saad

• Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

• Calculators:
    Casio Prizm

Posted 25 April 2012 - 12:35 AM

Hello to all,

I would like to ask the owners of prizm on their and opnion on prizm . do you guys think that it should been better? like having CAS out of the box or much faster processor to help speeder graphing in comparison to old casio models as well as ti nspire ?. Lets start with me , i am in my 3rd year of chemistry major , i bought prizm about 4 months a go and had fx-991ms as calculator from high school till i bought prizm . I started learning the functions on prizm immediately as i wanted to apply these to my chemistry given questiosn such as finding triple point carbon dioxide from given graph , complex calculation, finding unknown variable ,...etc. But i realized now that the calculator is limited as i started doing physical chemistry ( quantum mechanics for chemistry). For example, in my course i was asked to confrom that given schrodinger equation for certain electron is orthogonal equation , however the equation had imaginary symbol (i) and i had to integrated from 0 to 2pi but the calculator was not able as it can only do real numbers. another instance was to calculate the maximum probability of which a given schrodinger equation electron is found . But you cant do that on the calculator because it cannot solve the second derivative when x=0 as i found out later when i googled that. These are just many problems that faced as using the calculator. but someone is gonna ask , well you are only doing physical chemistry one time. The answer is unfortunately that i have at least 5 more courses of diffrent kinds of physical chemistry as specialized in materiel science . Now i am thinking whether i want to buy nscpire cas to solve my problems because i download the emulator and punched the equation that prizm couldn't solve and gave me the right answer . what should i do ?

Edited by saad, 25 April 2012 - 12:35 AM.

#2 flyingfisch

flyingfisch

Casio Maniac