Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Game Ideas


  • Please log in to reply
175 replies to this topic

#161 huhn_m

huhn_m

    Casio Maniac

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1957 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany / Dresden
  • Interests:Assembler(!!!)
    Computers and Programming
    Operating Systems
    Programmable Calculators
    Maths and everything arround it

  • Calculators:
    FX-82SX / AFX 2.0+ (ROM 1.03) / FX 1.0+ (ROM 1.03)

Posted 17 April 2003 - 02:29 PM

i suggest you to learn asm instead. C is slower, bigger and you have
no REAL control over what it does with your calc.

I also experienced that it is more difficult to learn c than ASM!

#162 CrimsonCasio

CrimsonCasio

    UCF Ambassador

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3579 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Claculators, Stephen King, Video Games, Calculators, Programming, Calculators, Reading, Calculators... hmm, what else... Ah! Calculators!

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0, CFX 9850Ga+, Classpad 300

Posted 17 April 2003 - 04:39 PM

I think bitwise is getting me some tutorials on this subject, I may very well use ASM, but for now I'm stuck with C.

by the way, I have two questions:

1) in Casio2.h some functions require a state parameter, I cant figure out what this is, mabey beacuse most of the comments are in french.

2) Can greyscale be done using C, or does it require asm?

#163 huhn_m

huhn_m

    Casio Maniac

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1957 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany / Dresden
  • Interests:Assembler(!!!)
    Computers and Programming
    Operating Systems
    Programmable Calculators
    Maths and everything arround it

  • Calculators:
    FX-82SX / AFX 2.0+ (ROM 1.03) / FX 1.0+ (ROM 1.03)

Posted 18 April 2003 - 03:23 AM

the state parameter is 1 or 0 (to set the pixel to on or of)
Grayscale can be done with both languages I think!
(Super-Bomberman is written in C I think)

#164 rjstephens

rjstephens

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 239 posts
  • Location:Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

  • Calculators:
    CFX9850GB+

Posted 18 April 2003 - 07:01 AM

wait a second. weren't you doing this in BASIC?

#165 huhn_m

huhn_m

    Casio Maniac

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1957 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany / Dresden
  • Interests:Assembler(!!!)
    Computers and Programming
    Operating Systems
    Programmable Calculators
    Maths and everything arround it

  • Calculators:
    FX-82SX / AFX 2.0+ (ROM 1.03) / FX 1.0+ (ROM 1.03)

Posted 18 April 2003 - 07:08 AM

Hey! rjstephens

keep realistic! As BiTwhise said it is NOT possible to write an interpreter
in an interpreted language!

It would:

*Be VERY SLOOOOOOWWWWWWW
*Use 40 Bytes for 1 command with 4 parameters
*Be very big (> 15K I think)
*Not support strings either (if it would it grows even bigger and slower ...)
And you wouldn't be able to use it on an CFX at all:

30KB - 15 KB = 15KB ram left.
15360 / 40 = 384

This means you would be able to execute the HUGE amount of 384 commands
on a CFX!

#166 rjstephens

rjstephens

    Casio Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 239 posts
  • Location:Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

  • Calculators:
    CFX9850GB+

Posted 18 April 2003 - 07:18 AM

oh well :(

better get an afx. too bad they are so EXPENSIVE

384 commands - that's not too pad.

#167 huhn_m

huhn_m

    Casio Maniac

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1957 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany / Dresden
  • Interests:Assembler(!!!)
    Computers and Programming
    Operating Systems
    Programmable Calculators
    Maths and everything arround it

  • Calculators:
    FX-82SX / AFX 2.0+ (ROM 1.03) / FX 1.0+ (ROM 1.03)

Posted 18 April 2003 - 08:38 AM

I didn't mean a set of 384 commands but
the largest program you're able to develop
can contain 384 commands!

#168 BiTwhise

BiTwhise

    Casio Overgod

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 627 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guildford, Surry, UK
  • Interests:Programming, games, consoles, martial arts

  • Calculators:
    FX9700WE, CFX9970G, AFX2.0, Classpad 300

Posted 18 April 2003 - 09:04 AM

Can greyscale be done using C, or does it require asm?

You can do (almost) anything with C.
It's just, sometimes certain operations are easier to code in asm. These parts can anyway be done with inline assembly.

