25 replies to this topic

#1 Misel

Misel

• Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 12 October 2002 - 04:45 PM

First of all, hello :)

Recently I started studying and I've chosen the CASIO Algebra FX2.0 as my guide.

The basic things (that what's already installed) that the calculater is capable of is more or less easy to understand. But I know that it's programmable as well and the basic language provided by CASIO is umm, very basic. But I read that you can program in C and assembler as well. I'm sure there must be a little how-to guide for that - I just haven't found it so far.

Then of course the programs must be transferred (that's why I bought the FX-Link-Kit). And in my research I found 4 (FOUR!! :o ) different programs to transfer 3 different kinds of file-types to the FX2.0.

There is the FX-Link-Kit program for the *.pg -files,
the FA-123 for the*.cat files and
the Add-in Installer and Flash-Com for the *.cfx-files.

while the latter one is a precompiled format, I guess, the two former ones are plain text and should contain programs written in the basic-language of the FX2.0. But what are the dis-/advantages of each formats?

These are my basic questions for now ;)

Thanx a lot in advance.

#2 Exca

Exca

Casio Addict

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 77 posts

Posted 12 October 2002 - 05:13 PM

The *.cat is a format for fa-123 program, dunno more about that :)

*.cfx is as you say a precompiled format. I haven't used cfx since ~1 a year now, as you can transfer exe's directly to your calc. One good program for transferring is flascom which you may find somewhere (I still can't remember the urls) :).

Only one that has disadvantages is the cfx-format, as with that you can't install many files to one drive (or can you?) and when installing with add-in-installer it always loads your old files and then starts uploading.

#3 Killer83Z

Killer83Z

Casio CEO

• [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 427 posts
  • Interests:Guitar, Piano, Music, UCN<br />

• Calculators: