Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Symbolix Computer Algebra System


  • Please log in to reply
77 replies to this topic

#41 kucalc

kucalc

    Casio Maniac

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1422 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Programming: C/C++, Fortran, LISP, COBOL 85 Standard, PHP, x86 and SH3 Assembly<br /><br />Computer graphics

  • Calculators:
    fx-9860G / fx-7400G Plus / Algebra FX 2.0+ / fx-9770G / CFX-9850G / CFX-9850GB+ / TI-89 / TI-nSpire

Posted 10 June 2008 - 05:27 AM

Ok, let's get things straight. People always keep emailing me the same questions... I was not paid by CASIO to stop development. What happened was we had a school project and we decided to build a graphing calculator. I suggested that we use Symbolix, so my partners FTPed into my computer, grabbed Symbolix, and since they thought I wouldn't work on it anymore, deleted my copy. I didn't find out until a couple of days later when I wanted to work on it, that it got deleted and they already did some heavy damage to the code. At that point, I thought I would just give up. Calc limitations, school projects, school testing.... the pressure was getting to me. I decided to go on hiatus from my calc projects and halt them. However, it pained me to go out without a bang. The school year is almost over for me, so I thought I would light up some fireworks and start working on some new projects (see my sig).

Because I've been getting numerous emails to bring back Symbolix, I'm now back on working on it. With the original source code lost, I rewrote Symbolix from what I have in my mind. I've got new features in the works, but for now I thought it would be sufficient to release a version with the same features that's more stable, rather than releasing v0.5 that's a bit buggy (for now).

And just for fun, I created a little video demonstrating Symbolix:
  • Viliami likes this

#42 k3v

k3v

    Casio Fan

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 40 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia

  • Calculators:
    Casio Classpad 300 Plus \
    2 x Casio Fx-9860AU \
    Casio CFX-9850GB Plus \

Posted 17 July 2008 - 07:13 AM

Lol @ that Vid, Epic Soundtrack

#43 Guest_mARDOXX_*

Guest_mARDOXX_*
  • Guests

Posted 12 December 2008 - 11:02 PM

Is Symbolix still being developed?
or has it been replaced by this: http://cas.jeuxcasio.com/en/?

#44 kucalc

kucalc

    Casio Maniac

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1422 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Programming: C/C++, Fortran, LISP, COBOL 85 Standard, PHP, x86 and SH3 Assembly<br /><br />Computer graphics

  • Calculators:
    fx-9860G / fx-7400G Plus / Algebra FX 2.0+ / fx-9770G / CFX-9850G / CFX-9850GB+ / TI-89 / TI-nSpire

Posted 13 December 2008 - 06:34 AM

Symbolix has never been replaced. Right now, I'm doing a couple of side projects.

What specifically are you looking for as in terms of features?

#45 Guest_Mardoxx_*

Guest_Mardoxx_*
  • Guests

Posted 13 December 2008 - 10:10 PM

Ahh ok, well... here's a ...few?... features for when you have time :P

Variables to be single letters - no need for ab to be parsed as constant "ab" should be parsed as aXb... if variable needs to be "aa" or such, should be put around special characters? like square brackets maybe.
Parenthesis thing solved? asin closing bracket - it doesn't matter if it is there or not
Integration (partial - including +Constant... and contestant finder)
Rearranging of equations (can already be done with solver though)
History (replay) with arrow keys and ability to move cursor
scrolling of window to view history maybe, with f6 key or other?
scrolling window for long equations
Sub Script/Super Script
Super Script for powers
"text book" natural display for fractions/roots etc etc (ability to turn on/off in settings?) [replace * for X or / for division sign etc]
"text book" natural input of equations:
...d/dVAR2 for just partial differentiation
...dVAR1/dVAR2 for differentiation
...integral with no limits for partial integration [equation dVAR2]
Limits (like as x tends towards 0)
Integrals to +/-infinity
Limits to infinity
differential equations? [would be hard to do though]
Taylor/Maclaurin series expansion to n degrees
Summation of equations to nth degree then simplifying

Just things like that
I'll think of more if you want?



Making it open source? [BIG MAYBE]

Thanks in advance :D

#46 Guest_Mardoxx_*

Guest_Mardoxx_*
  • Guests

Posted 14 December 2008 - 12:23 AM

Constant finder, rather... not contestant finder... damn spellchecker..

#47 wolfmoon

wolfmoon

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

  • Calculators:
    9860g

Posted 17 January 2009 - 07:27 PM

is there any hope for a new version?

