Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Some ClassPad buyer questions....


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 mindwaves1

mindwaves1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts

Posted 14 September 2003 - 03:21 AM

I want to get a Classpad now!!
However, I have some questions first....

1) Does it contain a link to the computer?
2) Does it support Mac OS X?
3) Does it have some sort of calendar program on it?

Thanks.

For question 1, Casio's site says unit to unit, but Classpad.org says both (I think) so I am unsure...

#2 PJay

PJay

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 260 posts
  • Gender:Male

  • Calculators:
    Casio fx-991ES Plus

Posted 14 September 2003 - 09:50 AM

1) Yes, CP 300 contain a link to the computer ( USB Cable with 3 speed : 9600, 38400, 115200 bps AND Cable Model is : SB-300 or SB 305 ) And SB-62 Cable for ClassPad to ClassPad ! :hammer:
2) No, (unsure :( )
3) No, (unsure :( )

More ...

#3 Lovecasio

Lovecasio

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 242 posts
  • Location:Hochiminh city Vietnam
  • Interests:Organic chemistry.<br />Pharmacy

  • Calculators:
    fx 570 MS, Casio AFX 2.0+, ClassPad 300

Posted 14 September 2003 - 11:10 AM

I have just bought the Classpad yesterday.
In its box, there is a CD Rom which contain Classpad Manager (Program Link) and Userguide in many languages. There are also a USB cable and 3 pin cable. I try to connect the Classpad to the computer, it is easy.
May i ask you what Mac OS X mean ? and what is your country?
I am from Viet Nam.

#4 huhn_m

huhn_m

    Casio Maniac

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1957 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany / Dresden
  • Interests:Assembler(!!!)
    Computers and Programming
    Operating Systems
    Programmable Calculators
    Maths and everything arround it

  • Calculators:
    FX-82SX / AFX 2.0+ (ROM 1.03) / FX 1.0+ (ROM 1.03)

Posted 14 September 2003 - 12:17 PM

If I remember right mindwaves is from spain.

And mac OS X? You haven't heared about apple computers? This are special computers not 100% compatible to
IBM that run faster than IBM PC's and are cheaper but don'T run all windows/dos software. The newes apple computers
run with Mac OS X as operating system. (just like you use windows (except mac os surely doesn't crash as often as windows does :) ))

#5 mindwaves1

mindwaves1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts

Posted 14 September 2003 - 12:56 PM

hehee...I am from the U.S. actually. Mac OS X is another operating system much like Windows and <{GNULINUX}>. It is made by a company called Apple (www.apple.com). If you can check the box or the manuals for me, what does it say for the systerm requirements? Thanks everyone.

#6 betoe

betoe

    UCF Spanish Translator

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 846 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guadalajara/Mazatlan, Mexico.
  • Interests:Electronics, SW development, automotive. Swim->bike->run

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0 (R.I.P.), Classpad 300

Posted 14 September 2003 - 02:15 PM

The classpad userguide its in spanish too? I think that i will receive my classpad in about 2 weeks, i hope.

#7 Lovecasio

Lovecasio

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 242 posts
  • Location:Hochiminh city Vietnam
  • Interests:Organic chemistry.<br />Pharmacy

  • Calculators:
    fx 570 MS, Casio AFX 2.0+, ClassPad 300

Posted 15 September 2003 - 12:05 AM

Yes, Betoe, there are five languages: English, French, German, Portuguese and SPANISH
I hope you will get your Classpad soon. :rolleyes:

#8 Lovecasio

Lovecasio

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 242 posts
  • Location:Hochiminh city Vietnam
  • Interests:Organic chemistry.<br />Pharmacy

  • Calculators:
    fx 570 MS, Casio AFX 2.0+, ClassPad 300

Posted 15 September 2003 - 12:08 AM

Hi Mindwaves1, this is the quote from Classpad manager user manual:

System Requirements
Computer: Minimum required Intel? Pentium? II 200 with USB
Recommended Intel? Pentium? II 300 with USB
CPU: Minimum required Intel? Pentium? II or AMD DuronTM
Operating Systems: Windows? 98SE/Me or Windows? 2000/XP
Disk Space: 10 MB available for installation
Memory: Recommended 32 MB (Minimum 16 MB)
Does not include memory required for Operating System.
Video Display: Video adaptor and monitor must support resolution of 800 ? 600 or higher.
Other
Required Application: Microsoft ? Internet Explorer 4.01 or later

Is it satisfied?

#9 mindwaves1

mindwaves1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts

Posted 15 September 2003 - 12:44 AM

Thank you LoveCasio. It has helped me. It does not support Macintosh as the earlier models had before. I am not sure if I want it now. I have Virtual PC, but I really want to run it natively. Thanks again!

#10 CrimsonCasio

CrimsonCasio

    UCF Ambassador

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3579 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Claculators, Stephen King, Video Games, Calculators, Programming, Calculators, Reading, Calculators... hmm, what else... Ah! Calculators!

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0, CFX 9850Ga+, Classpad 300

Posted 15 September 2003 - 12:57 AM

I'll look into it, I'll try to find out if Casio intends to release a Mac version, I know the final version has yet to be released.

#11 SoftCalc

SoftCalc

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR USA

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300 , AFX 2.0, HP-48/49/50, TI-89/92/Voyager, HP Expander, etc...

