Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

How do you reset A Casio fx-9750 GIII


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 PhantomOverrideAlpha

PhantomOverrideAlpha

    Casio Fan

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 44 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Massillon Ohio USA
  • Interests:Coding
    Hacking
    music
    porting

  • Calculators:
    casio FX-9750GII
    casio FX-9860GIII
    Casio FX-9750GIII

Posted 21 October 2020 - 04:43 PM

My calculator Refuses to delete anything and wont reset after I go to to initialize all are there any suggestions.

update:now it says card error


Edited by PhantomOverrideAlpha, 22 October 2020 - 11:56 AM.


#2 CalcLoverHK

CalcLoverHK

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 244 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hong Kong
  • Interests:Playing video games (Minecraft, krunker.io), calculators, programming in Casio Basic/C.Basic, Scratch (formal), IT research (sometimes)

  • Calculators:
    fx-50FHII (2019/1/30)
    fx-9750GIII (2020/6/13)

Posted 23 October 2020 - 12:12 PM

Do you have any file that has the abnormal name in your calc? Connect it to your PC to check if files like this exist. Mine also encounters this problem and now the whole storage memory is unusable.



#3 PhantomOverrideAlpha

PhantomOverrideAlpha

    Casio Fan

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 44 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Massillon Ohio USA
  • Interests:Coding
    Hacking
    music
    porting

  • Calculators:
    casio FX-9750GII
    casio FX-9860GIII
    Casio FX-9750GIII

Posted 23 October 2020 - 12:25 PM

what do mean by abnormal? I only installed a addin call GintCTL which wrote a address to the system but I dont know how to undo that.



#4 Lephe

Lephe

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 23 October 2020 - 01:06 PM

Abnormal like files with names that are not valid in the encoding of the calculator.

 

I'm sorry that this happened to you. I have run hundreds if not thousands of bogus gintctl versions on my calculators (included many with the bug you experienced) and never locked the filesystem on any of them. All the filesystem management is done through Bfile. I do believe this add-in is not responsible.



#5 PhantomOverrideAlpha

PhantomOverrideAlpha

    Casio Fan

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 44 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Massillon Ohio USA
  • Interests:Coding
    Hacking
    music
    porting

  • Calculators:
    casio FX-9750GII
    casio FX-9860GIII
    Casio FX-9750GIII

Posted 23 October 2020 - 01:37 PM

Ok so is their anyway to fix it



#6 Lephe

Lephe

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 23 October 2020 - 02:09 PM

Depends on what the problem is exactly; there's no way to conclude without more details.

Easy resets include the back RESET button, the SYSTEM app's Initialize All and a full OS reinstall.

 

If none of this works then there's something abnormal in the storage memory that needs to be found. CalcLoverHK has a file with an impossible name that seems to confuse the file system implementation a lot, and we don't have a solution for that yet. Your specific problem might be different, though.
 

Did anything unusual happen before the problem appeared? Did an add-in fail to save a file to storage memory? Anything of the sort?



#7 PhantomOverrideAlpha

PhantomOverrideAlpha

    Casio Fan

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 44 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Massillon Ohio USA
  • Interests:Coding
    Hacking
    music
    porting

  • Calculators:
    casio FX-9750GII
    casio FX-9860GIII
    Casio FX-9750GIII

Posted 23 October 2020 - 03:01 PM

Yes when I was testing the insight and after that it stop allowing resets restarts to do anything



#8 Lephe

Lephe

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 23 October 2020 - 05:16 PM

Do you mean the INSIGHT add-in by Simon Lothar? I recall it has storage-memory-related functions but these have been designed for the older file system, they will not work on a GIII. On my Graph 35+E II it just shows an error saying it can't find the storage memory (which is because the format has changed).

 

Did you run any test or perform any modification to the storage memory through INSIGHT?



#9 PhantomOverrideAlpha

PhantomOverrideAlpha

    Casio Fan

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 44 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Massillon Ohio USA
  • Interests:Coding
    Hacking
    music
    porting

  • Calculators:
    casio FX-9750GII
    casio FX-9860GIII
    Casio FX-9750GIII

Posted 24 October 2020 - 01:55 PM

No I went to uninstall the add-in and it stopped letting me delete anything after that



#10 Lephe

Lephe

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 24 October 2020 - 04:07 PM

Well, in any case the most you can do right now is find out what went wrong in the storage memory. Although even then, modifying it (for instance with C.Basic) is still quite dangerous, and if you don't have any add-ins installed you'd need to use the upload-and-run command of the OS update mechanism which makes it a nightmare (and also something no one has done before to my knowledge).



#11 PhantomOverrideAlpha

PhantomOverrideAlpha

    Casio Fan

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 44 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Massillon Ohio USA
  • Interests:Coding
    Hacking
    music
    porting

  • Calculators:
    casio FX-9750GII
    casio FX-9860GIII
    Casio FX-9750GIII

Posted 24 October 2020 - 04:19 PM

so how do i do that



#12 Lephe

Lephe

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 24 October 2020 - 08:56 PM

That, obviously, is the million-dollar question. I'd like to know, but we've had only one previous case of this, and that is CalcLoverHK's impossible file name problem.
 

You can diagnose that by plugging your calculator into a computer and using any tool of your choice to inspect the exact bytes in the filenames. The encoding for these filenames is called FONTCHARACTER, and you have the table here : https://bible.planet...aracter Set.pdf.

 

Look for invalid single-bytes or invalid two-byte sequences.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users