#48 kucalc

kucalc

    Casio Maniac

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1422 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Programming: C/C++, Fortran, LISP, COBOL 85 Standard, PHP, x86 and SH3 Assembly<br /><br />Computer graphics

  • Calculators:
    fx-9860G / fx-7400G Plus / Algebra FX 2.0+ / fx-9770G / CFX-9850G / CFX-9850GB+ / TI-89 / TI-nSpire

Posted 08 March 2009 - 10:47 PM

^Yes, but most likely not for the fx-9860G. Symbolix is still in development. Here's Symbolix running on a Falcon 64 prototype with new features such as integration, better support for trig, advance equation solving, taylor polynomials, etc.:

Posted Image

Posted Image

#49 mintsmike

mintsmike

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 115 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Great Britain

  • Calculators:
    fx-5500L, fx-991ES,fx-9860SD (with GII SD OS), Casio Classpad 330, MS Windows Calc, Ubuntu Calc, a Hammer and my Brain!

Posted 13 March 2009 - 08:34 PM

Is there any chance that you could port the CAS to the PC? It looks very interesting from the pictures that you have posted.

#50 Guest_Guest_*

Guest_Guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 25 April 2009 - 11:59 PM

sweet!

would be awesome if you could make a stripped down version for 9860 though :P

#51 kucalc

kucalc

    Casio Maniac

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1422 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Programming: C/C++, Fortran, LISP, COBOL 85 Standard, PHP, x86 and SH3 Assembly<br /><br />Computer graphics

  • Calculators:
    fx-9860G / fx-7400G Plus / Algebra FX 2.0+ / fx-9770G / CFX-9850G / CFX-9850GB+ / TI-89 / TI-nSpire

Posted 26 April 2009 - 12:56 AM

I wish we could. However, Symbolix (as of the latest build) requires a a whole meg of RAM to operate. I'm pretty sure the fx-9860G does not have that much available RAM.

#52 Manuel Naranjo

Manuel Naranjo

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 65 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rosario, Argentina

Posted 27 April 2009 - 02:00 AM

What about implementing some sort of swapping? We have plenty of memory if we can use an SD card as swap. I know this will be slower, but would allow extending memory like hell.

#53 Guest_guest_*

Guest_guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 29 April 2009 - 10:49 PM

iirc it has 1.5megs of ram


but yeah, swapping sounds interesting :P

would be rather.. very slow though

#54 3298

3298

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 78 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

  • Calculators:
    fx-9750G Plus
    Algebra FX 2.0 (ROM 1.03,broken)
    HP 50G

Posted 30 April 2009 - 09:45 AM

No, 1.5MB RAM is wrong.
It has 4MB of flash (1.5MB "Storage Memory" can be used to store add-ins and other stuff). The RAM is much smaller: 512KB (64KB "Main Memory" for user).
@Manuel Naranjo:
Not all fx-9860 models have SD cards, so that isn't the best solution.

#55 Manuel Naranjo

Manuel Naranjo

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 65 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rosario, Argentina

Posted 01 May 2009 - 12:58 AM

No, 1.5MB RAM is wrong.
It has 4MB of flash (1.5MB "Storage Memory" can be used to store add-ins and other stuff). The RAM is much smaller: 512KB (64KB "Main Memory" for user).

mhh 64kB isn't enough for anything.

@Manuel Naranjo:
Not all fx-9860 models have SD cards, so that isn't the best solution.

Well it's a solution after all. Unless someone finds a way to add a memory chip to the device. It's been a long since last time I opened my calc. Maybe it can be hacked.

Still using the SD for swapping is something that should be taken into account. Any chance anyone can take a look at symbolix code just to see how it can be implemented?

#56 mintsmike

mintsmike

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 115 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Great Britain

  • Calculators:
    fx-5500L, fx-991ES,fx-9860SD (with GII SD OS), Casio Classpad 330, MS Windows Calc, Ubuntu Calc, a Hammer and my Brain!

Posted 02 May 2009 - 09:27 AM

mhh 64kB isn't enough for anything.


Well it's a solution after all. Unless someone finds a way to add a memory chip to the device. It's been a long since last time I opened my calc. Maybe it can be hacked.

Still using the SD for swapping is something that should be taken into account. Any chance anyone can take a look at symbolix code just to see how it can be implemented?


I think such an action would be incredibly tricky and takes a lot more than it gives if you know what I mean.

Swapping is definetely a good idea (or mabye im biased), bt Symbolix code is proprietary (I dont think we even get the code for the calculator version, otherwise I could implement the CAS that I programmed).

