tuxster

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

• Calculators:
    Classpad 330
    HP50G+

Posted 02 September 2008 - 06:11 PM

I am new to the Classpad 330 and am having some difficulty entering polar calculations.
example would be impedance calcualtions for single phase circuits:
(3+j7)+(6-j5) = take the answer and divide it by voltage which is expressed as a polar value ie (28kv<38)

This involves quick on the fly Pol to Rec conversions.

I can enter the rectangular values but am having difficulty converting to polar and entering polar values.

Any help would be appreciated.

#2 tuxster

tuxster

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

• Calculators:
    Classpad 330
    HP50G+

Posted 03 September 2008 - 04:28 PM

Anyone help me out here?

Is there another forum that I should be asking?

#3 weirleader

weirleader

• Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts

• Calculators:
    ClassPad 330
    fx-CG10 Prizm
    fx-9860GII
    fx-9750GII

Posted 03 September 2008 - 05:34 PM

I am new to the Classpad 330 and am having some difficulty entering polar calculations.
example would be impedance calcualtions for single phase circuits:
(3+j7)+(6-j5) = take the answer and divide it by voltage which is expressed as a polar value ie (28kv<38)

This involves quick on the fly Pol to Rec conversions.

I can enter the rectangular values but am having difficulty converting to polar and entering polar values.

Any help would be appreciated.

I don't know if I can help - but I'd like to figure this out. It's been 12+ years since I've done stuff like this and I'm pretty rusty.

CP seems to distinguish between complex-polar and real-polar values. For instance, if you use the expression comToPol(1+j) you get sqrt(2)e^(pi/4*j) -- whereas if you use the rectangular expression toPol([1,1]) you get [sqrt(2), <pi/4] (in radian mode)