnoud

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 338 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iran

  • Calculators:
    CP 300+ OS2.2/
    FX 3600 pv/
    FX 115 s/
    FX 602P

Posted 02 January 2007 - 06:01 PM

What is a Dsp?
Is it a hidden aspect of our CPs?

#7 Kilburn

Kilburn

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 491 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:Blah

  • Calculators:
    FX-7500 G
    ClassPad 300

Posted 02 January 2007 - 07:08 PM

Yes, we can, use asm! All chips can be dsp, but the pb is how to program it...


Wow, seems that vanhoa is a great CPU expert. :roflol:

Btw, everything you can do in ASM can be done in C++. It's just faster.

#8 far2055

far2055

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 67 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iran
  • Interests:Robotics - Programming - Mathematics - Physics - Computer <br />ANN ( Artificial Neural Network )<br />QBasic Lover-->before-->now-&gt;*CPLua&quot; Lover.

  • Calculators:
    classpad 300

Posted 03 January 2007 - 09:36 AM

I am not still sure that classpad has a DSP.

I am in a journey and I can not check the SDK. I think that I saw some DSP functions in SDK like FFT(Fast Fourier Transform), can any one check SDK documents for that?



Yes, we can, use asm! All chips can be dsp, but the pb is how to program it...




vanhoa DSP is a complicated processor and it used for real-time processing. It uses special architecture (like Harvard architecture) to do parallel process and parallel memory access. It can calculate Fourier transform for a signal in real-time by its special hardware.By "parallel process" I don't mean a complete parallel processing, It doesn't built to do that, It just can do some calculation in parallel as I said.



About the programing:

Of course you can use ASM either C but unfortuanetly by using C language you will just make your DSP as low performance as a very normal processors( and even micro-controllers)!

So using C is just a mistake. For example in DSP you shouldn't use array! It doesn't mean that DSP can not use array, using array in a DSP just kill the profermance! instead you should just useing the pointers and by a pointer you can simulate exactly what an array does and also by doing an add and mul in one cycle you can access the data you stored as a table.

It is really difficult to explain how DSPs work and how should write a program for them. You can fine some information in SH3 manual and DSP books.



for more information please check out wikipedia:

http://en.wikipedia....gnal_processing

http://en.wikipedia....ignal_processor



Happy new year :)

#9 Kilburn

Kilburn

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 491 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:Blah

  • Calculators:
    FX-7500 G
    ClassPad 300

Posted 03 January 2007 - 01:58 PM

So ClassPad probably doesn't have a DSP. We know that the CPU of the ClassPad is a SH-3 type, not a SH3-DSP. Some functions are specific to the SH3-DSP and cannot be used with the SH3

#10 hazhiriq

hazhiriq

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Interests:Electrical engineering<br />Communication

  • Calculators:
    Classpad 300plus

Posted 06 January 2007 - 07:19 PM

Hi I am so happy that after long time someone start something in field of electerical engineering ?

#11 far2055

far2055

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 67 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iran
  • Interests:Robotics - Programming - Mathematics - Physics - Computer <br />ANN ( Artificial Neural Network )<br />QBasic Lover-->before-->now-&gt;*CPLua&quot; Lover.

  • Calculators:
    classpad 300

Posted 09 January 2007 - 10:42 PM

Hi I am so happy that after long time someone start something in field of electerical engineering ?

Hi Hazhiriq. Do you have any idea in field the of electerical engineering about cla$$pad?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users