Regards,
mintsmike

#57 Guest_Guest_amin_*_*

Guest_Guest_amin_*_*
  • Guests

Posted 09 June 2009 - 02:44 PM

good but some times its give failures.

im offer in new version add:

1-symbolic determinan

2-symbolic or non_symbolic adjoint of a matrix

3-symbolic or non_symbolic rank of matrix


its very necessary for electrical Engineering.

you can calculate rank of matrix with SVD method.

thank you

#58 Guest_Derek_*

Guest_Derek_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 November 2009 - 02:48 AM

how can you download a .rar file such as symbolix? does it appear as a new icon in the menu? nothing is working for me.

#59 Guest_Matthew_*

Guest_Matthew_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 December 2009 - 05:45 PM

I have FA-124 and I downloaded the Symbolix. How do I transport your program on the casio FX-9860GII????Please tell me the steps or make a video.

#60 Guest_Mike_*

Guest_Mike_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 December 2009 - 06:08 PM

I downloaded the program renamed it to put it on FA-124, and i transported it. When I go to memories on the calculaor fx-9860GII, it is there but I dont know how to use it. Please help me.

#61 Guest_Matt_*

Guest_Matt_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 December 2009 - 06:20 PM

How do I convert the rar to the casio format?

#62 kucalc

kucalc

    Casio Maniac

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1422 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Programming: C/C++, Fortran, LISP, COBOL 85 Standard, PHP, x86 and SH3 Assembly<br /><br />Computer graphics

  • Calculators:
    fx-9860G / fx-7400G Plus / Algebra FX 2.0+ / fx-9770G / CFX-9850G / CFX-9850GB+ / TI-89 / TI-nSpire

Posted 24 December 2009 - 05:57 AM

You need to download WinRAR you can extract the addin from the archive: http://www.rarlab.com/download.htm

#63 Guest_Baz_*

Guest_Baz_*
  • Guests

Posted 04 January 2010 - 12:47 AM

Hey guys

i was wondering with this calculator is there anyway i could do symbolic integration? or is this completely implausible?

#64 Guest_Flip_*

Guest_Flip_*
  • Guests

Posted 27 October 2010 - 03:53 PM

It is possible to use symbolix to solve partial fractions?


(x + 3)
-----------------
(x - 8) (x + 5)


into

11 2
---------- + -----------
13 (x - 8) 13 (x + 5)


http://en.wikipedia....artial_fraction

#65 Vinx

Vinx

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 72 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Thai
  • Interests:Insight meditation

  • Calculators:
    PRIZM fx-CG 10
    Classpad 330
    fx-9750GII, fx-9860GII SD
    fx-9860G SD, fx-9860G Slim
    Algebra FX 2.0 plus
    CFX-9850GB plus, CFX-9970G
    fx-7400G plus, fx-9750G plus
    fx-9700GE, CFX-9800G
    fx-7700GB*, fx-7700GE
    fx-7000G, fx-7500G
    fx-5500L*, fx-6300G
    fx-4500P*, fx-5800P

    * once in use, now lost/dead.

Posted 07 November 2010 - 07:22 PM

Symbolix seems to be suspended from development for long time.
Is it possible that the development will continue on Casio PRIZM?
Since the PRIZM's storage memory is as large as 16Mb which is enough for swapping of some code back & forth the RAM (61kb), so, if the code swapping is possible by programming, low RAM should not be a problem anymore.

#66 Dupl3xx

Dupl3xx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

  • Calculators:
    fx-9860g SD

Posted 02 April 2011 - 03:44 PM

hello, is possible calculate second derivation ? or i must calculate first and again derivation .. thx

#67 paul44

paul44

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

  • Calculators:
    casio fx 9860GII.

Posted 13 February 2012 - 09:51 AM

Hello rakiem, it seems that that addin got corrupted during the file transfer. What I suggest you do is clean out the STORAGE memory and Optimize it. Then download Symbolix into the calculator again.


I don't think I understand what you are completely saying. You want to translate some LISP code into C, right?



Hi
I have got the same problem with symbolix,just get the system ERROR screen,have tried the clean out STORAGE memory and Optimized,
and downloaded Symbolix again but still the same problem.can you please help Thanyou.

#68 scientifix

scientifix

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 78 posts

  • Calculators:
    fx9860gII

Posted 08 February 2013 - 03:35 PM

Hi everybody,
Could you make a Symbolix v0.45 version for SH4 please ?
It would be very helpful !
Thank you !
scientifix

#69 LexPoo

LexPoo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

  • Calculators:
    fx-9750GII but with fx-9860GII OS

Posted 03 March 2014 - 04:07 PM

I have been getting the same error as Rakiem was
System ERROR
REBOOT : [EXIT ]
INITIALIALIZE:EXE
TLB ERROR!!
TARGET=000000
PC =0000000
I have the casio fx-9860gII verios 02.02.0201. I don't know how to fix it, if the problem is due to the latest version not working on the fx-9860 then could someone link me an older version? Thankyou.