The biggest difference lies in efficiency, both in size and speed of execution.
A C program can never beat a well written asm program (with todays compiler technology, on this machine..)

#169 Brazzucko

Brazzucko

    UCF BASIC Programming Champion

  • Super Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 412 posts

  • Calculators:
    FX 1.0, CFX 9850 GB Plus and FX 9750G

Posted 18 April 2003 - 09:52 AM

:lol: Yeah? Casio Basic it?s really slow, it?s very bad for great games, for that you must know C or assembly, for me it?s easy to learn C, the assembly it?s very difficult

#170 Brazzucko

Brazzucko

    UCF BASIC Programming Champion

  • Super Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 412 posts

  • Calculators:
    FX 1.0, CFX 9850 GB Plus and FX 9750G

Posted 18 April 2003 - 09:53 AM

:blink: Of course for some little mat programs the CASIO BASIC it?s enough

#171 CrimsonCasio

CrimsonCasio

    UCF Ambassador

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3579 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Claculators, Stephen King, Video Games, Calculators, Programming, Calculators, Reading, Calculators... hmm, what else... Ah! Calculators!

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0, CFX 9850Ga+, Classpad 300

Posted 18 April 2003 - 12:36 PM

rj, I am planning to compleat the BASIC version first then I will try to make it in C... the big thing is that I will continue to read the matrix from a basic file therefore making it possible to create on calc games, it should be faster since I will leave out most of the math functions.

also, thanks for the help, I will probably need more... :rolleyes:

#172 Brazzucko

Brazzucko

    UCF BASIC Programming Champion

  • Super Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 412 posts

  • Calculators:
    FX 1.0, CFX 9850 GB Plus and FX 9750G

Posted 18 April 2003 - 01:25 PM

:unsure: Excuse me to post this here, but is for not create a new topic?..

Some one can send to me a pic of the system.exe from the FX Plus or AFX Plus, ( using the FA-122 or FA-123 software for that )?

It?s for friends that are creating a new and very cool system fake??.

Tanks..... :)

:lol: Now about games there is any program that can read at full speed Basic programs, as everyone knows the original Casio program are not the best program to do that??.

#173 BiTwhise

BiTwhise

    Casio Overgod

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 627 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guildford, Surry, UK
  • Interests:Programming, games, consoles, martial arts

  • Calculators:
    FX9700WE, CFX9970G, AFX2.0, Classpad 300

Posted 18 April 2003 - 01:32 PM

Noone has made a new interperator to read Casio Basic files, for some simple reasons:

We don't know how to access the math API of the calc, so this would have to be written ground up
For all we know, this math interperator might be integrated with the basic interperator (since you can type basic code and execute it at the commandline..)
If this is the case, we would have to write it ground up anyway to improve it


I was thinking of writing a new basic-like language for the calc..
Don't have time right now, but we'll see what the summer brings
(first I need to write a floating point library, a math API, and then complete my 3d grapher :) )

#174 Brazzucko

Brazzucko

    UCF BASIC Programming Champion

  • Super Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 412 posts

  • Calculators:
    FX 1.0, CFX 9850 GB Plus and FX 9750G

Posted 18 April 2003 - 01:41 PM

:lol: I will wait for that.......

#175 Pixter

Pixter

    Casio Fan

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Interests:casio, visual basic, lego mindstorms and formula 1.

  • Calculators:
    cfx9850gb plus

Posted 18 April 2003 - 04:23 PM

:lol: Yeah? Casio Basic it?s really slow, it?s very bad for great games, for that you must know C or assembly, for me it?s easy to learn C, the assembly it?s very difficult

i've only the cfx9850gb+, so no c or asm for me :( . But I like the challenge of making fast games in casio basic. It is possible, just code smart :rock:

#176 CrimsonCasio

CrimsonCasio

    UCF Ambassador

  • [Legends]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3579 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Claculators, Stephen King, Video Games, Calculators, Programming, Calculators, Reading, Calculators... hmm, what else... Ah! Calculators!

  • Calculators:
    Algebra FX2.0, CFX 9850Ga+, Classpad 300

Posted 18 April 2003 - 04:26 PM

Exactly! thats the reason I've stuck with BASIC for 5 years, and even now that I can do C I will probably continue with basic as well.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users