Posted 15 September 2003 - 02:30 AM

1) Link to a computer -- Yes
2) Support Mac OS X -- Maybe, I can find out and let you know
3) Calander - No, not yet. I'd imagine someone is bound to write one if Casio doesn't.

#12 mindwaves1

mindwaves1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts

Posted 15 September 2003 - 02:51 AM

I'll look into it, I'll try to find out if Casio intends to release a Mac version, I know the final version has yet to be released.

Thanks everyone. CrimsonCasio, can you also please give me an e-mail address so that I can "persuade" them to release a Mac version? Thanks SoftCalc also!

#13 PJay

PJay

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 260 posts
  • Gender:Male

  • Calculators:
    Casio fx-991ES Plus

Posted 15 September 2003 - 09:36 AM

Please visit : http://classpad.net and http://classpad.net/...cp_manager.html :hammer:

#14 CrimsonCasio

CrimsonCasio

    UCF Ambassador

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3579 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Claculators, Stephen King, Video Games, Calculators, Programming, Calculators, Reading, Calculators... hmm, what else... Ah! Calculators!

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0, CFX 9850Ga+, Classpad 300

Posted 15 September 2003 - 03:52 PM

3) Calander - No, not yet. I'd imagine someone is bound to write one if Casio doesn't.

If we knew how to upload exe files to the classpad then I'm sure it would be very easy to do that, in the mean time I am writing a little task manager program that lets you write down any notes you have for the week (organized by day). of course I cant keep track of what day it is or anything... :( oh well.

#15 SoftCalc

SoftCalc

    Casio Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR USA

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300 , AFX 2.0, HP-48/49/50, TI-89/92/Voyager, HP Expander, etc...

Posted 16 September 2003 - 12:02 AM

A Mac version of the Classpad Manager is not available at this time. If one will be available in the future in unsure.

#16 Andrzej

Andrzej

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
  • Location:Olsztyn, Poland

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300

Posted 16 September 2003 - 06:18 AM

A Mac version of the Classpad Manager is not available at this time. If one will be available in the future in unsure.

It is rather sure that there will be a mac version of the Classpad Manager.
Casio can't discriminate so large number of Mac users. ;) not for long B)

#17 PJay

PJay

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 260 posts
  • Gender:Male

  • Calculators:
    Casio fx-991ES Plus

Posted 16 September 2003 - 07:27 AM

One question :
The speed of USB 1.1 port is 12Mbps ! But the maximum speed of CP 300's I/O USB port is 115200Kbps !
Why ? :(

#18 Andrzej

Andrzej

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
  • Location:Olsztyn, Poland

  • Calculators:
    ClassPad 300

Posted 16 September 2003 - 11:34 AM

Probably hardware do not allow for faster transmision :hammer: , but who need's more?
It runs really fast enought... for now :D

#19 mindwaves1

mindwaves1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts

Posted 16 September 2003 - 01:21 PM

I sure hope that they support the Mac! The Mac still has a large user base in education and that is also what Casio supports also. It only makes sense...

#20 DrCoyote

DrCoyote

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cleveland, Ohio USA

  • Calculators:
    CFX-9850GB PLUS, FX-9860G, TI 92+, TI89 Titanium, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CAS, TI 84+ SE, HP 50G, HP 35S, Elektronika MK-90, Elektronika MK-52, Elektronika MK-61, Elektronika B3-21, Elektronika MK-152, Elektronika MK-161, Sharp EL-9900

Posted 03 November 2003 - 08:22 PM

There's two main reasons my ClassPad 300 is not my mail calculator at work.

1. There's no Macintosh support
2. There's no SI unit conversion capability built in

Right now, I mainly use my TI 92 Plus. But the form factor of the ClassPad is so nice, I use it too, fairly often.

#21 CrimsonCasio

CrimsonCasio

    UCF Ambassador

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3579 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Claculators, Stephen King, Video Games, Calculators, Programming, Calculators, Reading, Calculators... hmm, what else... Ah! Calculators!

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0, CFX 9850Ga+, Classpad 300

Posted 03 November 2003 - 08:40 PM

well, how good are you at programming? perhaps you can make the stuff you need :rolleyes:

#22 DrCoyote

DrCoyote

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cleveland, Ohio USA

  • Calculators:
    CFX-9850GB PLUS, FX-9860G, TI 92+, TI89 Titanium, TI-Nspire, TI-Nspire CAS, TI 84+ SE, HP 50G, HP 35S, Elektronika MK-90, Elektronika MK-52, Elektronika MK-61, Elektronika B3-21, Elektronika MK-152, Elektronika MK-161, Sharp EL-9900

Posted 04 November 2003 - 12:48 AM

Let's just say I'm still learning. I've already put together several small programs to help me out at work.

#23 CrimsonCasio

CrimsonCasio

    UCF Ambassador

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3579 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Claculators, Stephen King, Video Games, Calculators, Programming, Calculators, Reading, Calculators... hmm, what else... Ah! Calculators!

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0, CFX 9850Ga+, Classpad 300

Posted 04 November 2003 - 12:57 AM

anything you need just ask, I've just made the source code for my CasPaint program publically available and if you think it will help then you might want to take a look at it. www.crimsoncasio.co.nr (just follow the links)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users