#70 3298

3298

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 78 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

  • Calculators:
    fx-9750G Plus
    Algebra FX 2.0 (ROM 1.03,broken)
    HP 50G

Posted 03 March 2014 - 04:41 PM

Symbolix has never been SH4-compatible, so an earlier version will not help. (All 9860-derived calculators with version 2.02 have a SH4 inside.) I even think some of kucalc's tricks already had problems on 2.00 and 2.01.
Since kucalc hasn't been around for ... quite some time, your options are:
- get another CAS (jeuxcasio or Eigenmath, both a bit limited, but Symbolix is as well) or
- write another one yourself or fix up / expand an existing one or
- get another calculator with built-in CAS (maybe even smartphone or PC with a calculator emulator or a dedicated CAS on them) or
- do whatever you need to do by hand, almost always it isn't that hard.

#71 flyingfisch

flyingfisch

    Casio Maniac

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1891 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:OH,USA
  • Interests:Aviation, Skiing, Programming, Mountain Biking.

  • Calculators:
    fx-9860GII
    fx-CG10 PRIZM

Posted 03 March 2014 - 05:02 PM

Does your calculator say "Power Graphic 2" on the front (under the screen)?

#72 LexPoo

LexPoo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

  • Calculators:
    fx-9750GII but with fx-9860GII OS

Posted 04 March 2014 - 03:44 PM

No my calculator says just POWER GRAPHIC. Thanks for clearing it up 3298. I have never actually done any programming myself so I will probably use the jeuxcasio as I doubt I'll be any good.

#73 flyingfisch

flyingfisch

    Casio Maniac

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1891 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:OH,USA
  • Interests:Aviation, Skiing, Programming, Mountain Biking.

  • Calculators:
    fx-9860GII
    fx-CG10 PRIZM

Posted 05 March 2014 - 01:41 AM

I have never actually done any programming myself so I will probably use the jeuxcasio as I doubt I'll be any good.


Why would you use something you doubt will be any good? (just curious)

#74 LexPoo

LexPoo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

  • Calculators:
    fx-9750GII but with fx-9860GII OS

Posted 05 March 2014 - 04:20 PM

Why would you use something you doubt will be any good? (just curious)

I mean I doubt I'll be very good at programming, so I will use CAS.

I have downloaded CAS off http://cas.jeuxcasio.com/en/. I couldn't find a manual for it. Does anyone know how to use its intergration function or is it just not working?

Edited by LexPoo, 05 March 2014 - 04:21 PM.


#75 flyingfisch

flyingfisch

    Casio Maniac

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1891 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:OH,USA
  • Interests:Aviation, Skiing, Programming, Mountain Biking.

  • Calculators:
    fx-9860GII
    fx-CG10 PRIZM

Posted 06 March 2014 - 04:00 AM

I mean I doubt I'll be very good at programming, so I will use CAS.

Oh, ok I see. :)

I have downloaded CAS off http://cas.jeuxcasio.com/en/. I couldn't find a manual for it. Does anyone know how to use its intergration function or is it just not working?

I'm not exactly sure... I will see if I can figure it out tomorrow morning. ;)

#76 scientifix

scientifix

    Casio Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 78 posts

  • Calculators:
    fx9860gII

Posted 12 March 2014 - 07:07 PM

Enter intgr (function, variable)
To get intgr ( press F1and 2.
Intgr ( is not working for all the functions, trigonometrical functions aren t working for example

#77 LexPoo

LexPoo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

  • Calculators:
    fx-9750GII but with fx-9860GII OS

Posted 19 March 2014 - 04:34 PM

Sorry for the late reply, but I have got it to work I just didn't realize you had to specify a variable.
Big thanks :rolleyes:

Edited by LexPoo, 19 March 2014 - 04:37 PM.


#78 flyingfisch

flyingfisch

    Casio Maniac

  • Deputy
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1891 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:OH,USA
  • Interests:Aviation, Skiing, Programming, Mountain Biking.

  • Calculators:
    fx-9860GII
    fx-CG10 PRIZM

Posted 22 March 2014 - 07:36 PM

Sorry for the late reply, but I have got it to work I just didn't realize you had to specify a variable.
Big thanks :rolleyes:


Cool, glad you got it working :)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users